Need parts recommendation for Threadripper 2 system...

djr81

Corsair has higher frequency ecc, and threadripper scales with frequency, so this is the best ram you can get to my knowledge:
CT4K16G4WFD8266 (16gb * 4 kit), DDR4-2666

Its not cheap though, ram prices are very high and have been ever since flooding destroyed the ram factories in thailand... high demand + constrained supply

once upon a time 4gb ddr3 was $23 at sls =x

ahh.. that is the kind of answer im looking for...

but got not so expensive boh =p looking to buy 32gb in total.

Sg have ?

tks..

once upon a time...after the taiwan big earthquake last time price only go up and seldom come down liao...

:s22:

djr81

GPU can get 2080TI... depends what you want it for right, but that card has lots of tensor cores, good for ai

PSU wise the best one would be the seasonic titanium series, maybe 850w will out-last most of the stuff in your PC given the super long warranty.

note that the threadripper boards need 4 power cables going to your mobo... make sure the PSU is strong enough =/

for gaming the cheaper intel 6 core would be better.

already buy the P4000 quadro liao leh.. so cant buy the 2080TI..

anyway for the PSU, sunflower brand good boh.

Tks

aCuria

already buy the P4000 quadro liao leh.. so cant buy the 2080TI..

anyway for the PSU, sunflower brand good boh.

Tks

no idea, you try and tell me haha sunflower is a budget psu brand.

may want to try the 2990WX and get even more cores... if you are not gaming my as well go all the way on core count imo, should help out rendering a fair bit.

djr81

no idea, you try and tell me haha sunflower is a budget psu brand.

may want to try the 2990WX and get even more cores... if you are not gaming my as well go all the way on core count imo, should help out rendering a fair bit.

lol.. just read some forum say until that sunflower is good.. anyway i skip that brand...

want to try try 1st...if good then can build another 2990wx. :s22:

now left last item liao Ram... need something that can get in Sim Lim...

aCuria

ahh.. that is the kind of answer im looking for...

but got not so expensive boh =p looking to buy 32gb in total.

Sg have ?

tks..

once upon a time...after the taiwan big earthquake last time price only go up and seldom come down liao...

Most people here don't have the answer's ba haha most people dont diy workstations, they just buy off the shelf.
Convergent will special order the ram for you.

Better to stick to 16g sticks so you can max out ram if needed next time (16*8) lol

you can buy 16x2 i guess, but this wont run in quad channel and will slow down half your cores if you are memory bandwidth starved (but i have no idea how to tell if you are lol) theres no data on this, you have to test it yourself.

djr81

Most people here don't have the answer's ba haha most people dont diy workstations, they just buy off the shelf.
Convergent will special order the ram for you.

Better to stick to 16g sticks so you can max out ram if needed next time (16*8) lol

you can buy 16x2 i guess, but this wont run in quad channel and will slow down half your cores if you are memory bandwidth starved (but i have no idea how to tell if you are lol) theres no data on this, you have to test it yourself.

eh if u use normal ram can boh... no need ecc bah..

-Grift-

eh if u use normal ram can boh... no need ecc bah..

Best case is to match QVL to RAM available at simlim bah

https://www.asus.com/sg/Motherboards/ROG-STRIX-X399-E-GAMING/HelpDesk_CPU/

Perhaps you can pick a set of ram and msg convergent to see if they have that exact model

djr81

GY28r33.jpg

asqcFem.jpg

This 1 damn chio...

JeYKUzS.jpg

Done fixing and power up with no issues.. heng

Anyway tks for all the advise...

djr81

Buy from Amazon USA
Asus mobo
Noctua Cpu Cooler
Noctua 1 add on fan for Cpu cooler
G Skill FlareX DDR 4 Ram 4 x 8gb
PNY Quadro P4000
Artic F14 Case fans
6qsgEvX.jpg

Z9ECNsM.jpg

Buy from VideoPro
AMD Threadripper 2950X - $1350
Dell u2417h $299 x 2
CoolerMaster v750 -$169
WD Black 4TB - $298
Asus Dvd Writer -$26

Buy from Cymax
Samsung 970 Pro 1TB $769
Samsunf 970 Evo 2TB $1099

Buy from Convergent
Fractal Define R6 combo -$299

Buy from Challenger
Logitec Keyboard mouse combo K520R - $44.50
Display port cable - $26.91 x 2

Your rig cost how much huh?

wah just the motherboard cost $1000 already.

-Grift-

Buy from Amazon USA
Asus mobo
Noctua Cpu Cooler
Noctua 1 add on fan for Cpu cooler
G Skill FlareX DDR 4 Ram 4 x 8gb
PNY Quadro P4000
Artic F14 Case fans
6qsgEvX.jpg

Z9ECNsM.jpg

Buy from VideoPro
AMD Threadripper 2950X - $1350
Dell u2417h $299 x 2
CoolerMaster v750 -$169
WD Black 4TB - $298
Asus Dvd Writer -$26

Buy from Cymax
Samsung 970 Pro 1TB $769
Samsunf 970 Evo 2TB $1099

Buy from Convergent
Fractal Define R6 combo -$299

Buy from Challenger
Logitec Keyboard mouse combo K520R - $44.50
Display port cable - $26.91 x 2

After conversion mobo ~SGD$600 while Simlim ~SGD$900-1000
:s22::s22:

Rock-kun

Spend so much money build a tokgong Threadripper 2 workstation but skimp on keyboard. :s22:

Should have got the Logitech Craft. The embedded crown works wonders for drawing and productivity if using Windows.

djr81

Lol didnt knw wat to get just snatch from challenger as it got promo...

Ok will have alook at that keyboard..

Tks for the advise

Spend so much money build a tokgong Threadripper 2 workstation but skimp on keyboard. :s22:

Should have got the Logitech Craft. The embedded crown works wonders for drawing and productivity if using Windows.

djr81

Wah i think i got saw that keyboard at challenger see the price just skip it...

Anyway will check the review..

If gd then can consider..

Rock-kun

Wah i think i got saw that keyboard at challenger see the price just skip it...

Anyway will check the review..

If gd then can consider..

By default the dial only works on the Adobe and Microsoft Office software suite out of the box.

For getting it to work with the drawing tools and modelling applications you use to configure additional features on your own. But I have not done this before (the Crown does not work on Linux), so better take your time evaluating it as much as possible before making a decision. Don't rush into buying one.

Still, I love its scissor switches.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.