Never Ever buy a Daikin aircon

mgx-alander

My compressor just broke down after 6 years. called Daikin and guess what, appointment for repair is 14 days later ! Nobody can tahan 2 weeks without aircon one.
One time charge is $129 (price increased 50%) not inclusive of component replacements.

Their thermistor also always spoil. The last time they came to replace my broken thermistor took total 3 months. Their aircon blower motor also not as strong nowadays, you find your aircon need more maintainence as the blower chokes easily. My greatest regrets in my renovation works is choosing Daikin. AVOID DAIKIN AT ALL COSTS.
Strawberry i dun even have aircon at home and im blowing fan while wfh :frown:

The_King

My compressor just broke down after 6 years. called Daikin and guess what, appointment for repair is 14 days later ! Nobody can tahan 2 weeks without aircon one.
One time charge is $129 (price increased 50%) not inclusive of component replacements.

Their thermistor also always spoil. The last time they came to replace my broken thermistor took total 3 months. Their aircon blower motor also not as strong nowadays, you find your aircon need more maintainence as the blower chokes easily. My greatest regrets in my renovation works is choosing Daikin. AVOID DAIKIN AT ALL COSTS.
something to help you out

Sharing my shortlisted these brand and model

Detail:
*Room size of 184Sq ft with data on BTU Calculator 10,792 BTU
*Room is already cooled down with BTU is maintain at 8000
*Temp set at 25c with mid high fan speed
*Electricity cost at 0.3kWh
* 9k and 12k btu add extra 12% and 6% as it take longer to cool room (on average 1hr as compare to 18k btu which need a few min)

18k BTU model
MXY-2H20VF = 15354.6btu = 1664kWh = 52.1% = 866.9kWh = $260.07
CU-2XU20YBZ = 15354.6btu = 1682kWh = 52.1% = 876.3kWh = $262.89

AC cost : MXY-2H20VF (1 FCU) = $2200 , CU-2XU20YBZ (1 FCU) = $2200,

12k BTU model
CU-XU12XKZ = 12624btu = 1472kWh = 63.3% = 931.7kWh = $296.28
CU-PU12WKZ = 11942btu = 1793kWh = 66.9% = 1201kWh = $381.91
MUY-GP13VF = 11942btu = 1548kWh = 66.9% = 1035.6kWh = $329.32

AC cost : CU-XU12XKZ = $1412 , MUY-GP13VF = $1468, CU-PU12WKZ = $1,199

9k BTU model
MUY-GP10VF = 8530btu = 958kWh = 93.7% = 897.6kWh = $301.59
CU-XU9XKZ = 9212btu = 1028kWh = 86% = 884kWh = $300.38
CU-PU9WKZ = 8871btu = 1413kWh = 8871 kWh = 90.18% = 1274kWh = $428.06

AC cost : MUY-GP10VF = $1269 , CU-XU9XKZ = $1309, CU-PU9WKZ = $1,109

More detail:
This mean 18k model vs 12k model (AC cost is around $750 different) and electricity cost is:
CU-XU12XKZ vs MXY-2H20VF = $36.21per yr = 20yr to break even (excluding inflation)
MUY-GP13VF vs MXY-2H20VF = $69.25per yr = 10yr to break even (excluding inflation)

Comparing 12k btu, 5star vs 3 star:
CU-XU12XKZ vs CU-PU12WKZ = $213 = $84.72 = 3yr to break even

CU-XU12XKZ is more worth it even if have LOT (lot of tech = more point of failure = not as lasting as it 3 star (based on feedback) but the 3 yr electricity cost to even the cost is already worth it

CU-PU12WKZ vs MUY-GP13VF = $52.59 = 6yr to break even the ac cost + electricity cost
MUY-GP13VF vs CU-XU12XKZ = $33.04 = 2.7yr to break even the ac cost + electricity cost

12k btu model: MUY-GP13VF is better then the 3 mode listed as CU-XU12XKZ have a lot more LOT (lot of tech) as compare to MUY-GP13VF

for 9k vs 12k:
9k is just not worth it as it under power, but as this is my back up AC, so i included inside it

CU-PU9WKZ = electricity cost too high at over $100 per yr as compare to other 9k btu model

MUY-GP10VF vs CU-XU9XKZ = $1.20 = 45yr to break even the ac cost + electricity cost

as such: MUY-GP10VF is the better choice as it have lesser LOT

9k winner vs 12k winner
MUY-GP10VF vs CU-XU12XKZ = $5.30 = 26yr to break even the ac cost + electricity cost

summary for 2 room type 1 with dual condenser setup :
Main AC : MUY-GP13VF
Secondary AC: CU-XU9XKZ (Diversify )

kawarides

If i hoot 3xSystem1 vs 1xSystem3, which one is better?

Detail:
* 9k and 12k btu add extra 12% and 6% as it take longer to cool room (on average 1hr as compare to 18k btu which need a few min)

18k BTU model

12k BTU model

9k BTU model

More detail:
This mean 18k model vs 12k model (AC cost is around $750 different) and electricity cost is:
CU-XU12XKZ vs MXY-2H20VF = $36.21per yr = 20yr to break even (excluding inflation)
MUY-GP13VF vs MXY-2H20VF = $69.25per yr = 10yr to break even (excluding inflation)

CU-XU12XKZ is more worth it even if have LOT (lot of tech = more point of failure = not as lasting as it 3 star (based on feedback) but the 3 yr electricity cost to even the cost is already worth it

CU-PU12WKZ vs MUY-GP13VF = $52.59 = 6yr to break even the ac cost + electricity cost
MUY-GP13VF vs CU-XU12XKZ = $33.04 = 2.7yr to break even the ac cost + electricity cost

12k btu model: MUY-GP13VF is better then the 3 mode listed as CU-XU12XKZ have a lot more LOT (lot of tech) as compare to MUY-GP13VF

for 9k vs 12k:
9k is just not worth it as it under power, but as this is my back up AC, so i included inside it

CU-PU9WKZ = electricity cost too high at over $100 per yr as compare to other 9k btu model

MUY-GP10VF vs CU-XU9XKZ = $1.20 = 45yr to break even the ac cost + electricity cost

9k winner vs 12k winner
MUY-GP10VF vs CU-XU12XKZ = $5.30 = 26yr to break even the ac cost + electricity cost

That's quite a calculation o_O
However 1 thing I do noticed reno or AC man always adjust to your expected price by mix & match the blower unit and compressor BTU. Usually they'll offer lowest blower unit and slightly under power compressor reason being not all units will be used at 1 time.

The_King

That's quite a calculation o_O
However 1 thing I do noticed reno or AC man always adjust to your expected price by mix & match the blower unit and compressor BTU. Usually they'll offer lowest blower unit and slightly under power compressor reason being not all units will be used at 1 time.
mine dual condenser setup, both are system 1 and with dual condenser setup, there will be no downtime like what @randyap is having like need to wait 2 week or more

i be taking turn to use both, but main AC will switch on 5 to 6 times per week and backup AC 1 to 2 times per week

if seldom use under power ok, but if you use daily, you wear out the AC and based on my calculation, there not much saving better 9k and 12k. with 12k last longer as it compressor is at 66% load compare to 9k at over 90% load. the higher load mean 9k will use more power but doing my math, = 9k seldom on ok, if daily on 12k

cause if you seldom on and choose 12k, you need 26yr to break even the ac cost + electricity cost
(MUY-GP10VF vs CU-XU12XKZ = $5.30 = 26yr to break even the ac cost + electricity cost)

ChinTuaKi

Stop reading at "Nobody can tahan 2 weeks without aircon one."

freaking char siew strawberry.

Hardware4455

Detail:

18k BTU model

12k BTU model

9k BTU model

More detail:

for 9k vs 12k:

9k winner vs 12k winner

With this summary May I conclude if we do not consider the amount of electricity consumption and maintenance etc. it will be the best choice to put 18k aircon in a bedroom for quickest cooling effectiveness

HushiePuppies

lol use for 6 years still kpkb.

If $129 is too expensive for skilled labour, then you must be one of those support illegal jiu hu workforce.

The_King

With this summary May I conclude if we do not consider the amount of electricity consumption and maintenance etc. it will be the best choice to put 18k aircon in a bedroom for quickest cooling effectiveness
if you dont care about electricity consumption, maintenance and the AC cost between model then yes 18k is for quickest cooling effectiveness

what i am trying to do, is to find the sweet spot of electricity consumption, cooling (25c), DIY maintenance and replacement set . like everyone in 2 room say get MXY-2H20VF but if you on 25 or 26c you need 10yr to break even the cost of MUY-GP13VF

*i did not add in inflation, so the 10yr might be only 8.5 or 8yr

Mecisteus

The amount of BTU depends on the size of the room.

There are cons of using oversize BTU.

So just find the right size BTU.

And 18k for a typical room in Singapore is definitely overkill.

SyraLeo

buy Mitsubishi. my air con tech told me there's loads of mitsubishi parts around, even 2nd hand ones.

my cooling coil was leaking, they said a new coil is 700 but a 2nd hand cooling coil is only 380, 1 hour later, its cold again. and its easy for me to clean the blower fin when i feel that the "wind" isnt as strong.

been using this unit for 11 years now.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.