MSI Wind

billovee

Jialat wind is seem like alot problem

Hope that all these are resolve before black is here.

pohu

Initial verdict after the RE-FLASH of the BIOS...
been surfing for the last 35 minutes to close 40 min... for large part of the first 20-25min.. everything seems alrite here at Braddell Mac using the "wireless@sg" but begining of the 30min mark... the bugger struck again... at this point cant concluded if the signal strength here is low or the reflash fail to overcome the problem.. as the disconnection constantly struck.. i did noticed there's some other users here in Mac.. not sure they "struck" me off my connection becos of my "size"..

to be fair again.. i need to confirm again with other wireless network before confirm anything..

calling any user to test their WIND after the reflash..

Just my update on my situation and served as info.. thanks

pohu

I also having the disconnection problem, keep "Acquiring Network Address" with my Belkin draft N wireless router even in the same
room at home with WPA password. but there is no problem when install the Linksys USB adaptor to the WIND, notices that the WIND's realtek wireless IC can only receive my router's signal but the linksys can find many other wireless signal nearby.
Wondering using "Linksys USB adaptor" would the connection kena disconnect that often?

pohu

... just to make sure that disconnection does not take place, when we are not surfing. So far, we could not detect any of the network disconnection issues when we test it in office.

Nonetheless, i feel that the issues tat you guys feedback do exisit. I wanted to test more sets, but also, like to test it under your environment closer to your specs.:)

Hi there.. I appreciate the effort you guys put in.. as what u mentioned as quoted in bold.. however the disconnection happened just now, while I was on "wireless@sg" when trying access a particular page (while loading)..

Therefore, I am wondering if it's the "wireless@sg" signal at that particular hotspot weak or your in-house wireless is stronger or the in-built hardware could be the cause?

Sorry but just raising my doubts here..

Bloodlust

Since the Wind already has WinXP pre-installed, is there a OS disc provided or is it hidden in the HDD partition?

pohu

I also having the disconnection problem, keep "Acquiring Network Address" with my Belkin draft N wireless router even in the same
room at home with WPA password. but there is no problem when install the Linksys USB adaptor to the WIND, notices that the WIND's realtek wireless IC can only receive my router's signal but the linksys can find many other wireless signal nearby.

having a serious thought over this nagging issue.. if this disconnecting thing still persisted.. wondering if using external hardware (ie: linksys USB adaptor) would solve the problem..

still, I dun wish to jump to any conclusion till I confirmed with a few more wireless hotspot..

pohu

it should work for the moment until the problem is solved
err.. hope I din misinterpret but u were saying = the problem will remain but just bear with it? :p sorry if i misquoted u

azul123

[/B]
having a serious thought over this nagging issue.. if this disconnecting thing still persisted.. wondering if using external hardware (ie: linksys USB adaptor) would solve the problem..

still, I dun wish to jump to any conclusion till I confirmed with a few more wireless hotspot..
Why don't you bring to Corbell office and see if your Wind W/L setup disconnects on/off at their office W/L enviroment.

It would be good to know if problem can be solve, helps the rest of us to know what the problem is and if it is fixable, good for you and good for us too!

Don't want to buy something that is flawed from factory to begin with.

Also good if Corbell can tell us what W/L was used in their office environment which they tested 5 sets with, N/A/G ? how about M1/Singnet/Starhub Mobile BB ok?

The purpose of getting umpc is for mobility if any of the above got issues, then tough liow.

denilson

err.. hope I din misinterpret but u were saying = the problem will remain but just bear with it? :p sorry if i misquoted u

no worries , i mean you can use the external usb wireless adaptor first as i believe it will work perfectly fine while you try to solve the problem

idiort

u got no wireless at home?

where u stay... try united square wireless? damn stable...

Corbell

u got no wireless at home?

where u stay... try united square wireless? damn stable...

Yesterday evening I was trying Wind at Thomson Plaza's Ya Kun using Wireless@SG. Intermitten problem and I asked a stranger using a HP notebook how is it, he also said cannot. ...

Just now noon at AMK Park MacDonald. I asked a student using a Toshiba Qosmio how is it? Same, he also say cannot..... FYI, only 2-3 people using notebook at the time and the signal is very good, but still cannot use.

We will try more hotspots. Cheers.

Corbell

Also good if Corbell can tell us what W/L was used in their office environment which they tested 5 sets with, N/A/G ? how about M1/Singnet/Starhub Mobile BB ok?

The purpose of getting umpc is for mobility if any of the above got issues, then tough liow.

Our office is using DLink Wireless ASDL Router.
Mobile BB is not wireless, so no problem. Cheers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.