Name on boarding pass

dilphinus

If your passport show Tan Ah Kow Peter

and when you buy air ticket, you put Tan Ah Kow

Not ok
It is perfectly ok lah. Don't give wrong info.
Reopening this old thread.. If my name on passport is Tan Ah Kow Peter, but the booking name is just Tan Ah Kow, is this OK?
We booked Jetstar via Agoda and just realized that the name on the booking is just Tan Ah Kow... the flight is 3 weeks away.
It is perfectly ok lah.

minamikaze

It is perfectly ok lah. Don't give wrong info.

It is perfectly ok lah.
Thanks for your reply! Sorry to ask, but u have personal experience with this?
I am trying to reach out to Agoda as well as Jetstar to check as well, but any insight from here would be greatly appreciated.

Hisashiburi

Thanks for your reply! Sorry to ask, but u have personal experience with this?
I am trying to reach out to Agoda as well as Jetstar to check as well, but any insight from here would be greatly appreciated.

Changi airport is very strict about exact name matching.

My ticket lacked the "middle name" and every country i visited was fine.
No problems at checkin.
Surname and First name were correct.

But in Changi, i got held up at the airport counter with different airlines.
They had to double check, get supervisor etc
It all went through but took a much longer time.

So...not sure in your case.
Should be ok , but go to airport extra early for checkin.

minamikaze

I see. Thanks for the reply. Just to be safe, will try to get it changed for free these few days... I hope they would not ask me to pay for name change as the ticket itself was not too expensive in the first place :(

reddevil0728

I see. Thanks for the reply. Just to be safe, will try to get it changed for free these few days... I hope they would not ask me to pay for name change as the ticket itself was not too expensive in the first place :(
any reason why. you didn't put in full?

minamikaze

any reason why. you didn't put in full?
My wife did the booking and she claims she did put the name in full during booking (we booked through Agoda). Unfortunately I only just discovered this recently and it has been a few weeks since the booking was made..

reddevil0728

My wife did the booking and she claims she did put the name in full during booking (we booked through Agoda). Unfortunately I only just discovered this recently and it has been a few weeks since the booking was made..
right... oh well. worse come to worse just have to pay than to have the anxiety of being denied boarding last min

ApeTruelove

Most airlines do charge a fee for name correction/change be it one letter or so but of coz sometimes they can help to waive off the fee on case to case basis. Usually no need to worry too much if you purchase directly from the airline since your details is inside their system if you enter correctly but because you purchase from third party so IDK whether they use your details or use their details.

dilphinus

Already told you it's not a problem. Up to you to believe or not.

Those people with long names, middle names and >1 first names, all cham liao....everytime cannot input the all the given names then will have problem at the check-in.

Your name must appear as on your passport. If you have multiple first names, there's no need to correct the name on your booking to include all of your first names. One is enough.

reddevil0728

Already told you it's not a problem. Up to you to believe or not.

Those people with long names, middle names and >1 first names, all cham liao....everytime cannot input the all the given names then will have problem at the check-in.
If later poster got denied boarding. you responsible? since you so certain

dilphinus

If later poster got denied boarding. you responsible? since you so certain
Yeah, I can be responsible cos I'm that certain. :rolleyes:

Then, there's nothing to be responsible for cos there's definitely no issue with check-in :rolleyes:

dilphinus

Can you suggest how will you be responsible if really denied boarding? Poster reach out to you to get a formal legal undertaking from you?
Whatever you suggest or propose lah. Since you are the one who's suggesting it. I can agree to anything cos I am that sure and confident that there won't be any issue. I have nothing to worry.

Aside to the person who is so worried, please also Google and see how common this is. And also let us know after you have gotten an answer from Jetstar.

I used to work in the airline industry if it even matters.

reddevil0728

Whatever you suggest or propose lah. Since you are the one who's suggesting it. I can agree to anything cos I am that sure and confident that there won't be any issue.
right ok. leave it to poster to reach out to you.

there's a difference between your experience, and what might be the actual policy.

i think it's impt for people to be aware and not conflate

dilphinus

right ok. leave it to poster to reach out to you.

there's a difference between your experience, and what might be the actual policy.

i think it's impt for people to be aware and not conflate
You are the one suggesting lor. :rolleyes:

What I'm saying is based on actual procedures.

doratch

I flew to Bangkok via Thai Lion Air in April 2023.
When booking the airticket, I entered my full name which includes an English name. However on the boarding pass, only my Last name and First name appeared with my English name omitted. But I had no problem boarding the plane when I presented my boarding pass to the staff at the gate.
However, on the luggage tag sticker, part of my English name appeared.

Hope this info helps.

minamikaze

Thanks. Hey I'm really grateful for your answer dilphinus and for all the other answers.. and of course you don't have to be responsible for the answer haha.
I was just looking for actual experience from people to decide if it's worth taking the risk - because my ticket is like 100+ only (round trip), so if I need to pay like $100 for name change, it might be worth just taking the risk.

I'm still waiting for a response from Agoda. Will respond here when I get something!

dilphinus

Thanks. Hey I'm really grateful for your answer dilphinus and for all the other answers.. and of course you don't have to be responsible for the answer haha.
I was just looking for actual experience from people to decide if it's worth taking the risk - because my ticket is like 100+ only (round trip), so if I need to pay like $100 for name change, it might be worth just taking the risk.

I'm still waiting for a response from Agoda. Will respond here when I get something!
You should be checking with the airline and not Agoda.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.