MSI Wind

doody_

pohu, still here? Could you just check whether yours is a PgUp key or a PuUp key? :look:

Edit: Another question, any recovery CDs inside the box, or a recovery partition on the Wind itself?

billovee

I want to ask something how to install mirosoft office since there is no DVD drive in wind ?

Use thumb drive ? what is the cheapest method without buying external DVD drive ?

wil1986

I want to ask something how to install mirosoft office since there is no DVD drive in wind ?

Use thumb drive ? what is the cheapest method without buying external DVD drive ?

using *ahem* software downloaded on msi wind itself.. haha.. tats cfm cheapest..:s22:

Bloodlust

Buy a high capacity thumbdrive (8gb), install alcohol or deamon tools mount the *ahem* and install :p

yamashita

Users are reminded discussion on piracy is strictly prohibited here.

wil1986, first warning for you.

wil1986

Users are reminded discussion on piracy is strictly prohibited here.

wil1986, first warning for you.

wa.. so fast tio yellow card liaos.. :eek:

alrite, then how to install office into msi wind? rip cd also considered piracy rite? i dun wan tio 2nd yellow liao..

of cos, can always borrow ext cd/dvd drive to install....

Bloodlust

wa.. so fast tio yellow card liaos.. :eek:

alrite, then how to install office into msi wind? rip cd also considered piracy rite? i dun wan tio 2nd yellow liao..

of cos, can always borrow ext cd/dvd drive to install....
So troublesome for wat? Just image the contents of the DVD/CD to an ISO, mount using D-tools and install.

pohu

pohu, still here? Could you just check whether yours is a PgUp key or a PuUp key? :look:

Edit: Another question, any recovery CDs inside the box, or a recovery partition on the Wind itself?

"PgUp" key, these are the disks that come along with the packing
1214642296.jpg

- a recovery disk
- a driver utilities disk
- a wiping cloth for the monitor

pohu

I immediately uninstalled the trial version of the Microsoft Office with Open Office :) er, should be ok right? also I installed the AVG 8.0 Free version..

BTW did called Corbell earlier, as upon they advised, i downloaded and update my wireless (WLAN) driver.. later going out and see if my wireless woes is solved, pray hard hard for me :)

pohu

1214642936.jpg

see the different.. "AFTER" and "Before"??

at least, I need not carry the BIG BULKY Targus backpack ard as compare to the black sling bag I gonna carry later :p

pohu

I think my only complaint is the constant disconnection when surfing wireless ..like last night at the Mac near my place (using Wireless@sg) and using my company's in-house wireless network.

I cant conclude now if the problem lays with the built-in wireless device itself or the network itself but having constant disconnect while using wireless is a BIG problem for me which i cant afford it.. any advice??

I dun think I'm that far from the "router" as when I used my old DELL in those two places I mentioned (ie: the Mac near my place n my workplace) I never once kena disconnected but how to I "update the wireless drivers.. ".. never been into that technical before.

Also to highlight that my old DELL has this "Intel® PROSet/Wireless Software".. wonder can be installed in WIND as well? as mentioned, given my job nature I can't simply get disconnected so often from wireless.. thanks.. other than that, I reiterate, it's fine so far :)

wah..if that's the case, I might hv to check with Corbell liao... but did update the drivers as u mentioned.. I'll check n see hw first , thanks

BTW did called Corbell earlier, as upon they advised, i downloaded and update my wireless (WLAN) driver.. later going out and see if my wireless woes is solved, pray hard hard for me :)

Above-mentioned summarized the problem I have with the wireless connection with MSI WIND, having "update the drivers" from the MSI website (as advised by CORBELL staff) didn't seem to work at all!!

Was outside just now, logging on the "wireless@sg" it was OK for first 10 or so minutes..before the bugger (kena disconnected) struck again.

Good thing I had my mobile broadband with me, if not SIAO liao lah!!

Will give a feedback to Corbell again next week but can only send in for servicing (if required) a week later.. hope this is an isolated case..

Just an update...

(P.s: any CORBELL staff happen to read this, pls kindly advise thanks)

pohu

Wow jialat liao.........not stable problem.......worry !!!

sian dao..

not trying to defend them or whosoever..

yes, definitely DLJ with the constant "disconnection" from wireless hotspot surfing but that wasn't the MAIN reason I opt for a WIND.

Dont mind sharing with all some of the considerations before I opt for WIND

• due to my sore shoulders, i need something light weight
  • as compare to Eee PC, the screen size is much bigger (as far as I concern)
  • got enuff USB slot (as far as I concern again), also a RJ45 cable slot (some hotel or venue do have that cable provided ,eh)
  • at least, it's ok with the mobile broadband I using (ie: Singnet), as it was stable thru'out the surf..
  • it fit into a sling bag (rather than carry a targus backpack)
  • it dun fit in a optical drive (i dun need it anyway!)
  • it <$1K..so??

pohu

so ur batt can last how long for ur normal usage.. thx
it's the much-under-fired 3-cell which last at most 2hr -3 hr(pending how u use.aga aga), did check with Corbell when the 6-cell is coming they cant give a date..

idiort

erm... so for normal wireless surfing... wads the longest u got bro.. thx..

got ever test off wifi and use?? lol...

i need it for 3hrs lecture in sch lahz...

idiort

the eeepc last time,i have to off wifi,put standby and dun use at times during class to last 3 hrs....

until i got the extended batt pack...

msi wind dunno can last tat long anot..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.