MSI Wind

idiort

anyone try at home using their own wireless???

wireless sg dun tok lahz.. it always dc most of the time... try united square one.. damn solid...

Corbell

Initial verdict after the RE-FLASH of the BIOS...
been surfing for the last 35 minutes to close 40 min... for large part of the first 20-25min.. everything seems alrite here at Braddell Mac using the "wireless@sg" but begining of the 30min mark... the bugger struck again... at this point cant concluded if the signal strength here is low or the reflash fail to overcome the problem.. as the disconnection constantly struck.. i did noticed there's some other users here in Mac.. not sure they "struck" me off my connection becos of my "size"..

to be fair again.. i need to confirm again with other wireless network before confirm anything..

calling any user to test their WIND after the reflash..

Just my update on my situation and served as info.. thanks

Hi Bro,

Where is Braddell Mac? Near the MRT? Cheers.

Corbell

anyone try at home using their own wireless???

wireless sg dun tok lahz.. it always dc most of the time... try united square one.. damn solid...

ok, we will try United Sq. Where is the bestr? Mac, Starbucks or Food Junction? ;)

azul123

Our office is using DLink Wireless ASDL Router.
Mobile BB is not wireless, so no problem. Cheers.
Thanks for reply, at least it's confirmed Mobile BB no issue... that is what I will mostly use it with anyway. Next question, any updates on Black Wind shipment?

idiort

united square one,i never dc b4 and the speed is damn fast.. dunno where else to try... orchard road? lol...

all mac got free wireless...

LMN

I 've uncheck ""the allow the computer to turn off this device to save power " in the realtek wireless power management, It's now running without disconnected for the past 60 min in MacDonald River valley Road with wiressless@SG, battery 50% usage

doody_

I 've uncheck ""the allow the computer to turn off this device to save power " in the realtek wireless power management, It's now running without disconnected for the past 60 min in MacDonald River valley Road with wiressless@SG, battery 50% usage

Actually, that setting shouldn't affect wireless performance.

pohu

Hi Bro,

Where is Braddell Mac? Near the MRT? Cheers.
Yes.. near to Braddell MRT stn...

Actually, that setting shouldn't affect wireless performance.

Was at Corbell office yesterday... a WIND user also did mentioned something to me like the "power saving".. if recalled not wrongly, his colleague did mentioned by adjusting the "power" setting, should more or less reducing the "power draining" of the thing thus lesser the burden of the WIND's wireless connection.

At the meantime, did tried out "Wireless@SG" this afternoon at Bishan at the "S-11" kopitiam near J8 (behind Library and CPF bldg) for also 25min.. the bugger didn't struck but on few occasions, some pages cant be loaded instant and need to refresh before able to..

But cant go further as my battery was running low then... :p Just an update

pohu

one more thing.. if confirmed the wireless disconnecting problem is due to hardware .. how is Corbell goin to resolve with those who already bought the WIND?

doody_

Was at Corbell office yesterday... a WIND user also did mentioned something to me like the "power saving".. if recalled not wrongly, his colleague did mentioned by adjusting the "power" setting, should more or less reducing the "power draining" of the thing thus lesser the burden of the WIND's wireless connection.

The thing is, it's usually set to Disabled by default.

LMN

try this with my home wireless: get connected without dropping for the last 2 hrs

uncheck "use win to configure my wireless network settings" in the Wireless Networks tab, (stop winxp wireless Zero configuration)

reinstall the 8187se driver but change the isconfig.ini file 0 to 1 in this line:

[SupportOSUI] ;Supported platforms for RtWlan Utility
WinXP=1

this will install the RealTek Wireless LAN Utility

restart WIND and connect the home wireless using this utility from the tray

dont why MSI remove the RTWlan.exe installation.

WindBoi

im the bugger pohu was talking about. mine is probably firstly a hardware fault. corbell change one for me. however,im still having problems with it.

i have an alternative workaround. i seem to be able to connect for a longer period of time.

i use this tool call netstumbler. it suppose to scan your closeby for wireless network, but apparently, it takes over from windows wirelss configruation and now it seems more stable. 1 hour no drop.

WindBoi

LMN will try your option and see how it goes.

i have a feeling this realtek bugger dun work well with windows default wireless config

pohu

im the bugger pohu was talking about. mine is probably firstly a hardware fault. corbell change one for me. however,im still having problems with it.

i have an alternative workaround. i seem to be able to connect for a longer period of time.

i use this tool call netstumbler. it suppose to scan your closeby for wireless network, but apparently, it takes over from windows wirelss configruation and now it seems more stable. 1 hour no drop.

Hi WindBoi, the bugger i refering is the "disconnection" not direct at anyone, sorry for any misunderstanding.. :)

Back to the point.. i would declare that I slowly giving up hope liao.. now at braddell Mac , trying to log into "Wireless@sg" using the built-in connection but FAIL.... :(

So I done this..

1215013493.jpg

- Plug my newly-purchased Dlink-wifi dongle

1215013831.jpg

- at least, still boleh jadi.. for the last almost 30minutes or so, using the dongle...

1215014839.jpg

again, will try out a few more spot with and w/o dongle... guys, please continue to update ur findings.. thanks

WindBoi

NWN i think its working! it might be that there is this option under windows wireless configuration that specifies that it saves power. this is my suspect.

using third party stuff like this realtek utility and net stumbler seems to set this to off.

WindBoi

pohu, i use bugger as a friendly term so chill.

btw, try nwn's suggestion. i have been able to keep connected for 25 mins liao.

yours is not that bad seriously, i was testing with your wind and its much better then my first one.

pohu

pohu, i use bugger as a friendly term so chill.

btw, try nwn's suggestion. i have been able to keep connected for 25 mins liao.

yours is not that bad seriously, i was testing with your wind and its much better then my first one.
icic.. nonetheless, we hope corbell will base on the feedback here.. come up with something conclusive.. as for me, i get a dongle to standby just in case the 'bugger" struck.. :p

idiort

pohu,u got no wireless at home?

u go try go ur fren house or something and test?

i was at kap mac,dc like free... but at home never dc b4...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.