Money Saving Techniques

JetStorm

Anyone doing the 52-Week Money Challenge that was all over social media since New Year’s Day?

I'm already doing it apart from the fixed amount every month. Additional $1378 by year end will definitely come in handy.

I do it the reverse way so now is week 9 and I already have extra $432 in savings.

alvismah

hi all, any ideas whats the best option or card to use for spending 6k. there's 0% installement 6mths 12mths or by monthly sepnding. what are the best options for maximum savings.

smartcashflow

It is very important to save money.

It is also equally important to be able to earn more money.
1. Work extra hours
2. Get another job
3. Create an online biz
4. Trade at night
5. Get into more dividends stocks
6. Earn referral fees from properties...etc

wulu1_69

Dear All,
Do you want to earn extra income by just clicking on your pc, respond to any of these surveys, and you will surely receive some $paypal$.

Tried and tested, I already earned almost 50sgd

Try and share to every body.

Take how long to earn $50?

Last edited by a moderator:

makeupconnect

Haha this thread is quite interesting. Here's some of my suggestions:

1) Buy 2nd hand where possible and sell the goods you no longer need
e.g. even buying 2nd hand branded goods can save you alot of $$$

2) Cut down on latte
Each cup costs around S$6, imagine if you cut down on your daily cuppa, how much you can save in a week? At least $42 and some fats to buffer (ok bad joke)!

3) Library
The best best best investment is knowledge. I think our NLB has a great selection of books!

makeupconnect

oh yeah, think a property to collect rent is also pretty awesome! see here

for the median rent of different areas --see how much rent you can collect if you rent out your property...

ken_nerve

2) Cut down on latte
Each cup costs around S$6, imagine if you cut down on your daily cuppa, how much you can save in a week? At least $42 and some fats to buffer (ok bad joke)!

A latte is kopi with a $5 "tip".

My tips:
1. Cut down on sugar drinks, just drink plain water during meals. Only 1 cup kopi/teh for breakfast.
2. Don't buy bottled water, bring your own bottle.
3. Buy fruits from supermarket instead of cut fruit from stalls.
4. Open bank account with higher interest rates. Eg. CIMB Starsaver or OCBC 360.

bullsback

I din know got such thread...lol...will take the time to flips the pages from page 1, here's one contribution

6) Buy a set of dental tools from USA, one with mirror and one sharp edge, you can use it to remove all the dental plague yourself. All the plague is bottom of front teeth.

855dental-tools.jpg

7) Use hard toothbrush, it last very long and as long as u use hard one (can buy from the cheapskate neighourhood discount dollar shops), u seldom have dental plague. I havent visit dentist since primary school, 24 years liao, no dental decay whatsoever.

8) Learn to trade for a living, be it stocks - singapore/usa/HKG/EUROPE, forex, commodities, focus on not more than 2 and spend at least 10,000 hrs, you will make it one day as long as u dont giveup and trade small. Or develop a special money making skills, spend 10,000 hrs there. Always start small capital and scale it up, never never start big.

Start by aiming to make 10 dollars a day, trading is extremely scalable, dont think of small money. Sky's the limit when all conditions are fulfilled.

Keep doing doing until consistency.

9) Work hard, find the job of your passion if possible

10) Save money as much as possible

11) Find moltivational objects, words etc..

12) Use soap not shower foam..

Sellerion

A latte is kopi with a $5 "tip".

My tips:
1. Cut down on sugar drinks, just drink plain water during meals. Only 1 cup kopi/teh for breakfast.
2. Don't buy bottled water, bring your own bottle.
3. Buy fruits from supermarket instead of cut fruit from stalls.
4. Open bank account with higher interest rates. Eg. CIMB Starsaver or OCBC 360.

Just found out that Maybank has quite high FD rates. Can try that too. OCBC 360 need spending to get that 3% interest. Too much of a hassle bah

Maybank if you got 60K to put aside for 3yrs, it's 1.36%. Good to put aside for rainy days. Just that it's Maybank.
:s13:Haha dunno if can trust a not.

bullsback

Save! Save! Save!
Don't save because you plan to pay for big item.

A few big tickets you may rethink how you're going to spend and save.
1. Wedding
2. Housing
3. Renovation
4. Funeral

1. dunno if can make do with cheapskate dinner and end of story...

2. housing - buy new from govt, make that 100k from them

3. Reno - can diy? i got see b4, hardcore diy, like diy the false ceiling...i dont have the determination to see thru...

4, funeral - why the fook care abt this? after u die, your body dont even belong to u....? lol

makeupconnect

go for free activities like enjoy art in our museums, on the streets etc. i think we have quite a lot of free activities.

instead of always watching movies or paid for activities.

Olegna

Staying home yet generating income, like answering surveys like this PanelSG
Admittedly that its very low earning, but its seems infinite specially if you can make referral, no limit.

ken_nerve

Just found out that Maybank has quite high FD rates. Can try that too. OCBC 360 need spending to get that 3% interest. Too much of a hassle bah

Maybank if you got 60K to put aside for 3yrs, it's 1.36%. Good to put aside for rainy days. Just that it's Maybank.
:s13:Haha dunno if can trust a not.

If don't have min. spending, still got 2.05% for crediting salary and paying 3 bills right? Still not bad leh. My CIMB account only 0.8%.

Safer to only put in $50k as it will be covered by insurance. Then again, 3 years is a fairly long lock in period. Buying ETFs and dividend stocks might be a better option.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.