[NEWS] Book an appointment at polyclinic is now like fighting for concert tickets

Monstruo^

My old folks are stubborn. I pay almost 20k every year for private hospitalisation coverage but they insist on going to public hospitals.

It is what it is.

For illiterate old folks without families or are estranged, I don't what they are to do.
Wah… you so good to them. 20K per year ish a lot sia… one parent would cost you about $10K insurance premium to pay per year then? May I know how old your parents are?

If moi parent only got hospitalization plan for up to B1 ward (I think), cannot upgrade the plan liao right if say age is 64 like that? Or no point upgrading, just pay in cash if need to go to private hospital urgently for whatever reasons (if say touch wood next time)?

coldish

Oh you are such a mighty debater. I concede defeat. Happy now?
Well I am actually happy that we do have some common grounds despite all the differences.
Have a good day, can't be worse living in a Singapore with 65% of you.

LoneTraveller

Foreigners do not go to polyclinics. Period.

Private hospital can have lesser waiting time because people have to pay more. Many have already mentioned, those being treated at private hospital, they will be sent to government hospital still the moment any complications surface, because government hospital are the best equipped. The worse situation is that, when the private patients are sent from private hospital to government hospital, they will be paying private rates and being treated by government hospitals. That's why public hospitals/polyclinics are indeed used by Singaporeans mostly. Because the Singapore government is indeed providing affordable public healthcare. But affordable public healthcare means everyone has to follow their protocol of screenings and allocation of the resources.
Nope. There are plenty of foreigners including blue nric holders who frequent Polyclinics even though they might not have subsidized medical care. They are there mainly because their companies insisted on them to be there to get mc eg the bangalas.

SGM8888K

Some company only allow medical claim from government clinic or hospital, no appt can be a nightmare wait at polyclinic, that why many flock to A&E , waiting time shorter than Polyclinic. I myslf having flu and fever also went straight to A&E . Hell MOH , see polyclinic also need appt, I go hospital faster and also can claim

beano

I thought someone said our medical system is world class?

iammole

your neighourhood GP clinic can refer to specialised clinics in govt hospital without going through polyclinic.
Just apply the Green Chas card , everyone (Sinkies) can apply for one.
you will still get subsidised
bounce.gif

Green chas card is near to being useless.

GP's referral letter at Public hospital is non-subsidised rate. only polyclinic's referral is subsidised rate.

kevinlaikf

What is the difference between private family clinic vs polyclinic.
Family Doc wrote a referral letter to polyclinic for X-ray of lower hip.
I went to polyclinic, before registration, I ask for pricing. It was $200+, I took out my mobile and login Health buddy App, book a doc consultation to ask for X-ray. This time it cost only $29(+ $20+ earlier doc consultation)

Sent from my friend's mobile phone.

MajiMax

Green chas card is near to being useless.

GP's referral letter at Public hospital is non-subsidised rate. only polyclinic's referral is subsidised rate.
Subsidy level is based on Monthly Per Capita Household Income (PCHI).

https://www.moh.gov.sg/managing-exp...atient-care-at-public-healthcare-institutions

Who is eligible?​

Singapore Citizens and Permanent Residents who are referred from eligible referral sources are eligible for Specialist Outpatient Clinic subsidies. Examples are:

• A&E
  • Inpatient
  • Day surgery
  • Subsidised SOC
  • Polyclinics
  • CHAS GP clinics
The above list of eligible referral sources is not exhaustive. You are encouraged to check with your healthcare providers on your subsidy eligibility.

Mecisteus

My old folks are stubborn. I pay almost 20k every year for private hospitalisation coverage but they insist on going to public hospitals.

It is what it is.

For illiterate old folks without families or are estranged, I don't what they are to do.
Doesn't matter.

You can still take charge and book appointment for your mom polyclinic.

I have the singpass of my parents, uncle and grandmother.

Mecisteus

Aiya just admit that polyclinics cannot cope with the 6mil pop
Even private clinics, hospitals cannot handle when Covid cases rises.
Aiyah just admit you don't like PAP 6mil so everything about PAP is bad. :s13:

I tell you I had deaths within my family and friends the last 5 years. All the EDMW perception about public hospitals are just rubbish.

Some queues yes. But the patients I knew had their treatment eventually.

LoneTraveller

We have been talking about the poor and vulnerable, he is talking about whatever he is talking about.

Wire cannot link. So better leave him be.
Does Poor and vulnerable means that whatever services they need needs to be served on a platter for them? If they are alone, then they need to make their way to the Polyclinic or even gp clinic. If they are that sick til they can't walk then they have to call for ambulance.

As for u, u seems to be shifting the target group from ur mum to the poor and vulnerable as the discussion progresses. Trying to shift the goal posts? 🤣🤣🤣

coyote

Some company only allow medical claim from government clinic or hospital, no appt can be a nightmare wait at polyclinic, that why many flock to A&E , waiting time shorter than Polyclinic. I myslf having flu and fever also went straight to A&E . Hell MOH , see polyclinic also need appt, I go hospital faster and also can claim

Flu and fever also go A&E?🤔

SGM8888K

Yes I did , you can scold me if you want for hogging the A&E but I tried before going to polyclinic without appt , 9am reg and manage to see a doctor at 4pm . My coy doesn’t allow me to claim from Private clinic .

coyote

Aiyah just admit you don't like PAP 6mil so everything about PAP is bad. :s13:

I tell you I had deaths within my family and friends the last 5 years. All the EDMW perception about public hospitals are just rubbish.

Some queues yes. But the patients I knew had their treatment eventually.

Exactly. Well said.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.