[NEWS] Book an appointment at polyclinic is now like fighting for concert tickets

ST Optimist

Some company only allow medical claim from government clinic or hospital, no appt can be a nightmare wait at polyclinic, that why many flock to A&E , waiting time shorter than Polyclinic. I myslf having flu and fever also went straight to A&E . Hell MOH , see polyclinic also need appt, I go hospital faster and also can claim
Appt is to help u manage your time....last time without this system....everybody go polyclinic early early to get Q number ...end up first u have to wait to get Q number....then after Q number.....wait to see doctor....is the same....now u no need wait to get Q number .....just go to their kiosk on the day u sick.....ownself get number to see doctor ....as long as u go to the kiosk to get number, definitely can get to see doctor on that day....of course same like past .....have to wait if u go late.....want to see doctor early have to go early .....app appointment is different from kiosk appointment...I long time never use liao ...on the day u sick , high chance app appointment no slot ....but u go straight to polyclinic kiosk sure have.......only the timing is depend on your luck

camoguysg

Yes I did , you can scold me if you want for hogging the A&E but I tried before going to polyclinic without appt , 9am reg and manage to see a doctor at 4pm . My coy doesn’t allow me to claim from Private clinic .
I can understand the pain of waiting. I walked in once with my mum to seek treatment at polyclinic and the waiting time is a killer. (There was a reason why she had to go there without an appointment though i cant recall). On another note, I'm not entirely certain if it is against the law for an employer to prevent an employee from seeking medical treatment and claim from a registered GP . May want to approach with MOM on this https://www.mom.gov.sg/faq/work-injury-compensation/can-employees-get-medical-treatment-from-a-different-doctor-from-the-one-chosen-by-the-employer#:~:text=Yes.,those chosen by the employer

EDMW-Hates-Me

~50% population is foreigners. But many "expert replies" implied public hospitals/ polyclinics are hogged citizens looking for subsidies. I am so impressed.

Everyone know private hospital can arrange operation within days instead of months of waiting. And they accomplish this despite attending to the ~50% foreigners who "expert replies" suggest did not hog public hospitals. If this is the case, time to investigate public healthcare liao. If this is not the case, can the "experts" first address the root cause?
Foreigners on employment passes are mostly young and fit. Once they lose their ability to work, it's time for them to go back.

PRs do use our public hospitals. They get subsidy, just not as much as us.

Some foreigners, including prs, try to go back to their homeland to see doctor if they can.

F3Rm1nat0r

Appt is to help u manage your time....last time without this system....everybody go polyclinic early early to get Q number ...end up first u have to wait to get Q number....then after Q number.....wait to see doctor....is the same....now u no need wait to get Q number .....just go to their kiosk on the day u sick.....ownself get number to see doctor ....as long as u go to the kiosk to get number, definitely can get to see doctor on that day....of course same like past .....have to wait if u go late.....want to see doctor early have to go early .....app appointment is different from kiosk appointment...I long time never use liao ...on the day u sick , high chance app appointment no slot ....but u go straight to polyclinic kiosk sure have.......only the timing is depend on your luck
good explanation

coldish

Aiyah just admit you don't like PAP 6mil so everything about PAP is bad. :s13:

I tell you I had deaths within my family and friends the last 5 years. All the EDMW perception about public hospitals are just rubbish.

Some queues yes. But the patients I knew had their treatment eventually.
I admit I don't like PAP n 6mil so?
Does that mean what I said about polyclinics and hospitals are false?
And only u have people dying around you..wow

I did not say anyone did not get their treatment did I?
Otherwise why did the Chinese papers say about this?

Hello_Kitty

so where is the improvement in the process???

drkcynic

Does Poor and vulnerable means that whatever services they need needs to be served on a platter for them? If they are alone, then they need to make their way to the Polyclinic or even gp clinic. If they are that sick til they can't walk then they have to call for ambulance.

As for u, u seems to be shifting the target group from ur mum to the poor and vulnerable as the discussion progresses. Trying to shift the goal posts? 🤣🤣🤣
I have stopped playing the music Mr bull.

drkcynic

Wah… you so good to them. 20K per year ish a lot sia… one parent would cost you about $10K insurance premium to pay per year then? May I know how old your parents are?

If moi parent only got hospitalization plan for up to B1 ward (I think), cannot upgrade the plan liao right if say age is 64 like that? Or no point upgrading, just pay in cash if need to go to private hospital urgently for whatever reasons (if say touch wood next time)?
I guess you have to decide yourself how much you can afford. I have seen how public health services are so decided if can afford just save them the agony of waiting.

For my parents if they downgrade or change insurer now they won't be able to get private coverage in future because of age. At least alot of their pre-existing conditions would not be covered by then. They are in their 70s and we been buying the same since their 60s. I think back then it was 11-12k for both only. So it will only go up.

Mecisteus

I admit I don't like PAP n 6mil so?
Does that mean what I said about polyclinics and hospitals are false?
And only u have people dying around you..wow

I did not say anyone did not get their treatment did I?
Otherwise why did the Chinese papers say about this?
Ok when you don't like, your judgement becomes bias.

Just saying.

OK Singapore newspaper becomes source of truth now ?

I thought standard is very low ?

Only low when reading news you don't like ?

Suddenly becomes truth when news is something you like.

Did you see the level hypocrisy ?

drkcynic

Doesn't matter.

You can still take charge and book appointment for your mom polyclinic.

I have the singpass of my parents, uncle and grandmother.
The problem is my mum didn't even tell me she was sick until she got rejected at the polyclinic and then called me for help. She also fell sick the night before and decided to seek treatment in the morning because she cannot tahan, explained in post #124.

Good for you everyone relies on you for their issues.

My parents always want to avoid troubling the kids. Like I said they are stubborn. Every household also got their own problems.

qhong61

The problem is my mum didn't even tell me she was sick until she got rejected at the polyclinic and then called me for help. She also fell sick the night before and decided to seek treatment in the morning because she cannot tahan, explained in post #124.

Good for you everyone relies on you for their issues.

My parents always want to avoid troubling the kids. Like I said they are stubborn. Every household also got their own problems.
How often do u call ur mum?

matrix05

Aiya just admit that polyclinics cannot cope with the 6mil pop
Even private clinics, hospitals cannot handle when Covid cases rises.
Agree. There is no need to help TikTok Ong find excuses, because he has a team of highly paid PS to do so. He needs to do more, think of solutions and implement.
Edmw already FoC suggested several solutions: 1 open poly on Sat and Sunday. 2 poly open late till 8 daily. 3 Open satellite poly clinics, like pte clinic, to supplement overcrowded poly. 4 Better communicate CHAS pricing & charges of pte clinic, so old ppl know they won't get overcharged.

shodan99

It's just a figure of speech. How often do you go to the hospital if you have a fever of say 38.5, coughing and sneezing? And if you are poor, with no hospitalisation insurance?

Ultimately you are deemed as non emergency case.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/high-number-of-patients-at-aes-at-cgh-and-skh
I donno about your case. But once my mom was at the Polyclinic for an appointment. But a nurse there identified her as potentially having a stroke. The doctors there immediately attended to her and convey her to the hospital for further treatment.

So quite thankful for the quick actions by the Polyclinic

mummynew

I donno about your case. But once my mom was at the Polyclinic for an appointment. But a nurse there identified her as potentially having a stroke. The doctors there immediately attended to her and convey her to the hospital for further treatment.

Your mum must be a very kind woman to meet such 贵人。

I would say maybe out of 10 such patients, 5 would be luckily picked up / identified while the other 5 falling through the cracks.

So, need to depend on LUCK = some say polyclinic good while other say no good.

drkcynic

If you have an appointment I don't doubt they will treat you properly even if you might still have to wait.

The issue is people who have not made appointments, either they fell sick last minute or they don't know how to make an appointment. As per topic, even if know how to make appointment also need to fight.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.