My fren said his wife insisted on gg 3-yr overseas posting. How? No kids, should divorce?

N4E.SI

My condolences TS. That time my friend's wife also insist on gg overseas posting.
First few months they still talk everyday via Skype/vc. Slowly the wife started becoming more distanced & cold.
Eventually he found pics of his wife with AMDK in their iCloud folder
End up divorced and my friend lost close to $50k in total

Slowdown

Come in discuss.
TS's friend should fully support his wife's aspiration. Just because she does something not to his liking, he want to divorce. In that case, the wife should divorce him.

Turn the situation around. If the hubby need to go for an overseas posting, TS expect the wife to file for divorce?

stingray1211

then follow her , take a sabbatical.

so hard meh ?

if ownself want to chase career then cannot handle 3 years apart ? 3 years still can fly here and there to meet..

how old already? I know so many couples , who have such arrangements. majority end up fine still . yes a few did end up in divir6but majority ended up fine.

someone needs to sacrifice career or ask company to help find a secondment overseas to the same country at least.

can take sabbatical or quit job to follow since likely the terms will Include basic family allowance ..

else separate during this 3 years , fly around to meet each other.

Laguna123

My condolences TS. That time my friend's wife also insist on gg overseas posting.
First few months they still talk everyday via Skype/vc. Slowly the wife started becoming more distanced & cold.
Eventually he found pics of his wife with AMDK in their iCloud folder
End up divorced and my friend lost close to $50k in total
Huh why divorced your friend will lose $50k?

MyWill

Weird leh, the wife mid 30s and want kid still wanna be post overseas? Then she 40s then want to have kid?
This kind of situation, i dont ask much rah. Later accidentally fan one side. I dun wana be responsible for their quarrel. I juz listen.

Seems like his wife thinks overseas posting is good for career progression and provides a lot of savings due to overseas allowance.

apriliasiao

Y not? Depending of their relationship, 3 years away doesn't mean don't see each other for 3 years. can always fly over and meet each others.
Moreover wife's career definitely is on better track after coming back from posting.

ahnyaahnya

This kind of situation, i dont ask much rah. Later accidentally fan one side. I dun wana be responsible for their quarrel. I juz listen.

Seems like his wife thinks overseas posting is good for career progression and provides a lot of savings due to overseas allowance.
Overseas allowance for what ? For nothing? How about housing etc?

Laguna123

Where is the posting to? She goes with who? What is she working as?

fire

Mid 30s, no children...friend talk to wife for reason why adamant on gg?

for career advancement,
- both decide not to have kids then by all means let her go if he confident in their relationship.

- Wanted baby then should insist on her not going... Go 3 yrs, come back focus work for promotion/promoted... By the time for baby, going to be become high rIsk

recruit

Because of a 3 year overseas posting your friend is already contemplating divorce? What sort of low quality marriage is this? Can’t even get through a minor thing like this?

There will be more challenging hurdles to get through tgt and your friend gotta toughen up if he wants to maintain a marriage.

Spike

You can ask the friend what would he have done differently if given the same opportunity.

iluvchickenwing

actually 3 years very short. if she dun intend to stay on after that, can alwaz come back and start family what. while young, go out explore abit lah.

unless irresponsible like my friend... decide to go overseas work for many years without asking wife first, then end up divorce cos she give him green beret years later when he left her in sg. dats like asking for it seriously. never say u never be tempted to cheat. even women do it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.