Money Saving Techniques

what88

I got a friend who marry a foreigner wife. Then the wife's family say they understand my friend's financial conditions, just want him to give her a name, like go ROM to register first is good enough, after like a year or so after he has saved up enough money then do a proper wedding.

But his parents (HIS parents, not the wife's parents) say no, want a proper wedding now, cannot wait one year later, etc... but his parents also no money to lend him for the wedding. End up he had to borrow from the bank just for his wedding... and it's for his parents, not even for his wife and her family. Until now, going to be 2 years, still paying back his "Wedding debt"

Sometimes don't know what these parents are thinking...

If I was your friend, I wont borrow the $$$ from bank just for the wedding and will ROM quietly first..

As a adult, sometime need to make your own decision.

Initiatives

if u can save 2k a mth ur salary alr more than 3k.. provided u are Singaporean and have CPF deduction... u stayed in same company and they increased ur pay ? pr from changing jobs..

even for ppl earning more than 4k.. saving 2k a month is no easy feat

I also low 2k but now coming to 2 years already and still low 2k

Yeap. I am Singaporean. I guess its a mixture I jumped for higher pay and did pretty well so far in my current company.

But I am very lucky to have no student loan debt. And my mum is a housewife So practically every breakfast and dinner will be prepared.

Starbelle

I got a friend who marry a foreigner wife. Then the wife's family say they understand my friend's financial conditions, just want him to give her a name, like go ROM to register first is good enough, after like a year or so after he has saved up enough money then do a proper wedding.

But his parents (HIS parents, not the wife's parents) say no, want a proper wedding now, cannot wait one year later, etc... but his parents also no money to lend him for the wedding. End up he had to borrow from the bank just for his wedding... and it's for his parents, not even for his wife and her family. Until now, going to be 2 years, still paying back his "Wedding debt"

This kind of parents is really want face only.
I guess nowadays alot of youngsters do see the exorbitant amount for just one wedding. So most are opting for just a small gathering after ROM.

Starbelle

if u can save 2k a mth ur salary alr more than 3k.. provided u are Singaporean and have CPF deduction... u stayed in same company and they increased ur pay ? pr from changing jobs..

even for ppl earning more than 4k.. saving 2k a month is no easy feat

I also low 2k but now coming to 2 years already and still low 2k

Sometimes some people who earn more might also have more commitments to adhere to. So really depends. Like for myself, I can save 2k per month because no loans, no family. So it is doable.

lewissac

This kind of parents is really want face only.
I guess nowadays alot of youngsters do see the exorbitant amount for just one wedding. So most are opting for just a small gathering after ROM.

Which is why I believe, save up while you're gf-less. :s13:
1) Plan how much you need for your "dream" wedding and work it to there until 70% (your other half of course have to bear 30% :D).
2) Start looking/buying for house even before start ROM, cuz when ROM starts, thats where your $$ starts shrinking.
3) After ROM, look for wedding package. Lock in the price first even though your plan is 2 years later.
4) Possible use your card to do instalment (together) for all furniture/household purchases. You shld be able to clear it off by the time ur house is ready.
5) By the time your wedding banquet close, you basically don't really have to fork out much already after your prepaid via instalment.

That's how I learn this from my sister. :)

xrubiksx

Few ways i save money (or rather make money back):

1. avoid the mall.
2. Use shopback every time i shop online cos cashback really adds up.
3. Sell my old stuff on carousell
4. Stay in with friends instead of going out?
5. meal prep for the week's lunches ahead

annabellens

1) Plan how much you need for your "dream" wedding and work it to there until 70% (your other half of course have to bear 30% :D).
2) Start looking/buying for house even before start ROM, cuz when ROM starts, thats where your $$ starts shrinking.
3) After ROM, look for wedding package. Lock in the price first even though your plan is 2 years later.
4) Possible use your card to do instalment (together) for all furniture/household purchases. You shld be able to clear it off by the time ur house is ready.
5) By the time your wedding banquet close, you basically don't really have to fork out much already after your prepaid via instalment.

This one really is need to learn. :s12:

what88

Seriously, this is a good planning. :)

WhiteHunter

why got such parents who dun understand their kid situation. 1 year later also not say very long. the debt should ask parents to shoulder a portion of it.

WhiteHunter

If I was your friend, I wont borrow the $$$ from bank just for the wedding and will ROM quietly first..

As a adult, sometime need to make your own decision.

ROM also must host a lunch at some hotel or restaurant cos you still need witness and likely it will be parents or relatives.

boiboi86

Woah! Quote for reference =:p

Laneige

Ya lock in then they close within the two yrs means can cry
Installment not a gd idea at all for these things
Don't learn the bad things from yr sis
If under installment banks wana charge u annual fee u also can't say cancel card
Save the money before house ready. Then use the money buy furnitures etc

Starbelle

ROM also must host a lunch at some hotel or restaurant cos you still need witness and likely it will be parents or relatives.

This one is already minimise damage control.
Given the amount is probably a fraction of the whole wedding banquet.

Milo-Dino

Actually wedding banquet, if you don't too extravagant, simple one at restaurant etc, the angpow will cover the cost one.

If you invite bosses etc, they usually will give bigger amount. Peers usually will give at least their own "seat" price. End of the day, might even have net gain.

Sent from Google PIXEL XL using GAGT

NobunagaOda

Actually wedding banquet, if you don't too extravagant, simple one at restaurant etc, the angpow will cover the cost one.

If you invite bosses etc, they usually will give bigger amount. Peers usually will give at least their own "seat" price. End of the day, might even have net gain.

Sent from Google PIXEL XL using GAGT

As long you do not invite the misers.

NobunagaOda

For those who frequent mcdonald's, you can try their alarm app and you may get free food.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.