New 10Gbps/5Gbps/6Gbps/3Gbps XGS-PON based plans

commandowolf

You cannot manage the ONR in bridged mode because it does not have any IP anymore as now it is just a bridge between your router and SH backend. What you can do is to connect the unbridged port to your router free port and then create a separate network eg 10.0.2.0 on that port which you can then allow your primary network eg 10.0.1.0 to access 10.0.2.0 or alternatively do a network address translation of eg 10.0.1.5 to 10.0.2.5 (assuming this is your ONR IP on the unbridged port) . Then you can access 10.0.2.5 from your PC in the 10.0.1.0 network.
Ok, will test when I am free. Thanks for sharing.

Henry Ng

Wow, jealous haha, if only i built a ATX build instead of mini ITX build (space constraints, bo pian), i would have bought a 10gbps NIC so i can do this for fun haha. 1gbps good enough for now.
If your router is good and can give you a good wifi speed near 1Gbps then it is ok. However with a 10Gbps plan you can get beyond 1Gbps say 1.5Gbps on wifi then it is very nice to surf the internet with your laptop.

Apparatus

Hey peeps just to update. Had a remote session with tp link engineer and the ans I've gotten is that it's either the adaptor issue or the antenna issue. Prob is I already tried buying some 3rd party antenna already and it still doesn't work. I'm out of idea now......

Or can anyone advise me how did you upgrade your wifi card? Which brand specifically did you buy and also which antenna are you using?

Hi

I think the answer to your slow WiFi 7 6GHz lies here

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...wifi-7-m-2-module-version-differences.316353/

Lexng88

Yesterday SH just install my 10 Gbps, 8 Gbps DL and 7.8 Gbps UL Speedtest from Starhub Website using their MacBook Air with OWC.

Installer
1) will only set up the SOP setting of Nokia ONR.
2) Setup StarHub TV box using Nokia ONR Wifi
3) Telephone line to cordless phone to ONR. Test Working or not...
4) Request for SH speedtest to prevent any dispute in future. ( using their MacBook Air with OWC )
5) If get SH Wifi access point installation. End Task

Owner Side
1) Request for Superadmin and password from installer ( Smooth talking, do at your own risk )
2) For Bridge mode you need to set yourself. ( do at your own risk )
3) Nokia ONR Lan Cable to Owner Router or Access point By Owner
4) Owner Router to Switch
5) Switch to owner DP point. Telephone point to Tel DP point
6) Testing of Speed test from owner PC / wifi / laptop. Own self test.
7) Moca 2.5 SVC cable lan speed test able to get 2.4 DL and UL from 10 Gbps

Obscurity

Hi Noob here wanting to reco tract my Internet.

Currently on starhub 1+1 and expiring soon. I'm on their modem which is insufficient for connection in the room and speed sucks seriously....

I wanna know if I take the 10gbps with their free modem will the connection reach my room? Or isit better for me to get plans with mesh modems.

I'm looking and comparing MR, singtel and starhub. Which is better?

commandowolf

got M.2 10GbE NICs ;)
Unfortunately my mini itx mobo only 1 M.2 slot, taken up by SSD liao. The only PCIe slot used by GPU. Oh well, premium price paid for ITX builds, so unless really space constraint like me, try to build avoid ITX build, get ATX build easier for future expansion.

Only thing i can do is upgrade the wifi card in my mobo haha. If only i can upgrade the in built mobo NIC itself.

commandowolf

Installer
4) Request for SH speedtest to prevent any dispute in future. ( using their MacBook Air with OWC )
Haiz my installer didnt do this part. Don't know if i want to bother calling starhub to come down and test just to show me. Dont have any laptops that support thunderbolt, no dock either. Alternative is i buy 10 GbE NIC just for testing this in my brother's desktop PC, but lazy also.

Edit: Just realised the Intel X540-T2 from taobao is PCIe 2.0x8, but the second slot on my brother's mobo is PCIe 3.0x4, so wont be able to hit 10gbps speeds anyways.

cyberet

Hi Noob here wanting to reco tract my Internet.

Currently on starhub 1+1 and expiring soon. I'm on their modem which is insufficient for connection in the room and speed sucks seriously....

I wanna know if I take the 10gbps with their free modem will the connection reach my room? Or isit better for me to get plans with mesh modems.

I'm looking and comparing MR, singtel and starhub. Which is better?
are you using wifi for your connection in the room? If yes, no matter what ISP you change to, it may still continue to suck.

either you get plans with mesh or get your own mesh. I would avoid ISPs that issues ONR personally. e.g. ST/WC

Obscurity

So
are you using wifi for your connection in the room? If yes, no matter what ISP you change to, it may still continue to suck.

either you get plans with mesh or get your own mesh. I would avoid ISPs that issues ONR personally. e.g. ST/WC
So my republic is a safe option? The one with 3 mesh.

I also saw Simba but not sure if its a gd option 😆

Obscurity

I have a question.

Can i use Nokia 10Gbps Optical Network Router (ONR WiFi) as a main router then i put linksys in my room to use as a mesh router.
🤣🤣🤣

xiaofan

https://www.starhub.com/personal/broadband/routers.html#10gbps-router

Is this beacon 2 that starhub is giving out for 10gbps? Nokia XS-2426X-A

Nokia XS-2426X-A -->XGS-PON All-in-one ONR for Starhub 10Gbps plan. It has WiFi 6 function (rated AX6000)
Nokia Beacon 2 --> low end wireless router (AX1800 rated) provided by Starhub, it can be used as a mesh node with the Nokia XS-2426X-A ONR.

You can always use your own mesh solution as well even though they may not be able to form a mesh with the Nokia all-in-one ONR.

Nokia XS-2426-A [ Wireless SSID 1]
Nokia XS-2426-A --> other mesh solution (eg: Linksys, TP-Link, Asus, Netgear) in AP mode [ Wireless SSID 2]

But if you are not familiar with home networking in general and want to have a solution fully supported by Starhub, then you'd better go with Nokia Beacon 2.

Reference: Starhub UltraSpeed FAQ
https://www.starhub.com/personal/support/article.html?id=kD5GRQtfxB3LxaEDMjuFm5

8: How will the setup of the UltraSpeed service be like?
9. How can I configure my WiFi mesh router to use this service?

Obscurity

Thanks for the explanation helps alot!

Imma recontract with starhub then since I'm rlly getting shitty connection due to the current setup.

Singrish

So MR is the only one using ONT? Anyone knows if i have my own asus router will they install for me? The AIMesh i can set up lah, just not very IT savvy so getting my main asus router to work with the ONT will be 🤦🏻‍♂️

Surely its not as simple as unplug their router, plug in my own router & viola without the need to reconfigure anything?

Obscurity

So MR is the only one using ONT? Anyone knows if i have my own asus router will they install for me? The AIMesh i can set up lah, just not very IT savvy so getting my main asus router to work with the ONT will be 🤦🏻‍♂️

Surely its not as simple as unplug their router, plug in my own router & viola without the need to reconfigure anything?
Whats the difference between onr and ont

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.