New mac pro... anyone?

FLiNcHY

buy online better. can click on educational pricing and get the base model for 8999rm. Save yourself another 700 rm

ralliart12

buy online better. can click on educational pricing and get the base model for 8999rm. Save yourself another 700 rm

May I have the link please? I can't load the Educational Pricing page on Apple Msia's site, much less one specific to the Mac Pro.

On the other hand, the Educational Pricing scheme does not seem to cover Mac Pro on SG's site.

Last but not least, I don't think they will accept non-Msia teaching/student credentials right (if ordering online via Apple Msia)?

Update: found the link, http://store.apple.com/my-k12/buy-mac/mac-pro, but please note the following conditions:

http://store.apple.com/my-k12/browse/open/salespolicies/edu#Eligibility

2. Eligibility

Those eligible to purchase from the Apple Store for Education Individuals include faculty, staff, students and parents as follows:

K12 - Any employee of a public or private K-12 institution in Malaysia is eligible. In addition, school board members who are currently serving as elected or appointed members are eligible. PTA or PTO executives currently serving as elected or appointed officers are eligible.

Higher Education - Faculty and staff of Higher Education institutions; and students attending, or accepted into a Higher Education institution are eligible to purchase. Purchases from the Apple Store for Education Individuals are not for institutional purchase or resale.

Higher Education Parents - Parents purchasing on behalf of their child, who is a student currently attending or accepted into a public or private Higher Education Institution in Malaysia, are eligible to purchase.
Return to Top

3. Malaysia Sales Only

Deliveries of Products will not be made outside Malaysia. You may not export any products purchased at the Apple Store.

FLiNcHY

find some one based in malaysia to buy for you.

i have relatives in KL so I can just ask them to buy and send to their place, then i pay them in ringgit.

The educational page is easily accessible from the Malaysia apple store. Don't they will do any checks on whether you are a student.

I always buy from the Singapore apple store using educational discount and they don't check as well

zoossh

singapore delivery is april too. actually had it been released in sg, then now no stock and delayed till april? or it had not been released before?

hacktic

saw the new macpro on display at epicenter today.
no one was paying attention to it so i helped myself at the corner

looks like a mini beast but jumping from a cheesegrater macpro to this would take getting used to since upgrades are not that friendly anymore.
looks like apple is shutting itself out from users getting cheaper 3rd party upgrades.

ralliart12

...looks like apple is shutting itself out from users getting cheaper 3rd party upgrades.

I assume those 3rd-party peripherals using thunderbolt interfaces will have to pay a royalty to Apple for every device sold, i.e. much like the lightning cable situation with the newer iDevices...that said, if I'm not wrong, some 3rd-party manufacturers are already making after-market expansion units for the internal PCIe-based flash memory (which, according to the user manual, seems to be intended for user-upgrades too).

negativzero

saw the new macpro on display at epicenter today.
no one was paying attention to it so i helped myself at the corner

looks like a mini beast but jumping from a cheesegrater macpro to this would take getting used to since upgrades are not that friendly anymore.
looks like apple is shutting itself out from users getting cheaper 3rd party upgrades.

Nope, the New Mac Pro is completely upgradeable except for its graphics card.
Mac Pro Late 2013 Teardown - iFixit

zoossh

I assume those 3rd-party peripherals using thunderbolt interfaces will have to pay a royalty to Apple for every device sold, i.e. much like the lightning cable situation with the newer iDevices...that said, if I'm not wrong, some 3rd-party manufacturers are already making after-market expansion units for the internal PCIe-based flash memory (which, according to the user manual, seems to be intended for user-upgrades too).

i'm just afraid the usb on macpro is unreliable, unstable and slow. using mac mini now as temporary measure, and once i plug in the usb 3 multibay enclosure, or the 8-usb2-hub, or the thunderbolt connection of the lacie thunderbolt-usb3 drive, my windows run very slowly and there is a significant lapse of keyboard response.

ralliart12

i'm just afraid the usb on macpro is unreliable, unstable and slow...

I really don't think it will be of poor quality; have you had poor prior experience with another Mac system to come to such conclusion? I believe if it's that bad, i.e. of poorer standards compared to other USB implementations on other competing platforms, the commercial customers will probably make noise already, not to mention the tech blogs.

...using mac mini now as temporary measure, and once i plug in the usb 3 multibay enclosure, or the 8-usb2-hub, or the thunderbolt connection of the lacie thunderbolt-usb3 drive, my windows run very slowly and there is a significant lapse of keyboard response.

Does any of your aforementioned devices exhibit similar negative performance impact if you are using them with your Mac mini booted into OSX?

...using mac mini now as temporary measure...

Have you another Windows non-Mac machine to plug your enclosure/USB-hub/Lacie drive in, again, to isolate if the issue lies with the peripheral/non-native installation of OS?

zoossh

previously had a imac 2009 version had usb issues but not as bad. now using mac mini 2012 version.

didnt try out on mac os, cos anyway i dun use mac os except for the itune player with the remote control while i jog.

ralliart12

previously had a imac 2009 version had usb issues but not as bad. now using mac mini 2012 version...

When you were having similar issues with your iMac, did you experience it with exactly the same few pieces of hardware, i.e. the hub, the Lacie drive & the multi-bay enclosure? Were you using those peripherals in OSX?

didnt try out on mac os, cos anyway i dun use mac os except for the itune player with the remote control while i jog.

Wait...How do you use OSX while you jog? :s11::s11:

Anyway, if you wanna find out if the problems you are facing lies with the external devices themselves, or the Mac, do try using them on other Windows PC, e.g. Plug the drive into a friend's laptop PC to evaluate if any lag is experienced.

Or boot into OSX on your present Mac Mini, & see if the same performance hit occurs. If no lag occurs, it could imply that the drivers provided under boot camp for your particular set of peripherals, aren't very optimized.

Parka

previously had a imac 2009 version had usb issues but not as bad. now using mac mini 2012 version.

If you had the 2009 iMac, why not upgrade to the new iMac?
Unless you're using getting the Mac Pro for the video editing?
You'll save a lot more by getting the iMac.

Are you using the Fusion Drive version of the Mac Mini?

Also, thunderbolt connection will be faster than internal storage unless it's a PCIe storage like the nMP. But that's irrelevant unless you want to data off the storage fast, i.e. for video work at least 1080p on a regular basis, i.e. daily.

You use Windows on the Mac more than Mac OS?

zoossh

When you were having similar issues with your iMac, did you experience it with exactly the same few pieces of hardware, i.e. the hub, the Lacie drive & the multi-bay enclosure? Were you using those peripherals in OSX?

i dun use os x, so even if it work with os x also no point.

Wait...How do you use OSX while you jog? :s11::s11:

had a threadmill. and an apple remote control. it only works with os x, which is the only reason i use bootcamp and os x.

If no lag occurs, it could imply that the drivers provided under boot camp for your particular set of peripherals, aren't very optimized.

sian 1/2

zoossh

If you had the 2009 iMac, why not upgrade to the new iMac?
Unless you're using getting the Mac Pro for the video editing?
You'll save a lot more by getting the iMac.

i'm hoping that i'm paying for reliability and speed in a macpro. but if it is a bootcamp driver issue that apple is not going to bother then i will be hesistant on getting a macpro. but deep down i really like the small size macpro. i already had a big screen so dun wan to waste it.

Are you using the Fusion Drive version of the Mac Mini?

i think not.

You use Windows on the Mac more than Mac OS?

cos more intuitive.

Snoweagle

Finally saw the new Mac Pro on display at Epicentre JEM yesterday and a true beauty it is! Just that the price ain't so beautiful. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.