[need advice] paynowed to wrong number

addict951

Recently someone paynow by mistake $18 to me, demanded me to paynow back. I immediately reported to DBS. DBS said would returned the unknown funds within 7 working days. But 7 working days has passed, still haven debit from my account. Call dbs again but press so many buttons, still cant talk to anyone.

Normally how long will the bank debit the money back to the sender ah? I see the funds buay song...
So how ar? Coming to 1 yr liao.
How long did DBS eventually debut the $18 from your account??

RichardXyn

I pay cash most of the time. It is the safest. Honestly, I cannot understand why people pay cashless even at hawker center.

Philipkee

you called the bank already. is for the bank to follow up. unsure if filing a police report will help but the other end is not suppose to keep the money considering you informed the bank liao.

to play safe, just file a police report with user name, account number lor.
Dunno leh. $6 only. Not sure if easier to just write it off

articland05

My friend made over $10k paynowed to wrong number. And the recipient blocked my friend to contact. Only knows the recipient's name and phone number. already reported to bank however they say just wait. also report to police but no progress yet. Can anyone advise how to do in this case?
don't worry
it is your friend, not you :o

edit: just realise is a necro thread

KnyghtRyder

My friend made over $10k paynowed to wrong number. And the recipient blocked my friend to contact. Only knows the recipient's name and phone number. already reported to bank however they say just wait. also report to police but no progress yet. Can anyone advise how to do in this case?
The proper procedure is to just wait.

What can you do other than curse your bad luck.

sacredrays

I pay cash most of the time. It is the safest. Honestly, I cannot understand why people pay cashless even at hawker center.
paynow is safe unless the sender couldn't be bothered looking at the recipient name before confirming...

RichardXyn

paynow is safe unless the sender couldn't be bothered looking at the recipient name before confirming...
That is why is isn't safe. The intended receipient may acknowledged that it is correct like in the cited case and then said he was mistaken. To obviate this, just pay cash. No need to argue later who is right or wrong.

sacredrays

That is why is isn't safe. The intended receipient may acknowledged that it is correct like in the cited case and then said he was mistaken. To obviate this, just pay cash. No need to argue later who is right or wrong.
give paynow phone number and nickname to sender.

if wrong phone number, the nickname very very rarely is correct.

most of the time people just give phone number, that's why cases like this happened.

i ever accidentally fat finger gave 1 digit wrongly but together with my nickname, the sender asked if correct since nickname doesn't match. thank goodness.

RichardXyn

give paynow phone number and nickname to sender.

if wrong phone number, the nickname very very rarely is correct.

most of the time people just give phone number, that's why cases like this happened.

i ever accidentally fat finger gave 1 digit wrongly but together with my nickname, the sender asked if correct since nickname doesn't match. thank goodness.
When not in a hurry, it is not a problem. I use paynow as well or certain transactions as it is not convenient to carry too much cash around. But when it is rush hour at hawker centers it is better to pay cash. Hawkers are not in favour of paynow as there have experienced occasions where payments do not go through.

Encouragesome1

Bad habit. When I use cash, I never count my change. So I actually dunno if I got extra or less. :(
How can like that ? U know there r some unscrupulous shop cashier alws give wrong change to unwary shopper.. last time ssc giant alws got one short haired aunty doing this. If she there I either don’t buy or I q with machine pay

Laneige

I recently also made big amt transfer
Went to my friend n make sure on the spot check first
Then transfer on the spot
So big amt
There is zero chance for error else some ppl they only 烂命一条
U transfer without checking then be prepared for nightmare

savoirex

Do small amt transfer first
Ask the pax to screenshot received
Then proceed with balance
correct, safety 1st.

oways remember:
must be slow when paying $,
and fast when receiving $
...cos tats how our garmen operate :s13:

Jack_Chen

Maybe like within 2 min. Else everyone keep going to reverse then hawker can’t trust this payment

The Hawker should protect himself by registering the number to his 'business' account.

anyway, I just offer a solution, the real stakeholders can consider and implement something. Maybe it can even protect account holders in scams. It's a dual edged sword.

I remember back in '05, I did digital bill payments in Aus, then return to Sg where banks explained that they are imposing a 3 day transfer period for bank transfers<-They explain Polis are concerned about crime proceeds being very rapidly transferred. They gave a mock scenario where the bookie is able to get his bets paid very fast by the punters.

Then after a few years, they relaxed the requirement to the point you get PayNow, PayLah, it's near instant. Now scammers also know it's near instant.

Encouragesome1

The Hawker should protect himself by registering the number to his 'business' account.

anyway, I just offer a solution, the real stakeholders can consider and implement something. Maybe it can even protect account holders in scams. It's a dual edged sword.
Indeed
The sharpest best knife cuts accurate n swiftly but causes most serious accidents if any happen.
last time everythg payment tks 1/2 -2 days no such thg as bank transf scams
With internet , convenience shot thru the roof so did the crimes
I remember back in '05, I did digital bill payments in Aus, then return to Sg where banks explained that they are imposing a 3 day transfer period for bank transfers<-They explain Polis are concerned about crime proceeds being very rapidly transferred. They gave a mock scenario where the bookie is able to get his bets paid very fast by the punters.

Then after a few years, they relaxed the requirement to the point you get PayNow, PayLah, it's near instant. Now scammers also know it's near instant.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.