Need help on new rig

royfrosty

should i get a better mobo? my friend say that it is lesser features should get get H87 or P87 motherboard?

No need to go till so many features. The thing is your friends do not know much. B85 is an entry level mobo with the usual features that you will need to use. H87 on the other hand gives you more sata ports and also the RAID functions for more HDD to be connected. So do you need it? If no then a B85 will do.

EDIT: Do you even need SSD caching as SSD itself is darn fast.

Arma 3 , Dayz SA , titanfall , BF4 and so on

do i also need to get a better PSU 750w for the r9 290?

A single gpu does not need to go till 750w. 600w is already quite a lot.

500w is enough for a r9 290 or 280x.

The games you are intending to play a r9 280x can easily settle with ultra max settings.

User-name

but does B85 support 3 SSD inputs cos future i planning to take out HDD and put all solo SSDs
Also if i change win7 to win8 how much? cos now i change my mind for win8 because better performance and faster boot up

gaoxing84

simple to say.
if you upgrading your monitor to a better one, get the 290
if you're not, 280x is good enough for 60hz 1080p

290 don't need such a high PSU. 600w is enough.
infact, single GPU, anything 650w and below sure enough.

only crossfire 2 cards need at least 800w for extra headroom.

royfrosty

but does B85 support 3 SSD inputs cos future i planning to take out HDD and put all solo SSDs
Also if i change win7 to win8 how much? cos now i change my mind for win8 because better performance and faster boot up

If you are gonna put all 3 SSDs in solo you do not even need to go till h87.

B85 supports up to 4 SATA ports iirc.

Not unless you are going for RAID connections then you will need a H87.

Win 7 and 8.1 difference is $10 more.

gaoxing84

win8 start up faster meh?
LOL
i feel it's slower.

3 SSD input why not, just need 3 sata ports. unless you want to do RAID 0.

3 ssd, jin power. must buy all 1 TB! :s12:

User-name

For PSU: Super Flower Golden Green 600W [80 Plus Gold] @ $108 cybermind doesn't sell any reckons of other 600w PSUs?

JustAnotherTroll

win8 start up faster meh?
LOL
i feel it's slower.

3 SSD input why not, just need 3 sata ports. unless you want to do RAID 0.

3 ssd, jin power. must buy all 1 TB! :s12:

win8 got faster leh.......

OOT but your mobo i think wrong ------------->

royfrosty

For PSU: Super Flower Golden Green 600W [80 Plus Gold] @ $108 cybermind doesn't sell any reckons of other 600w PSUs?

At that price range no.

Can take a look at other stores that sells this. It is affordable. Cause if you were to get seasonic gold series all 135 or more

gaoxing84

win8 got faster leh.......

OOT but your mobo i think wrong ------------->

haha corrected. didn't realised till now.

win8 faster meh? but me no like win8. lol

anyway, with SSD bootup, you won't see a difference. lol

i always feel win 8 is build for tablets instead of main systems like PC or notebook.

maybe touchscreen notebooks will work.

royfrosty

whats raid connections it is worth to get a H87 for 30 bucks more?

You probably wont need it since you do not know about it.

Raid is to connect 2 hdd or ssds to either raid 0 or 1 etc.

Raid 0 is increase in performance by using 2 storage drives combine as 1. Both stores different sets of data seperately. You increase is read speed. But if one drives fail. Both will fail together.

Raid 1 is a redundancy. It will mirror exactly what you store in your storage. It does not offer any form of performance. But it gives you an exact copy. If one does fail. You have the other storage as a back up.

User-name

Raid 0 is increase in performance by using 2 storage drives combine as 1. Both stores different sets of data seperately. You increase is read speed. But if one drives fail. Both will fail together.

Raid 1 is a redundancy. It will mirror exactly what you store in your storage. It does not offer any form of performance. But it gives you an exact copy. If one does fail. You have the other storage as a back up.

if i want to run raid 0 need buy the H87?

vitaminc1231

Is there really a lot ppl out there raid two SSD?

SSD is damn fast to my knowledge, getting raid 0, will it really improve a lot?

SSD hardly spoilt, which makes me think, is raid 1 necessary...? Yes it may spoil but what are the odds man..

royfrosty

if i want to run raid 0 need buy the H87?

Yes

SSD hardly spoilt, which makes me think, is raid 1 necessary...? Yes it may spoil but what are the odds man..

Yes thats the answer to TS also. Raid 0 on ssd alone is as good as redundant and totally not worth it. Ssd generally is very fast. The speed wont differ that much from 1 ssd.

And yes ssd raid 1 is not necessary also as ssd hardly spoils.

enenyi

The pple that RAID SSDs are either working with servers that require quick speeds for high volume of reads and writes and reliability, or the super kiasu ones who want their OS and programs installed working fine even after 5 of 10 years.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.