MSI Wind

GeneKoh

Why is it so ex? I believe I have seen much better price somewhere somewhere. Do look around before committing on the Wind~

More like gone with the Wind with Asus 901 and 1000H launching today.
Tough fight for the Wind I can foresee.

It's retail price and also upgraded to 2GB RAM by MSI... I dun wanna upgrade myself and void the warranty...

The 799 and 829 that you see are for the pre-order people from Forum and IT Show.

Even Pink Wind was retailing at 859 for 1GB RAM version. This is about normal retail price, unless you know of anywhere that's cheaper than the quote I got...

idiort

i think u can buy ur own ram and bring to corbell to upgrade.. i asked the other day,they say yes but dunno how much u will save though..

GeneKoh

i think u can buy ur own ram and bring to corbell to upgrade.. i asked the other day,they say yes but dunno how much u will save though..

They'll do it for you, but they'll charge you labour... 30 bucks, i tink... That's what gadgetworld told me when I enquired about it with them...

Doesn't really make sense... a 2GB DDR667 SODIMM RAM itself costs about 40 already, for a decent brand... Then plus another 30 for labour, cuz it takes a bit of unscrewing and dismantling before you get to the RAM chips...

I'd rather pay another 44 more to have them upgrade it for me themselves using their own chips... ...

idiort

lol. they offer 35 bucks for 1 ram.. max is 2gb total also

Corbell

They'll do it for you, but they'll charge you labour... 30 bucks, i tink... That's what gadgetworld told me when I enquired about it with them...

Doesn't really make sense... a 2GB DDR667 SODIMM RAM itself costs about 40 already, for a decent brand... Then plus another 30 for labour, cuz it takes a bit of unscrewing and dismantling before you get to the RAM chips...

I'd rather pay another 44 more to have them upgrade it for me themselves using their own chips... ...

Hi GeneKoh,

Just come to our office with your Wind and we will help you to upgrade the additional 1GB using our Corsair DDR2/667 sodimm for $35 only. Cheers. :)

GeneKoh

lol. they offer 35 bucks for 1 ram.. max is 2gb total also

35?... For labour? Just the 1GB RAM? Or all included?

Correct me if I'm wrong, but inside has a 1GB chip already, but you need to remove the 1GB and fit a 2GB chip in?

idiort

included... 1 gb ram soldered... got 1 slot for u.. so can just upgrade at corbell for 35 bucks. reasonable price...

doody_

Oh, they distribute Corsair as well :).

Anyway, the max you can put into the free RAM slot is 1GB. A 2GB stick will screw with your Wind :).

defn

Hi GeneKoh,

Just come to our office with your Wind and we will help you to upgrade the additional 1GB using our Corsair DDR2/667 sodimm for $35 only. Cheers. :)
Hi Corbell, will you be able to do a HDD Swap as well? Please let me know. THanks!

doody_

Hi Corbell, will you be able to do a HDD Swap as well? Please let me know. THanks!

Going up to 320GB? :) What HDD are you planning to use, anyway? Try one that's efficient, like the WD Scorpio that comes with the Wind. It'll do wonders for your battery life :).

defn

I have a spare 160GB lying around. But yeah 320GB will be nice. See if Corbell allow or not lor. :o

koosh17

Don't think so atm, i was there in the afternoon. Overheard some guy picking up his blackie asked them the same question. Answer was, nope.......maybe next time?

Btw, while i was there, i also spoke to this friendly staff....who quoted the 6 cell to be $149 after discount for us Wind owners. I did ask if the price could be lower.

Well, the is no concrete answer atm, as they could not even procure the 6 cell batteries.....as it seems like there is some shortage for them.

defn

They've done a fairly good job in procuring stocks for the black windy. Hopefully the same goes for the 6 cells. I can't stand this pathetic battery life! :mad:

pohu

testing out at my usual Braddell Mac spot...for the past 10 mins .. everything is so far so good.. :s13:

hit the 30 min mark liao... still ok leh... :) but battery is draining fast.. :(

Ok now.... another tryout this time at a secured wireless network.. been on for the past 37mins.. so far and so good :)

mahojazz

hi guys, so where can i get to buy the MSI wind with upgrade to 2GB? Can corbell advise? Thanks

pohu

Ok now.... another tryout this time at a secured wireless network.. been on for the past 37mins.. so far and so good :)
1 hr and 20++ min liao.. not kena "cut-off" or whatsoever.. :p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.