[NEED EXPERTS HELP] Any most bang for bucks lappy can sic , preferably under $1K. But max budget notch more than $1.5K

bakuten

yah if don't need those fancy function like drag and drop, phone laptop seamless integration, or portability, aftershock is a good choice.

i got my rtx3070 gaming laptop for 750 last year

play game shiok
i ditched my desktop and steam deck.
replaced them with a onexplayer x1 pro HX370 model + oculink setup(GPU salvaged from desktop).
best decision ever. kinda pricy though. :ROFLMAO:

eyz

i ditched my desktop and steam deck.
replaced them with a onexplayer x1 pro HX370 model + oculink setup(GPU salvaged from desktop).
best decision ever. kinda pricy though. :ROFLMAO:

wow, looks good.

im interested. is it able to have any display output?

Hydro

I am using Asus TUF Laptop, it got very good cooling and using military grade material.

bakuten

wow, looks good.

im interested. is it able to have any display output?
2 x TB4 <---- output from here when undocked or docked through TB4 eGPU then through the GPU.
1 x Oculink <----- output from here when docked through oculink then through GPU, you can still output another display through the TB4 port even with oculink docked, but i think it's capped at 1440p x 120hz
1 x standard USB(3.2) <----- ur peripheral port

matt1618sg

I recently had this convo with a family member coz his laptop is old, can't upgrade to Win 11, and asked me to recommend a new laptop. First, I asked what is his Use Case? What do you do with the PC? Turns out he is like most users - surf web, read email, read social media, occasionally write docs, use spreadsheet to track expenses. He doesn't game. I told him, for your use case, dump Microsoft and get a MacBook Air. Windows is getting more and more bloated with more and more spyware and now, there's AI spyware coming. Not that Apple doesn't have bloatware/spyware but Apple a little bit better than MS. Also Apple uses its own CPUs and I really don't like Intel now. Intel so lousy they had to rebrand 15th gen to Core Ultra! And no need to get the latest M4 Mac (M5 coming out next year). For his use case, get M3 or even M2 Mac can oreadi.

cosmothecat

I recently had this convo with a family member coz his laptop is old, can't upgrade to Win 11, and asked me to recommend a new laptop. First, I asked what is his Use Case? What do you do with the PC? Turns out he is like most users - surf web, read email, read social media, occasionally write docs, use spreadsheet to track expenses. He doesn't game. I told him, for your use case, dump Microsoft and get a MacBook Air. Windows is getting more and more bloated with more and more spyware and now, there's AI spyware coming. Not that Apple doesn't have bloatware/spyware but Apple a little bit better than MS. Also Apple uses its own CPUs and I really don't like Intel now. Intel so lousy they had to rebrand 15th gen to Core Ultra! And no need to get the latest M4 Mac (M5 coming out next year). For his use case, get M3 or even M2 Mac can oreadi.
AMD Ryzen CPUs are good, just saying

eyz

2 x TB4 <---- output from here when undocked or docked through TB4 eGPU then through the GPU.
1 x Oculink <----- output from here when docked through oculink then through GPU, you can still output another display through the TB4 port even with oculink docked, but i think it's capped at 1440p x 120hz
1 x standard USB(3.2) <----- ur peripheral port

great. im still old school, looking for display port or hdmi on the specification.

thanks for the detailed explanantion.

any idea challenger has this device on display?

or you got it shipped from overseas?

apple459721

Refurbished laptop from authorised dealer

only $1.5k can get new but lousy specs

bakuten

great. im still old school, looking for display port or hdmi on the specification.

thanks for the detailed explanantion.

any idea challenger has this device on display?

or you got it shipped from overseas?
when docked, the display out will be primarily directly from your GPU unless you want to use the USB4 out instead
when you bring it out along then will use USB4 for display.

they only ship directly from hong kong.
you can checkout their websites for refurbished units if u looking to save some $$.
u can check out youtube videos for reviews

benzene

Currently i am using lenovo legion go as my set up.
Beside gaming and also some basic excel and words edit.
Using with with a external monitor

teagarden

If using Android phone. Better don't buy MacBook. Can't transfer files to and fro laptop using USB cables...

MacBook if you are using iphone and apple ecosystem...

:frown:

apple459721

Chiu know any "reputable" dealer or seller that sells refurbish laptop ?

If notch convenient say here, chiu can PM moi
Their own company website got sell.
Certified refurbished.
dell, microsoft, apple, lenovo..etc

Can just google example Apple refurbished

tian_yibang

11.11 starting soon , any sexperts here can help sic or offer more/better recommendations ?

Or from any seller/official stores that can offer good promo price, other than now-toh Atrix ?

:o:o

tian_yibang

Wah kaoz , bo lang hiew moi this thread sia all busy "hunting" 11.11 deals ah :s13::s13:

@cosmothecat Since chiu one of the sexpert need ask chiur opinion , this one can bai notch ?

Remember chiu said must bai the one with Core Ultra bcos its AI and power-efficient , moreover this one gotch OLED screen wor

Dxvqi3P.png

https://shopee.sg/-Free-Air-Purifier-NEW-2025-Model-Intel-Core-Ultra-5-7-Acer-Aspire-14-A14-71M-14-WUXGA-OLED-AI-Laptop-16GB-RAM-i.60315503.28680021722?extraParams={"display_model_id":147740989096}

@caterham7

cosmothecat

Wah kaoz , bo lang hiew moi this thread sia all busy "hunting" 11.11 deals ah :s13::s13:

@cosmothecat Since chiu one of the sexpert need ask chiur opinion , this one can bai notch ?

Remember chiu said must bai the one with Core Ultra bcos its AI and power-efficient , moreover this one gotch OLED screen wor

Dxvqi3P.png

https://shopee.sg/-Free-Air-Purifier-NEW-2025-Model-Intel-Core-Ultra-5-7-Acer-Aspire-14-A14-71M-14-WUXGA-OLED-AI-Laptop-16GB-RAM-i.60315503.28680021722?extraParams={"display_model_id":147740989096}

@caterham7
Looks good

This is a very good price for such specs

Can Or Not

Moi ish lappy noob, so quite dunno where to start from specs or function wise

So nong story short, any MS Windows laptops that "worth every cents" for a $1K budget ?

Preferably something notch more bigger than 14" as moi hab space constraints , and at least a 24/512 for futureproof use

Thinking wanna use the SG60V to get a lappy, but the Big 3 major stores and Challenger all dun accept so bopian later need use from GSTCash

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Update:

11.11 starting soon , any sexperts here can help sic or offer more/better last min recommendations ?

Or from any seller/official stores that can offer good promo price, other than now-toh Atrix ?
I would recommend macbook… for their superb battery life… sorry to inform you. Bought one Acer laptop and MacBook…. End up using macbook when I go out

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.