New Computer in feb

Kince86

Hi,:)
I know this might be abit too kan chiong but :s12:
Can some of the gurus here help check the combination i've decided on. i am planning on getting them from amazon (unless otherwise stated) and it'll be self-assembled.

my usage will be gaming and multi-tasking. i often have multiple windows(chrome mainly) open while gaming. current main game will be Blade and Soul China.
I already own a retail windows 8 pro 64bit, hdmi monitor, keyboard, mouse and speakers.

CPU: i7-4771 (for some reason i5s and i7 4770,4770k doesnt ship out of US)
MB: MSI B85-G43 Gaming (might get it from cyberactive. the prices from amazon is weirdly high)
GPU: EVGA 770GTX
SSD: Samsung 128GB
HDD: WD Black 1TB
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB)
PSU: Seasonic 650W bronze
Casing: Cooler Master Elite 430 (partly for the more affordable windowed casing. might be getting one from cyberactive instead.)

any advice would be appreciated XD
:o:o:o

undead102

Don't understand why you not getting parts from sls? Cyberactive is overprice imo. And cpu and mobo can get from local sls for combo discount.

Kince86

amazon's prices kills SLS and the savings i get from the MB and Casing if i go down to sls doesnt really justify the trip. i planned to go down SLS before but i decided on amazon. i can wait the 2 weeks. i live in jurong east and theres 2 cyber active near me so~

shadow84

Cyberactive sells at RRP or sometimes even higher than RRP. U go there no diff frm getting chopped in SLS... at least some shops can give discounts. Cyberactive cant.

Since u r gonna self build, get frm tradepac. Ask for discounts andu will save more than going to cyberactive.

ctstalin

What about warranty and RMA issues? Sometimes have to pay a bit more for a peace of mind in case something goes wrong.

localITguy

lol. cyberactive..

buy from mynextcom lor ( order online) if u lazy to sls . cyberactive price is so expensive.

really lah. their price is siao one.

royfrosty

amazon's prices kills SLS and the savings i get from the MB and Casing if i go down to sls doesnt really justify the trip. i planned to go down SLS before but i decided on amazon. i can wait the 2 weeks. i live in jurong east and theres 2 cyber active near me so~

You sure?

Then i would say you should be doing more research.

When you buy a mobo and CPU from amazon you will need a forwarder to send it over to SG. With the forwarder shipping it will overshot the price of Tradepac pricelist mobo + Cpu bundle.

The only things you can buy from amazon is SSD and certain GPU that is below $400sgd.

Only from time to time they have lightning deals during Black Friday or Cyber Monday that they have PSU or SSD that can go really low pricing. Furthermore things like Chassis if shipping can be waived then it is cheap. Else local pricing is the same.

And fyi, the games you play is not even demanding at all. An i7 would just be a waste. But if you have the money then by all means go ahead. Same goes to your GTX770.

That will also including the 16gb of ram. If you are not doing any intensive photoshop or any other video renderings an i7 and 16gb of ram is wasted.

If you really want to game only you should be looking at this few components.

MSI B85M G43 + i5-4570 ~ $347
Gskills Ripjaws 1600mhz 2x4gb kit ~ $110
WD Blue 1tb ~ $76
Plextor M5S 128gb ~ $128
MSI R9 280X 3gb Twin Frozr Gaming ~ $479
Superflower HX600 600w 80+ Gold PSU ~ $108
Fractal Design Arc Midi ~ $129
Samsung ODD ~ $21

Total ~ $1398 Buy at tradepac. DIY.

Lastly avoid Cyberactive. Such over charging price.

Even a Thermal paste from Artic MX4 SLS only $12. They selling $21

hamudi

You sure?

Then i would say you should be doing more research.

When you buy a mobo and CPU from amazon you will need a forwarder to send it over to SG. With the forwarder shipping it will overshot the price of Tradepac pricelist mobo + Cpu bundle.

The only things you can buy from amazon is SSD and certain GPU that is below $400sgd.

Only from time to time they have lightning deals during Black Friday or Cyber Monday that they have PSU or SSD that can go really low pricing. Furthermore things like Chassis if shipping can be waived then it is cheap. Else local pricing is the same.

And fyi, the games you play is not even demanding at all. An i7 would just be a waste. But if you have the money then by all means go ahead. Same goes to your GTX770.

That will also including the 16gb of ram. If you are not doing any intensive photoshop or any other video renderings an i7 and 16gb of ram is wasted.

If you really want to game only you should be looking at this few components.

MSI B85M G43 + i5-4570 ~ $347
Gskills Ripjaws 1600mhz 2x4gb kit ~ $110
WD Blue 1tb ~ $76
Plextor M5S 128gb ~ $128
MSI R9 280X 3gb Twin Frozr Gaming ~ $479
Superflower HX600 600w 80+ Gold PSU ~ $108
Fractal Design Arc Midi ~ $129
Samsung ODD ~ $21

Total ~ $1398 Buy at tradepac. DIY.

Lastly avoid Cyberactive. Such over charging price.

Even a Thermal paste from Artic MX4 SLS only $12. They selling $21

Guru has spoken, please heed his advice.
Making a trip down to SLS will save you money then buying from Cyberactive imo. Now BF/CM sales over liao, you want cheap pricing from amazon is only when the price go down (like stock market - very hard to hit your price when you want it to be) :s12::s12:.

shadow84

Guru has spoken, please heed his advice.
Making a trip down to SLS will save you money then buying from Cyberactive imo. Now BF/CM sales over liao, you want cheap pricing from amazon is only when the price go down (like stock market - very hard to hit your price when you want it to be) :s12::s12:.

Or you could find those resellers selling BF/CM deals.

Kince86

why would i need a forwarder when they are delivering to singapore? i understand needing one if i buy for example i7-4770 which amazon doesnt ship out of US.

I know that my system is over-kill. but im was just thinking of future proofing it for a while. my original plan was:
cpu: i7-4770
gpu: 760 gtx
MB: b85-g43
SSD: plextor m5s 128gb
HDD: wd 1tb
RAM: gskill ripjaw 2x8gb
Casing: CM Haf 912 Combat
PSU: a seasonic psu

i changed my choices due to stock availability and delivery options in amazon.

im not sure about tradepac too >.< i keep seeing people saying that tradepac is not too trustworthy.

Kince86

oh also, cyberactive was only if i was only getting the MB and possibility the casing. i was going to pctheme before i looked at amazon.

btw i keep seeing how people said to check each item properly and yet the items' seal should be intact. do i need to ask them to break the seal to check each item or just check the seals?

btw my budget is around 1.8k

anyways i shall heed the guru's advice. SLS it is. i just wanted some push XD

all i need to think is... fuwell? pctheme? or tradepac.

ps. is there a nvidia equivalent for MSI Radeon R9 280X?? i've not used radeon for a long time so i have no idea if its any good now.

hengheng220

bro i7 doesn't future prove anything. actually most games, if not all games doesn't use until that much core to game, meaning hyper threading is not needed, I5 will be sufficient. Also WD black nothing much since you got an ssd and the HDD is just use as storage no need get so ex de.

hengheng220

hahaha... bro 1.8k for your rig like not worth it since its not optimized as a gaming com...

shadow84

why would i need a forwarder when they are delivering to singapore? i understand needing one if i buy for example i7-4770 which amazon doesnt ship out of US.

I know that my system is over-kill. but im was just thinking of future proofing it for a while. my original plan was:
cpu: i7-4770
gpu: 760 gtx
MB: b85-g43
SSD: plextor m5s 128gb
HDD: wd 1tb
RAM: gskill ripjaw 2x8gb
Casing: CM Haf 912 Combat
PSU: a seasonic psu

i changed my choices due to stock availability and delivery options in amazon.

im not sure about tradepac too >.< i keep seeing people saying that tradepac is not too trustworthy.

Mobo and CPU cant be shipped to SG.

Reduce to i5-4570.

Reduce your rams to 2x4gb.

A seasonic M12ii 650w, Superflower HX600w, Corsair RM650w will do.

Case is ur choice, but CM cases quite meshy, will attract dusts.

Kince86

not optimised? please explain XD i know how to assemble the hardware and install windows. thats all i know hahahaha

hengheng220

CPU: i7-4771 Gaming only use 4 cores getting a 8 core will be a waste unless you using for pict or video editing
MB: MSI B85-G43 Gaming (Srsly get from SLS)
GPU: EVGA 770GTX ( Still ok but go for r9 280x more worth it for its price point and performance)
HDD: WD Black 1TB (If using for storage no point spending so much money since you already have SSD)
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (Overkill gaming don't need so much get 8gb first next time if really needed then 16)
PSU: Seasonic 650W bronze (Superflower HX is gold and cheaper)
Casing: Cooler Master Elite 430 (SLS again)

Kince86

CPU: i7-4771 Gaming only use 4 cores getting a 8 core will be a waste unless you using for pict or video editing
MB: MSI B85-G43 Gaming (Srsly get from SLS)
GPU: EVGA 770GTX ( Still ok but go for r9 280x more worth it for its price point and performance)
HDD: WD Black 1TB (If using for storage no point spending so much money since you already have SSD)
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (Overkill gaming don't need so much get 8gb first next time if really needed then 16)
PSU: Seasonic 650W bronze (Superflower HX is gold and cheaper)
Casing: Cooler Master Elite 430 (SLS again)

4771 cause they said 4770 is not shipping out of US and 4771 gave me a shipping quote XD but since i now know that they dont ship cpus to singapore im not buying from amazon anymore.

guess i will lower the ram to 2x4gb

psu i am totally noob with hahaha i've been using my CM 850W for more then 5 years. (it said 850W on the box. and it had all the sata power connectors, the 4pin connectors etc) so i did 0 researches with psu.

hengheng220

bro what i'm trying to say is get an I5 not I7 cause I7 is useless for gaming and you are paying extra for nothing

hengheng220

you see ah if you buy from Amazon and Cyberactive can rack up to 1.8k you get from SLS or Mynextcomp 1.4k nia delivery to your house also
arg.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.