Money Saving Techniques

henrylbh

For those with family, the greatest savings is shopping in JB. I saw a sg couple, each with a trolley with full load. The savings must be in hundreds. On another occasion, I saw a car booth full to the brim at custom point. I don't make a point to shop for everything and yet can easily save $150 per trip. If I service and change car parts, the savings is greater. The ultimate savings is to retire there.

qhong61

For those with family, the greatest savings is shopping in JB. I saw a sg couple, each with a trolley with full load. The savings must be in hundreds. On another occasion, I saw a car booth full to the brim at custom point. I don't make a point to shop for everything and yet can easily save $150 per trip. If I service and change car parts, the savings is greater. The ultimate savings is to retire there.
Buy a house over at JB?

numbers

Buy a house over at JB?

abit concerned about security leh.....i got a relative used to have a house there and travel to sg for work.
Now their house almost empty, only got a simple bed and basic utilities. Why? cos buy TV, the TV kena stolen. buy anything expensive inside sure get stolen

Trazora

Then leech on parents?

I'm sure typical parents won't mind and in fact be happy to have their son/daughter staying with them. Anyway typical son/daughter will give allowance to their parents. In fact I'm giving allowance to them but have moved to my own place where I am funding on my own. Paying for all the expenses for my own family unit and on top of that need to fulfil dreams of fantasy like holidays and expensive gifts.

donald83

Guys, when you get your salary every mth, besides setting aside a fixed sum of money and transfer into your savings account, how many other accounts do u maintain?

For example, my salary gets credited into my UOB and after setting aside my fixed amt in UOB, i transfer the rest out to my POSB and this will be my expenses account

I thought of opening another account solely for travelling expenses so at least easier to save for holidays.

swordsly

Guys, when you get your salary every mth, besides setting aside a fixed sum of money and transfer into your savings account, how many other accounts do u maintain?

For example, my salary gets credited into my UOB and after setting aside my fixed amt in UOB, i transfer the rest out to my POSB and this will be my expenses account

I thought of opening another account solely for travelling expenses so at least easier to save for holidays.

Don't have. 1 single account rules them all. Also partially due to higher compounded interest (360).

For every account you open, you need to maintain the fixed minimum inside which I find is dead water. Sure, dbs/posb minimum $500 but it's still $500 =\

I make it a habit to mentally note down my spendings and track them on an excel sheet.

Unless you already max out $50k liao luh

Didjerama

For me two account is good enough.

One for salary, one after i transfer out my expenses

Believe it or nt, my holiday expenses account is a piggybank. I deposit ten dollars everyday. Wife do it also. End of the year, i got 3650 and wife got 3650.combine both go holiday or use i to buy stuff haha

neanea

Rename jb to sg? Lol

rrr2015

for imported food stuffs, singapore have much much more choices available than JB and sometimes even cheaper.
but agree that savings from some big ticket items are substantial.

I'mpossible

don't spend on overly expensive things which does not justify its value( from luxury goods, to $3/can soft drinks).. every dollar counts man.. but of course you can cheat once in a while, just dont spend money without thinking. my 2cents ☺

henrylbh

I just saved 1% commission when I diy and bought a resale flat for my father :s13:

Now I thinking whether to diy to sell my flat and save even more :s13:

Mr.Canberra

abit concerned about security leh.....i got a relative used to have a house there and travel to sg for work.
Now their house almost empty, only got a simple bed and basic utilities. Why? cos buy TV, the TV kena stolen. buy anything expensive inside sure get stolen

You buy one used big screen and heavy CRT monitor TV and glue it down to a used TV bench. See if burglars bother to steal or not. :s13:

Mr.Canberra

Johor Bahru

for imported food stuffs, singapore have much much more choices available than JB and sometimes even cheaper.
but agree that savings from some big ticket items are substantial.

Not all items are cheaper in Malaysia so do your own price research.

But overall is confirm major savings if you shop for groceries, household wares, electronics, furniture, etc. in Johor Bahru. Those who drive can save even more by pumping petrol. :)

henrylbh

You buy one used big screen and heavy CRT monitor TV and glue it down to a used TV bench. See if burglars bother to steal or not. :s13:

You be surprised. My friend's house completely emptied, including pots, pans and footwears.

1982-1994

there's paticularly a supermarket that sells the cheapest goods, but not more than 5 or 4 branches here, name is Ang Moh 宏茂.
one pursoft toilet roll at NTUC cost like $6.30 but AM sells it at a dollar cheaper. another potato chips at NTUC cost $5.85 and AM sells at $3.60
never mind about accumulating points for rebates at NTUC as i can definitely save more by buying stuffs at AM, only downside is the variety is not alot compared with NTUC but is enough to meet our daily needs.

zoossh

except many of the saving ideas were later spend on 50K renovation, 20K wedding, half a million home, and finally a 20K funeral.

well, it is very difficult to avoid that since that doesnt involve just yourself but others, to which u need to meet their expectations.

u end up paying much more than what it really cost, with smaller house with bad locations and wedding dinners off a hotel. everything eventually goes into property developer, and the businesses with lack of competition.

that is why one should vote wisely.

but of cos, there are reasons why people vote that way. for those who wanted to save, unnecessary high cost of living hurts you. but for those who do not save but can earn a lot from an exploiting world, then it is not so important.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.