Money Saving Techniques

haidoz

for stay-home entertainment - buy boardgames (no need firsthand ones) and share cost with friends who play together.

xtramadness

CIMB fastsaver account
1% without any terms and conditions.
very good

Wow... Thanks for heads up:
Minimum Initial Deposit
S$1,000

Maintain a minimum deposit of S$1,000 to enjoy an interest rate of 1.0% p.a.^ on the entire account balance.

First S$50,000 1.00% p.a.
Above S$50,000 0.60% p.a.

Initiatives

After looking through my spreadsheet, realised that I have managed to save a total of 40k in the last 2 years. (2015 and 2016).:s12::s12:

I started off with a low 2k salary and have been working for slightly more than 2 years.

Aiming for 25k savings this year. I would have aimed for 30k if not for my plans to propose this year.

ongrasp

After looking through my spreadsheet, realised that I have managed to save a total of 40k in the last 2 years. (2015 and 2016).:s12::s12:

I started off with a low 2k salary and have been working for slightly more than 2 years.

Aiming for 25k savings this year. I would have aimed for 30k if not for my plans to propose this year.

Wah 5k for proposal? :(:(

slogd3ad

5k for proposal is quite ok considering you need to buy engagement ring.

Then the wedding itself.. how much is your budget? I'm super concern this kind of things...
Save save save.. weddings... restart saving.. save save.. baby boomz!... no more balance to save...

havetheveryfun

wow whats ur pay now ? ur pay must have increased a lot in just 2 years. Lets say you earn 2.5k, after CPF 2k, you spend 500 and save 1.5k, 1 year is 18k.... how to get 30k ?

Then the wedding itself.. how much is your budget? I'm super concern this kind of things...
Save save save.. weddings... restart saving.. save save.. baby boomz!... no more balance to save...

that's why finding a good wife who also treasures your pocket is really important.. sad to say it is getting more and more difficult now

WhiteHunter

if your wife dun mind can do away with the wedding. wedding is only for show. rather use the money go for better honeymoon and on the baby.

Initiatives

I haven't really set a budget for the wedding cost itself. But my partner and I do not want to do banquet style wedding. and we do not want gate crashing and all. so it should be a small and closed event where only relatives and close friends are invited.

wow whats ur pay now ? ur pay must have increased a lot in just 2 years. Lets say you earn 2.5k, after CPF 2k, you spend 500 and save 1.5k, 1 year is 18k.... how to get 30k ?

my pay now is slightly more than 50% of what I started with. but then again, my starting pay was really low to begin with.

30k is ok actually. saving 2k a month will be 24k. plus bonus and company shares. but 30k is if everything goes smoothly throughout the year without hiccups which is very hard to forecast or predict. But whats a target if it is easily met right? haha

havetheveryfun

my pay now is slightly more than 50% of what I started with. but then again, my starting pay was really low to begin with.

30k is ok actually. saving 2k a month will be 24k. plus bonus and company shares. but 30k is if everything goes smoothly throughout the year without hiccups which is very hard to forecast or predict. But whats a target if it is easily met right? haha

if u can save 2k a mth ur salary alr more than 3k.. provided u are Singaporean and have CPF deduction... u stayed in same company and they increased ur pay ? pr from changing jobs..

even for ppl earning more than 4k.. saving 2k a month is no easy feat

I also low 2k but now coming to 2 years already and still low 2k

havetheveryfun

So true, my parents already thinking that need to have big wedding to invite their friends although i dont really know them. really quite hard to manage...

I got a friend who marry a foreigner wife. Then the wife's family say they understand my friend's financial conditions, just want him to give her a name, like go ROM to register first is good enough, after like a year or so after he has saved up enough money then do a proper wedding.

But his parents (HIS parents, not the wife's parents) say no, want a proper wedding now, cannot wait one year later, etc... but his parents also no money to lend him for the wedding. End up he had to borrow from the bank just for his wedding... and it's for his parents, not even for his wife and her family. Until now, going to be 2 years, still paying back his "Wedding debt"

Sometimes don't know what these parents are thinking...

babyrobo

I got a friend who marry a foreigner wife. Then the wife's family say they understand my friend's financial conditions, just want him to give her a name, like go ROM to register first is good enough, after like a year or so after he has saved up enough money then do a proper wedding.

But his parents (HIS parents, not the wife's parents) say no, want a proper wedding now, cannot wait one year later, etc... but his parents also no money to lend him for the wedding. End up he had to borrow from the bank just for his wedding... and it's for his parents, not even for his wife and her family. Until now, going to be 2 years, still paying back his "Wedding debt"

he's the eldest son + grandson? and Chinese?

lewissac

The son sometimes need to be stern on his own $$, and not just to fulfill his parents desire. If no $$ then delay the wedding first. If parents not happy, den ignorance is bliss. Parents won't really chase u around with a knife one. They can't do anything also mah if you agree/disagree :s13:

dkgamer

wedding only one day and night. your entire marriage lasts over 30 years minimum. really worth the debt meh?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.