News| The 5% transport fare hike is 'measured and considerate', say experts as commuters dismayed

alex22

nah… paying the ‘useless’ ceo exorbitant pay is already diverting all the profits away…
just like gst needs to keep increasing to support profligate spending…
Pofma chiu

GST is to halp the poor. Not profligate spending

thekh21

P transport for masses.Hike with f1 bus drivers whom drove caused ppl to fall .Top up 10$ train one or two days already liao

chiokcc

A few rules I wish they change :

1. If someone enter MRT gate and exit within 5min at the same station, no charge. Sometimes realise wrong station, or need to run last min errands.
2. If someone exit the MRT gate, and re-enter within 15min at the same station, consider continuation of same trip, not new trip as current rule. For someone who needs to use the toilet, this will be helpful, especially the MRT network is getting longer with longer traveling time.
3. Current rule, if you take bus service number "x", alight, and board bus service "x" again consecutively, consider as a re-set and new trip. Should consider it as a "transfer", and part of the existing trip.

alex22

A few rules I wish they change :

1. If someone enter MRT gate and exit within 5min at the same station, no charge. Sometimes realise wrong station, or need to run last min errands.
2. If someone exit the MRT gate, and re-enter within 15min at the same station, consider continuation of same trip, not new trip as current rule. For someone who needs to use the toilet, this will be helpful, especially the MRT network is getting longer with longer traveling time.
3. Current rule, if you take bus service number "x", alight, and board bus service "x" again consecutively, consider as a re-set and new trip. Should consider it as a "transfer", and part of the existing trip.
Sometime enter fare gate liao then suddenly want to pangsai have to go out again

Linguist

Fare increase is 'measured', say experts​

Transport analyst Terence Fan from Singapore Management University told TNP that the fare increase is "measured and considerate", noting actual that the increase is well below the ceiling.

"Many people may not actually experience an increase. They might even register a reduction in the transport fare," Prof Fan said, pointing out that the average commuter may end up paying only a few dollars more each month.

In particular, he emphasised that the price of monthly travel passes will be reduced by six dollars, which has not happened before. "For those who have been using public transport very heavily, it will actually translate into a small reduction in their monthly expense," Prof Fan said.

Walter Theseira, head of the urban transportation programme at the Singapore University of Social Sciences, said that the fare increase is not necessarily about boosting operator profits, but about keeping the cost-sharing balance between commuters and taxpayers stable.

"The fares are too low for operators to make profits from the fare, and today operators receive Government subsidies to cover the difference between fares and costs," said Prof Theseira.

"The money must come from somewhere, and if it doesn't come from your fares, it will definitely come from the taxpayer."

Balancing cost and reliability​

Prof Theseira also emphasised the need to balance system costs with reliable service, pointing out that there is an inherent trade-off between the two. Ultimately, commuters and taxpayers pay for cost-ineffective increases in maintenance.

He added that an increase in emphasis on quality could explain the rising cost of maintaining the transport system, with the addition of new MRT lines and bus services in recent years, while ridership has not increased by as much.

Prof Fan echoed this, noting that rising energy costs, wages, and retail prices all contribute to the increase in fares.

He added that as the public transport network grows, service disruptions may appear more frequent: "We now have six lines instead of two. So if in the past, we only had one disruption a year, now we should expect one every two months."

Will transport fares continue to increase?​

Both experts added that prices are likely to increase in the coming years, although Prof Fan noted that fare hikes are unlikely to rise above 9 per cent.

"Can we do better? Yes, I think so. But what we have now is already very good," he added.

https://www.tnp.sg/news/5-transport...nd-considerate-say-experts-commuters-dismayed
r2K8VVw.png

priore

Har!?!?

"So if in the past, we only had one disruption a year, now we should expect one every two months."

Prof Fan, hello!?? Anything there between ur ears??

ARE U HEARING URSELF?

Oh so this now simply just a math probability right? In the past lesser lines we had only 1 disruption a year. Now more lines = MORE FREQUENT???

ARE YOU HEARING YOUR OWN LOGIC?

Maintenance is Divided by number of lines?? So this is abt numbers and not abt QUALITY??? Is this how u justify frequency of disruption? Capacity for lines grow but maintenance capacity cannot grow issit?

This level of thinking can become prof???

Nothing to say best is don't say - nobody will think you are mute.

---

Eh Bro Fan, I heard last time population not so much, hospital no over capacity issue. Now population increase, then naturally we will over capacity. Suck it up la Hor?

Dunnid to build more hosp, no need for Ng Teng Fong, no need for KTPH. No need to grow one, just a math thing - more ppl, less capacity, it's like that one, just gotta accept it, just gotta suck it up.

---

Bro Fan, last time only got T1 and T2 at Changi. As we got more developed, more ppl wanna visit SG. We should have just stuck with 2 terminals la Hor? Dunnid to cater for them la, let's forgo tourist revenue. It's a problem but let it be lor, it's ok. Let the problem be.

No need build T3, no need build T4. Suck it up la Hor? Mybfd.

Satki thinking lei.

priore

"Can we do better? Yes, I think so. But what we have now is already very good," he added.

Bro Fan, really, nothing better to say just keep your mouth shut. Really.

Don't give ur recruiter a reason to dig up whether ur educational qualifications are legit or not. This shouldn't be the level of intellectual capability for a prof.

standarture

The Professor basically can only talk cock. He doesn't have access to the operators balance sheets and LTA's contract.

He added that as the public transport network grows, service disruptions may appear more frequent: "We now have six lines instead of two. So if in the past, we only had one disruption a year, now we should expect one every two months."

This one is a load of rubbish. SG lines are standalone, zero complexity, only during rush hour got some decent load. Yet still got signalling problems and other nonsense. We are talking about brand new underground lines barely10 years old, sheltered from weather!!!! There are chronic issues in the design philosophy that are going ignored. Software issues cannot be excused! Hardware issues must be properly maintained.

kitaeshi

No increase how to pay for the 5 experts... Same like how can HDB dun rise price every yrs becoz every yr 20k people become new citizen and 34k become pr n x amt ppl married but HDB only build 20k hdb a year. They have the data but still no improvement on it.

pohw0008

Har!?!?

"So if in the past, we only had one disruption a year, now we should expect one every two months."

Prof Fan, hello!?? Anything there between ur ears??

ARE U HEARING URSELF?

Oh so this now simply just a math probability right? In the past lesser lines we had only 1 disruption a year. Now more lines = MORE FREQUENT???

ARE YOU HEARING YOUR OWN LOGIC?

Maintenance is Divided by number of lines?? So this is abt numbers and not abt QUALITY??? Is this how u justify frequency of disruption? Capacity for lines grow but maintenance capacity cannot grow issit?

This level of thinking can become prof???

Nothing to say best is don't say - nobody will think you are mute.

---

Eh Bro Fan, I heard last time population not so much, hospital no over capacity issue. Now population increase, then naturally we will over capacity. Suck it up la Hor?

Dunnid to build more hosp, no need for Ng Teng Fong, no need for KTPH. No need to grow one, just a math thing - more ppl, less capacity, it's like that one, just gotta accept it, just gotta suck it up.

---

Bro Fan, last time only got T1 and T2 at Changi. As we got more developed, more ppl wanna visit SG. We should have just stuck with 2 terminals la Hor? Dunnid to cater for them la, let's forgo tourist revenue. It's a problem but let it be lor, it's ok. Let the problem be.

No need build T3, no need build T4. Suck it up la Hor? Mybfd.

Satki thinking lei.
Probability is correct what.. you add the probability of each line failure so the probability should increase? No meh.. 😂

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.