MyRepublic Big Launch

hangyong

what you mean you swap the router connected with the black Alcatel?

you mean (for example) you have router A with Alcatel, not working. Removed router A and replace with router B connect to Alcatel and it is not working? (yes, tat's wat i did)

If above, 2 questions:
router B previously has any issues or never tried before? (previously no issue)
router A if placed on another network, can it work?(yes tried on m1, it works, no upload hanged)

ok good!

seems like you have eliminated the possibility that the cause is by the router or compatibility issues...

next step you will need to do packet capture and send to MR liao...
part and parcel of being in beta...

hey.... one more thing...
can you put everything back to its original condition which Android cannot work?
and are you able to create an Ad hoc network, on a PC, and share its internet and access that network on your Android and see if it work??

Spyder7756

thing is I have no android devices to try at home la... if not I would have tried liao...

one thing to note is that the ONT is tied to your ISP.
so the only thing you can swap is the router.

Interestingly... how come you are using the E1500 on MR??

lol..okok.. just hope you hv android to confirm.. ok noted on the ont tied to isp.. my E1500 is for my m1 100 mbps one... only one to test with MR.....

Tks

Zeemax

ok good!

seems like you have eliminated the possibility that the cause is by the router or compatibility issues...

next step you will need to do packet capture and send to MR liao...
part and parcel of being in beta...

hey.... one more thing...
can you put everything back to its original condition which Android cannot work?
and are you able to create an Ad hoc network, on a PC, and share its internet and access that network on your Android and see if it work??

Ok, I will do that tomorrow cos now at work in office. I will try with note 2, my tv & Android tv box. Cheers :)

aptget

guys, when MR installs 1Gbps, what devices are changed ?

they have to change the Nucleus Connect device, am I right ?

eriol125

Dear Myrepublic,

Today is 4th of April, my appointment is on the 8th of April. You called and confirmed my appointment twice for 8th of April. And today you made your tech, Mr Azahari came to my house.

Can Myrepublic get a grip of the situation here? Giving your tech the wrong appointment date?! Seriously?! MR should know that you also need to have liaise with OpenNet on the same day for the internet to be connected.

Anyway I would like to praise Mr Azahari for coming all the way here, for nothing. So please don't go blame your installation staff for being late for other installations. The people in the office gave the man on the ground the wrong date, made them waste their time for nothing.

And lastly, I hope there will be no such stunt on 8th April.

Cust ID : C1007412

aptget

ok thx for the quick answer. looks like Opennet did the switch

No internet access now, NucleusConnect shows no signal. looks like I need to drop MR a message to get them to come over again and drop the Alcatel device

aptget

Dear Myrepublic,

Today is 4th of April, my appointment is on the 8th of April. You called and confirmed my appointment twice for 8th of April. And today you made your tech, Mr Azahari came to my house.

Can Myrepublic get a grip of the situation here? Giving your tech the wrong appointment date?! Seriously?! MR should know that you also need to have liaise with OpenNet on the same day for the internet to be connected.

Anyway I would like to praise Mr Azahari for coming all the way here, for nothing. So please don't go blame your installation staff for being late for other installations. The people in the office gave the man on the ground the wrong date, made them waste their time for nothing.

And lastly, I hope there will be no such stunt on 8th April.

Cust ID : C1007412

Pls ask Azahari to come over my place early. I don't mind !! LOL

eriol125

Pls ask Azahari to come over my place early. I don't mind !! LOL

He still said thanks to me for giving him a drink even he did nothing. (Seriously this guy is a very nice guy, just being screwed by MR office people...

Bobby Goh

Yes, nice guy. My appointment was on 31/3 2pm-6pm. He reached my place at about 3 pm and he had not had his lunch yet. Luckily, my installation went smoothly and in less than 30 mins, he's out of my place for his late lunch.

Spyder7756

Spyder, do u think our problem is cos of this Alcatel black box w/o voice?

hmm..that's why you and me are waiting for someone whom are using this black box Alcatel-lucent ont (no voice) to message all that their android device on MR has no issue...or same issue...

I suspect but i do not hv any spare or compatible ont to test... hangyong pointed that ont is tied to isp which i agreed..

Just hope MR has some patch....or so....

Silkworm

MR, your 1Gbps broke my connectivity to my office work site.

And now I couldn't connect to my work site at all, Chrome and IE keeps displaying This page can't be displayed/This webpage is not available error. I could ping to my site but using browser can't connect at all.

How?? I need to work leh...

Currently I am using tethering from my phone. Its laughably pathetic... Got 1Gbps cannot use must use tether.

I expect an answer ASAP.

Silkworm

i think MR routing paths to the internet very very jialat. What was previously connectable via SH now can't be connected using MR. FML. I need to log into my office site to work leh... not play play. Can you all do something about it.

hangyong

i think MR routing paths to the internet very very jialat. What was previously connectable via SH now can't be connected using MR. FML. I need to log into my office site to work leh... not play play. Can you all do something about it.

if can ping, its not a routing issue liao...
you may want to give them more information like:
1. screen capture
2. what application are you using to connect
3. any specific ports being used
4. any other information you think is useful to troubleshoot

email to solomon

grey_fox

try swapping out DNS servers to OpenDNS or something else.

Silkworm

Ah well. Since I'm not getting any answers from MR, i decided to do my own research and I managed to resolve my own issues.

For those who are interested, this is my solution (it basically solved all my connectivity issues so far, including connection to Crashplan cloud servers):

Issue - Can ping and tracert to (some) websites, but cannot use browsers to connect to them

The issue is due to my MTU on my Ethernet LAN port needs to be set at a lower value than the default 1500.

Step 1 - Find your ideal (best) MTU value from this instructions:

Best MTU and MRU settings for ADSL2 Modems? - The Warcom Blog

or

MTU Limit - Test and change your connection's MTU limit - Windows 7 Help Forums

Step 2 - Edit your Ethernet LAN port MTU to the (best) value found in Step 1.

How do I change the MTU setting in Windows 7? - Microsoft Community

[Summary steps for Step 2]

1. Open a command line window as an Administrator (ie. right click on All Programs > Accessories > Command Prompt and select Run as administrator) ...
2. Type the command netsh and wait for the prompt to change to netsh>
3. Type the command interface and wait for the prompt to change to netsh>interface
4. Type the command ipv4 and wait for the prompt to change to netsh>interface>ipv4

5. Type the command show interfaces
6. Note the Name of your ipv4 interface
7. Type the command set subinterface "full Name of the interface" mtu=xxxx store=persistent

Where "full Name of the interface" = something like "Local Area Connection 4" (notice the 4 on the end) and "xxxx" = your router MTU, such as "1492"
8. Hit Enter and you should receive an OK. confirmation
9. Type the command show interfaces to confirm the MTU was updated to the new value
10. Type exit to return to the command prompt from netsh

Done!

Other Steps - I also altered the MTU settings for my Router, NAS, other PCs/Macs etc.

Hope this helps some folks here.

nivleK1985

Our installer are working extremely hard, rushing from places to places to get everyone's connection up.

Even machine cannot tahan (Car broken down) =(. So please bare with them if they are late by a little or so.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.