New HDB Laundry Setup

icekachang72

if there is someone at home, such as SAHM or domestic helper or parents, then the natural thing is to dry the washed clothing under the sun. Nothing beats this kind of natural drying.

But most of us including me, don’t have that someone at home during working hours. Hence the most easier is to transfer the washing clothing into the dryer, without even the need to clip or hang on the dryer rack or poles. Clipping or hanging on rack/pole respectively is somehow ma-fan. However, not all clothing can be dumped into dryer. I still hang my dri-fit shirts, ladies undergarment, wife working dress etc on a hanger. On weekend, I wash bigger size items such as towels and bedsheets which I will dry on the pole (I’m staying in those old estate fitted with 6 pole holders).

Quite happy to have a dryer since 2016. More to pay for electricity bill, but I think worth my time.

otakuflick

I guess some people wash by hand hence dripping. My own one don't have, but above neighbor is usually dripping.
Some joker will even hang wet mop.

Pet lover like to wash the mat and pad for dog but no washing machine. I've such a neigbor above, no choice but indoor drying for me.

oddeye82

Washing machine plus dryer is the best combo. No need to hang outside, wait got inconsiderate neighbours. Wet weather also can dry clothes.

die

The older type is a bad design because if you drop the pole, someone might die.
lol that type of design already how many donkey years liao ...
ppl get hit by falling flower pots is more likely vs a pole ...

somemore since 30+years back the pole design they move that pole area to link up with the air compressor area ... vs those 40-60 yrs old flat that dont have the aircon compressor area ...

TopGun

lol that type of design already how many donkey years liao ...
ppl get hit by falling flower pots is more likely vs a pole ...

somemore since 30+years back the pole design they move that pole area to link up with the air compressor area ... vs those 40-60 yrs old flat that dont have the aircon compressor area ...
People have dropped poles and even fallen out of the window using the piles. An most HDB designs don't link the poles to the Aircon compressor.

die

People have dropped poles and even fallen out of the window using the piles. An most HDB designs don't link the poles to the Aircon compressor.
yes the older type one 40+yrs old flat ... only give u 6 hole to slot in the pole ...
some 20 - 30+ yrs type will get T shape holder.
those below 20yrs old one will likely be those linkup with the air compressor one

anyway with recent hip, those older one will be given new life and reborn into retractable drying rack
safety wise better but the pole length shorter and hard to hang and bring in your clothes
when sudden rain come ba ....

TopGun

yes the older type one 40+yrs old flat ... only give u 6 hole to slot in the pole ...
some 20 - 30+ yrs type will get T shape holder.
those below 20yrs old one will likely be those linkup with the air compressor one

anyway with recent hip, those older one will be given new life and reborn into retractable drying rack
safety wise better but the pole length shorter and hard to hang and bring in your clothes
when sudden rain come ba ....

Go visit Punggol or Sengkang and see whether the flats come with kitchen facing the compressor ledge.

Ultimately it depends on the design of the flats and all you need to do is to go google for random floor plans and you can see that most flat are not designed in the way you described.

And flats that have undergone HIP has those pole setup replaced. Ask yourself why?

Falling bamboo poles are a hazard and that's a fact.

rider83

Last time I stay in HDB, i just wash and dry using the washing machine and hang the clothes using the laundry rack hdb provides overnight in the yard. Singapore is too warm and by morning the clothes are more or less dry, otherwise leave them hanging until evening back from work, sure dry.

Nowadays i dont understand why people using the electrical rack then complain electricity bill high or the cost of replacement when spoil

mgx-alander

just 1 washing machine and spin dry

after that hang at kitchen hdb outdoor hanger, after hip must use ma

so difficult meh

Ethan_

Last time I stay in HDB, i just wash and dry using the washing machine and hang the clothes using the laundry rack hdb provides overnight in the yard. Singapore is too warm and by morning the clothes are more or less dry, otherwise leave them hanging until evening back from work, sure dry.

Nowadays i dont understand why people using the electrical rack then complain electricity bill high or the cost of replacement when spoil
Think day time best. As long as no rain. Chin chye hang out to let the wind blow also very fast dry. No need that many hours. But if cannot even afford a few hours of day time. Then llst have to hang indoor overnight lor.

rider83

Think day time best. As long as no rain. Chin chye hang out to let the wind blow also very fast dry. No need that many hours. But if cannot even afford a few hours of day time. Then llst have to hang indoor overnight lor.

HDB yard is very good, even rain also will dry. The HDB designers got it right for HDB yard, they know as long as no rain to hit the clothes, it will dry because Singapore weather is as such

Those automatic rack with heating element is just the “essential” as water filter tap in Singapore.

testerjp

For ease of use and durability.

Top load washer + floor racks. Just dry indoor.

Or get those pulley rack system that is attached to the ceiling.

Automatic is less durable but more convenient so up to u.

TopGun

Ultimately, the set up all depends on your use case.

E.g.
1 load of home clothes. 1 load of work wear, 1 load of bedding.

(1) Work wear go into the washer first, followed by handing up on Steigen or air dry.
(2) Followed by home clothes in the washer and dryer.
(3) And then bedding in the washer and dryer (dryer would be done by the time the bedding is done).

On a Sat, you finish (2) and (3) while (1) is ready for ironing on Sun.

Some people have more loads. Some people have a helper who can wash in the day and hang dry overnight on weekdays.

So there's no one size fits all. If you have no use of a dryer, by all means not buy one. But for some people, a dryer is necessary to cope with the load and/or lifestyle.

firsttimebuyer

We changed from outdoor drying to indoor drying (via dryer & automated drying rack).

Our experience is more or less the same as this article.

https://www.hometrust.sg/articles/dryer-vs-steigen-vs-laundry-rack-which-to-choose/

Long story short, we went back to outdoor sun drying when possible.
How did you attach it to the ceiling? Were the bolts and drill holes huge? I am worried that it may damage my HDB ceiling. I bought one online from Remode but now have buyer remorse before installation

firsttimebuyer

We changed from outdoor drying to indoor drying (via dryer & automated drying rack).

Our experience is more or less the same as this article.

https://www.hometrust.sg/articles/dryer-vs-steigen-vs-laundry-rack-which-to-choose/

Long story short, we went back to outdoor sun drying when possible.
How did you attach it to the ceiling? Were the bolts and drill holes huge? I am worried that it may damage my HDB ceiling. I bought one online from Remode but now have buyer remorse before installation

Meteor84

i dont like dryer. the clothes spoils very fast. i had one but end up seldom use also. only use it on towels to make them fluffy again. i rather invest in those laundry rack system if your kitchen/yard/balcony has the space for it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.