[Mothership] OYK shoot Jamus Lim for the Environmental Tax on Airlines!

Zenosyne

Opinion:

I like both OYK and JL. However, I feel that the suggestion made by JL is uncalled for during Covid. Such environment taxes can be considered after this crisis but should not be considered during Covid.

About taxing the wealthy. The wealthy are not wealthy from being stupid. You charge them high fees, they will also not take the flight to nowhere. Basic law of demand.

About elasticity, if the government wants to explore increasing their revenue, can consider increasing tax on addictive products (ciggerette, Alcohol, gambling entrance fee, etc)

End

Nicely written. +1 for you

batniss

u can only live until tonight and u want to discuss about the unforeseen things in the coming years.

Every country is trying to save their national airlines...... and jamus want to tax them. lol

yes, new mp want to perform but u have to choose the right time etc to debate.......something that cannot be see, there no point in discussing now. no revenues, still want to talk about laws of economics

Do u know aircraft on the ground, u still need to pay for the parking and maintenance fees?

do you know my car no drive i still need to pay for parking and maintenance fees?

wongminmin

The thing about him ish that all his econ theories and ideas seems to be based on USA style economy...:s22:

He seemed to fail to understand sinkieland's economy, which ish totally different and works in a different manner compared to USA's...:s22:

usa unemployment rate jin scary.

hopefully jamus isn't another korean fish.

eclipsemints

if you work in tech or business, you will know that creativity only counts if there are actual functional benefits.

how much you think sq going to raise from these taxes? significantly enough to save the airline? who do you know that will take such a flight? how much you think these taxes going to be? how many salaries you think you will be able to afford from these taxes? if he is citing environmental concerns how can the levied tax be used to afford salaries instead of offsetting carbon?

this is literally a policy with no real functional benefits. so ridiculous, it’s “creative”. not functional.

every time he speaks, jamus just shows that he’s never worked a job outside of academia

Since when does SQ raise any amount from these taxes? :s22:

lol precisely because i understand. if you really care about the environment, it shouldn’t matter what the fk are the benefits you can reap?

it’s like saying that we can exploit the environment ONLY when we benefit but if we don’t have tangible benefits, and others continue to exploit, they must be punished. guess what? the environment doesn’t give a **** if you are reaping benefits because BOTH WAYS YOU ARE STILL EXPLOITING IT.

so that’s a pretty hypocritical “I care about the environment” bs there

i am pretty sure i am much more qualified than you intellectually and you’re the one who don’t get it. hence i will end this argument here.

I suggest you go read what you post again before you proclaim yourself to be more intellectually qualified than me and other people. Because from your posts, it's plan obvious to see that you still don't get it lol. :o:o:o

kyo_465

Cockles have no brains.

They can only be warmed and eaten. In fact when you boil them they open their mouth. So stupid right.

JL every parliament session eat Char Kway Teow Add cockles.

eclipsemints

Cos sinkies only know how to be daft fanboys. Bus/train fare increase kpkb, but now wanna increase plane ticket price suddenly support cos all starry eyed. I like jamus, but this one obviously very misdirected, and mistimed. If you can argue otherwise, i know you cannot be objective.

Time to open both eyes and tell your MP what issues you want him to represent you on. Its not him suka suka go and fight for whatever gets him off. You voted him in, he's there to help you and fight for you

Nope, i think any increase in any fare pple will complain. And this one is a % of your plane ticket, that cost equal/more than the number of $2 bus trips added up. Not just "few people going overseas" , but lets say i wanna take my family on holiday, be it on scoot, be it on SQ, now me, my kids all have to pay a tax, our family holiday suddenly need to pay more. Is that fair? Dont forget jamus suggested they pass down all the costs to the consumer.

So you can ask yourself, if the tables were turned(MIW proposed this), would you be arguing the same way? Touch your heart. pappys come up with policies i disagree with all the time, doesnt mean all white policies are BAD, and all blue policies are GOOD. Support doesnt mean support blindly.

Don't change the context of your previous post leh. Increase in any fare sure got complains, but not everone will complain. you up daily transport fares, surely 70% or 80% of the population will complain since they use MRT and buses EVERYDAY for their commuting.

Increase plane ticket price, will the same 70% or 80% of people make noise? definitely not because not EVERYONE from that group takes plane often enough to complain.

That's why i say your comparison is not correct in this instance.

demon0192

JL always play underhand... Now randomly can lip service support environment alr

kyo_465

Don't change the context of your previous post leh. Increase in any fare sure got complains, but not everone will complain. you up daily transport fares, surely 70% or 80% of the population will complain since they use MRT and buses EVERYDAY for their commuting.

Increase plane ticket price, will the same 70% or 80% of people make noise? definitely not because not EVERYONE from that group takes plane often enough to complain.

Your argument sounds populist while having very little purpose and outcome. Just because it affects the majority doesnt mean it should not be implemented?

And only because the minority is affected or not frequently affected make its a good policy?

Taxes are always revenue to the government, ultimately drawn from the consumers. No company is a charity. If the purpose is to increase revenue, then taxing on addictive goods like cigarettes, gambling etc is the most efficient and reap spill over social results. If the reason is to deter a behavior.. SIA alr scrapped the plans to fly to nowhere. JL eat too much cockles alr....

He needs to stay focus and be clear on what he wants to fight for. Running ard like a headless chicken is gradually reducing the good start he has in the campaign. Or is he just a man of words and not a man of deeds?

Maybe he is a monopoly of compassion? Maybe we shld start taxing compassion :)

eclipsemints

Your argument sounds populist while having very little purpose and outcome. Just because it affects the majority doesnt mean it should not be implemented?

And only because the minority is affected or not frequently affected make its a good policy?

Taxes are always revenue to the government, ultimately drawn from the consumers. No company is a charity. If the purpose is to increase revenue, then taxing on addictive goods like cigarettes, gambling etc is the most efficient and reap spill over social results. If the reason is to deter a behavior.. SIA alr scrapped the plans to fly to nowhere. JL eat too much cockles alr....

He needs to stay focus and be clear on what he wants to fight for. Running ard like a headless chicken is gradually reducing the good start he has in the campaign. Or is he just a man of words and not a man of deeds?

Maybe he is a monopoly of compassion? Maybe we shld start taxing compassion :)

You got it reversed. Any policy the benefits the majority is good, which is the whole point of this EV tax raised. :s13:

Cobra!

You got it reversed. Any policy the benefits the majority is good, which is the whole point of this EV tax raised. :s13:
328369.gif

i sense the faith. keep it up.

Cobra!

With the current travel volume and the state of SIA?

I dunno how the majority will benefit.
oh you know. its like my farts stink real bad, no one farts like me. gov taxes me $2 for each fart i make.

majority benefit because the air is that 0.000000001% fresher. gov revenue rises $1000/yr

kyo_465

oh you know. its like my farts stink real bad, no one farts like me. gov taxes me $2 for each fart i make.

majority benefit because the air is that 0.000000001% fresher. gov revenue rises $1000/yr

sounds like you ate cockles that are not properly warmed.

Go see a doctor.

kyo_465

mai la. already that hard to find cockles to eat, where got time/money see doctor?

JL has a monopoly on compassion and cockles. Its properly warmed too. Go look for him before he gets roasted big time and the cockles are overcooked.

durain

Thanks for bumping my post. I stand by my points. If you want to argue and peck at numbers and use "not EVERYONE" and "Surely XX% of the population" and in some convoluted way, carry one number here and there, you can go ahead. This kind of argument can argue all day based on how you word it.

But i think i've summed up whatever i needed to say, i just dont see it as a good proposal as end of the day, it results in higher airfares being passed on to Singaporeans. We have enough on our plate to deal with already. I voted to make our lives better, not to make it any tougher that it already is.

Ironlim

Cannot Tax SIA during this pandemic right? Ok so certain tax please don't do that to us also... Ok? Thanks Jamus Lim!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.