My samsung phone suddenly give me green line..

Hello_Kitty

because during software update the phone heats up.. accelerating any inherent flaws between the panel interconnection to the mainboard
why software update will heat up phone???

i thought only during intensive game or 4K video taking, then phone will heat up

Yuen123

many. i know OnePlus 12, 13, 15. Also their Oppo siblings, dunno about Vivo or IQ00 becos did not research
or if dun need flagship phone, look for mid ranger with LCD screen, but those may have backlight darkening after 5-7 years (my old Xiaomi, friend's Samsung A32) but at least still can use.
Mi Vivo also had green lines problem and I had to buy another phone

AnimeNewbie

usually s/w update will download the new binaries and copy them to a new folder and when the phone reboot after update complete, it will be pointed to use the new binaries. The old binaries are untouched. Not sure what is intensive about it.

Anjumara123

This happened to my S21 in June. Went down to the samsung service centre and paid $50 to replace the screen. When i went back to collect the phone 2 weeks later, they mentioned they also replaced the battery. So far my phone is still holding up well for my liking.

jq75

Digital_rain_animation_small_letters_clear.gif
1 hour ago was ok, wtf ?

reno77

i watched YouTube video on this.. need to use hammer and gently knock the phone

kuti-kuti

Scary siah.
I stopped buying samsung hp liao
Early this year bought my 1st china hp redmi note 13. So far ok lah only need to disable a lot of ads in their built in apps. This is 1 major dislike i hate

shock

Samsung let you trade in yearly. Why you never trade in?
After trade in, cheaper than Xiaomi flash ship phone.

loganrunning

This happened to my S21 in June. Went down to the samsung service centre and paid $50 to replace the screen. When i went back to collect the phone 2 weeks later, they mentioned they also replaced the battery. So far my phone is still holding up well for my liking.

good for you! in my case, in 2023, samsung refused to replace the screen on my s21+ for less than $250.

weng0202

What model
Past warranty period?

Think its like $200 replacement fee but may not even last 1 year before problems begin
Ya
You read that right
They said warranty is 1 month for replacement screens
Yeah don't bother to change it. I changed it and a new line came out after a few months.

loganrunning

Usually this happens after s/w update. Dunno if Samsung add this to 'force' customer to upgrade their phones?

nope, green lines appeared on my s21+ without doing updates. This was in mid 2023, beyond warranty.

given the publicity linking green lines to updates, i didn't do updates for the next 6 months. the green multiplied into purple and white lines, obscuring more than 50% of the screen.

i think the "updates cause green lines" is a woo-woo hand-waving theory, and its more linked to their mechanical design and manufacturing processes (panel, and subsequently phone).

anyway, no more samsung products for me.

Atrina_Boy

My Samsung phone same
First green line appeared at center screen.
Then another line appeared at left acreen, now another green line appeared on the right. Pretty even out...lol

Chalkycliffs

nope, green lines appeared on my s21+ without doing updates. This was in mid 2023, beyond warranty.

given the publicity linking green lines to updates, i didn't do updates for the next 6 months. the green multiplied into purple and white lines, obscuring more than 50% of the screen.

i think the "updates cause green lines" is a woo-woo hand-waving theory, and its more linked to their mechanical design and manufacturing processes (panel, and subsequently phone).

anyway, no more samsung products for me.

My green/white lines are clustered around the USB-C port.

Mine also appeared without any updates as it is an old phone - Note 10+.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.