New Scam Variants

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

rarenick

I think we should list down the latest scam variants for awareness.

Recent encounter in Jan 2025:
Scammer impersonate as bank's Anti-fraud officer, quoting your name and NRIC number (last few digits), and informing you that they suspect your identity has been stolen as someone applied (via SingPass) for and used the credit card in your name. Scammer will then ask if the fictitious mailing address and email address are correct or not. If incorrect, they deem it as a fraud and request that you make a trip to a specific address/place to update your particulars with their anti fraud dept and also lodge a fraud report to MAS. They will emphasise the urgency of the matter, as the identity thief has charged some significant amount of money to your account, so that you will make a trip to meet them.

DJ Pork Chop

Scammer impersonate as bank's Anti-fraud officer, quoting your name and NRIC number, and informing you that they suspect your identity has been stolen as someone applied for credit card in your name. Scammer will then ask if the fictitious mailing address and email address are correct or not. If incorrectly, they deem that this is a fraud and request that you make a trip to a specific address/place to update your particulars with their anti fraud dept. They will emphasise the urgency of the matter so that you will make a trip to meet them.
wah, quote name and nric i havent encounter.

issit the kind they call u, when u pick up, is a person on the other end already?

most of the kind i kenna is automated voice recording, then i kup by that time.
my google phone oso help to identify scam calls that other people reported now so i see liao wont even pick up

rarenick

issit the kind they call u, when u pick up, is a person on the other end already?
my google phone oso help to identify scam calls that other people reported now so i see liao wont even pick up

Yes, real person speaking to u.

rarenick

So fast the person getted nric from the gahment website?
frown.gif

Scammer quoted last 4 digits of NRIC.

Mr Duck

Scammer impersonate as bank's Anti-fraud officer, quoting your name and NRIC number (last few digits), and informing you that they suspect your identity has been stolen as someone applied for and used the credit card in your name. Scammer will then ask if the fictitious mailing address and email address are correct or not. If incorrect, they deem it as a fraud and request that you make a trip to a specific address/place to update your particulars with their anti fraud dept. They will emphasise the urgency of the matter, as the identity thieve has charged some significant amount of money to your account, so that you will make a trip to meet them.
Normally bank won't call you for this lah. If got credit card issue is the person call bank lah. You very naive. Only ***** will believed.

SayPorkGuy

imma always hang up and call the bank back.

Laneige

Yes. Use another official source to verify. Don't use any link or phone number provided by the caller.
Ya yesterday GE send link to my parent
I told him don’t anyhow click
Just in case the link seem genuine but who knows if misspell one word or add one more dot n not genuine site n got issues thereafter

Better check official one but need google don’t anyhow bring fraudulent sites to the top

rarenick

So what’s the purpose of this
Is to verify real address or go down liao cheat

The focus was to trick you to go to their office. I suspect u might not be able to find and then call back the person. From there, the scammer will likely start to manipulate the victim.

addict951

Scammer impersonate as bank's Anti-fraud officer, quoting your name and NRIC number (last few digits), and informing you that they suspect your identity has been stolen as someone applied for and used the credit card in your name. Scammer will then ask if the fictitious mailing address and email address are correct or not. If incorrect, they deem it as a fraud and request that you make a trip to a specific address/place to update your particulars with their anti fraud dept. They will emphasise the urgency of the matter, as the identity thief has charged some significant amount of money to your account, so that you will make a trip to meet them.
This scammer got what accent ar?

Laneige

The focus was to trick you to go to their office. I suspect u might not be able to find and then call back the person. From there, the scammer will likely start to manipulate the victim.

inform parents n friends Bank when dealing with fraudulent case
That time my card get compromised
They just locked the card and told me to call xxx numbers

They won’t ask ppl to go down
Even if go down also go official branches

Those fraud depts are always BACK END jobs???

Once when I was picking up passport the guy asking someone called him etc say passport issues n able to provide the correct infor then he scared it’s real so go down check
Ica told him is fake or scam
But I don’t know if they took this case n ensure they use this eg to educate others or it’s normal day in n out encounter they also sian liao
Go find them is ok
Go find scammers then jialat

IAmChiobu12M

Scammer impersonate as bank's Anti-fraud officer, quoting your name and NRIC number (last few digits), and informing you that they suspect your identity has been stolen as someone applied for and used the credit card in your name. Scammer will then ask if the fictitious mailing address and email address are correct or not. If incorrect, they deem it as a fraud and request that you make a trip to a specific address/place to update your particulars with their anti fraud dept. They will emphasise the urgency of the matter, as the identity thief has charged some significant amount of money to your account, so that you will make a trip to meet them.
Thanks for sharing. This is actually quite high level leh.

IAmChiobu12M

Ya yesterday GE send link to my parent
I told him don’t anyhow click
Just in case the link seem genuine but who knows if misspell one word or add one more dot n not genuine site n got issues thereafter

Better check official one but need google don’t anyhow bring fraudulent sites to the top
These days I usually more careful with links will use those websites to check if is officially link then click.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.