News| The 5% transport fare hike is 'measured and considerate', say experts as commuters dismayed

I_m_limpeh

Fare increase is 'measured', say experts​

Transport analyst Terence Fan from Singapore Management University told TNP that the fare increase is "measured and considerate", noting actual that the increase is well below the ceiling.

"Many people may not actually experience an increase. They might even register a reduction in the transport fare," Prof Fan said, pointing out that the average commuter may end up paying only a few dollars more each month.

In particular, he emphasised that the price of monthly travel passes will be reduced by six dollars, which has not happened before. "For those who have been using public transport very heavily, it will actually translate into a small reduction in their monthly expense," Prof Fan said.

Walter Theseira, head of the urban transportation programme at the Singapore University of Social Sciences, said that the fare increase is not necessarily about boosting operator profits, but about keeping the cost-sharing balance between commuters and taxpayers stable.

"The fares are too low for operators to make profits from the fare, and today operators receive Government subsidies to cover the difference between fares and costs," said Prof Theseira.

"The money must come from somewhere, and if it doesn't come from your fares, it will definitely come from the taxpayer."

Balancing cost and reliability​

Prof Theseira also emphasised the need to balance system costs with reliable service, pointing out that there is an inherent trade-off between the two. Ultimately, commuters and taxpayers pay for cost-ineffective increases in maintenance.

He added that an increase in emphasis on quality could explain the rising cost of maintaining the transport system, with the addition of new MRT lines and bus services in recent years, while ridership has not increased by as much.

Prof Fan echoed this, noting that rising energy costs, wages, and retail prices all contribute to the increase in fares.

He added that as the public transport network grows, service disruptions may appear more frequent: "We now have six lines instead of two. So if in the past, we only had one disruption a year, now we should expect one every two months."

Will transport fares continue to increase?​

Both experts added that prices are likely to increase in the coming years, although Prof Fan noted that fare hikes are unlikely to rise above 9 per cent.

"Can we do better? Yes, I think so. But what we have now is already very good," he added.

https://www.tnp.sg/news/5-transport...nd-considerate-say-experts-commuters-dismayed

If EDMWers are not transport or economics expert, please refrain from complaining.

EdenHazard

All these experts are driving? Do they understand the brutality of public transport? I am on NEL towards harbourfront now and the train is absolutely packed to the brim. The bawu is beyond description.

Encouragesome1

I only spend $50 - $60 per month on bus trips :(

confirm lugi if buy the monthly concession :(

they should reduce to $60
Policy maker should consider benefit to mass 80% or more la , they cannot because of us 5-20% want to make the thing like this or that … we can’t think nano focused

ShinnAsuka

Concession is overpriced. Reduction of something overpriced can still say it positively is strange for experts.

If go find the bio of these experts, MSM just get mouthpieces and people who are not on the ground to gaslight le.

byfun

Sinkie pwn sinkie...

Those dont drive say rising coe bo their taichi, those that drive say public transport cost hike also bo their taichi .

Good endless loop of hikes for all unless you only walk or cycle as your mode of transport. 😂

Can only say sinkies deserve it.

Travis_Touchdown

it is always about perspective aint it.

the govt is always increasing fare in the perspective of the operators, ensuring them that they have increasing profits.

whilst the commuters suffer from endless breakdowns and overcrowding

This ish machiamz rewarding breakdowns... :s22::frown:

grevq80o

Transport analyst Terence Fan from Singapore Management University told TNP that the fare increase is "measured and considerate", noting actual that the increase is well below the ceiling.

"Many people may not actually experience an increase. They might even register a reduction in the transport fare," Prof Fan said, pointing out that the average commuter may end up paying only a few dollars more each month.

In particular, he emphasised that the price of monthly travel passes will be reduced by six dollars, which has not happened before. "For those who have been using public transport very heavily, it will actually translate into a small reduction in their monthly expense," Prof Fan said.

Walter Theseira, head of the urban transportation programme at the Singapore University of Social Sciences, said that the fare increase is not necessarily about boosting operator profits, but about keeping the cost-sharing balance between commuters and taxpayers stable.

"The fares are too low for operators to make profits from the fare, and today operators receive Government subsidies to cover the difference between fares and costs," said Prof Theseira.

"The money must come from somewhere, and if it doesn't come from your fares, it will definitely come from the taxpayer."

Prof Theseira also emphasised the need to balance system costs with reliable service, pointing out that there is an inherent trade-off between the two. Ultimately, commuters and taxpayers pay for cost-ineffective increases in maintenance.

He added that an increase in emphasis on quality could explain the rising cost of maintaining the transport system, with the addition of new MRT lines and bus services in recent years, while ridership has not increased by as much.

Prof Fan echoed this, noting that rising energy costs, wages, and retail prices all contribute to the increase in fares.

He added that as the public transport network grows, service disruptions may appear more frequent: "We now have six lines instead of two. So if in the past, we only had one disruption a year, now we should expect one every two months."

Both experts added that prices are likely to increase in the coming years, although Prof Fan noted that fare hikes are unlikely to rise above 9 per cent.

"Can we do better? Yes, I think so. But what we have now is already very good," he added.

https://www.tnp.sg/news/5-transport...nd-considerate-say-experts-commuters-dismayed
Nothing will change lah. Unless u vote out this gov or vote enuf oppo to have some power to speak on ur behalf. Sinkie need kpkb ur col increase quality of life decrease. Cuz PAP refuse to use their power to make ur transport better. .. to them peasants suffering is normal and is expected... say simi we society and better happy life is just say say only. Cuz Say no need $.

these so called sexperts / analyst wear white shirt white trousers whth black belt sibo???

Terraces

Mrt got lousy service also can increase fare? Doesn't follow the logic? But this only could happen in sg? Song dah sinkies?

Quala98

these 'experts" and those so called "Transport analyst" probably drives to work...

larking8

The sinkies finally get their wish becos they voted for this increase... All sinkies should rejoice over the increase

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.