News| “The day she died, we died”: Mother of teen who died on school trip to the Maldives

Dudick

If Maldives authorities don't cooperate.. how to move on? If u really want to put the blame, it will be the tour operators?
Why the tour operators? Not the person who sign the consent form for the kid to go overseas meh?

if tour operators can guarantee safety, then why need insurance?

haveyourcake

I'm quite surprise MOE simply dont care just because the school is private

Singapore's Ministry of Education (MOE) said on Tuesday it would not be investigating SJII’s handling of the incident, citing adherence to the school's overseas trip safety protocols. MOE also noted that SJII, as a privately funded school, operates independently of the mainstream education system.
isn't it their choice to send their kid to a private school with non-standard syllabus? how is it fair that they choose to send their kids off for these expensive trips but MOE has to expend extra manpower and logistics to make sure everything run swee swee for them?

when times are good, parents tell MOE to fk off cos they private dont need to adhere. got sh!t hit the fan cry mother cry father to MOE. MOE can and should only give them the bare minimum level of guidelines to adhere to - after all, they private entity right? if they run the school like sai then market forces will make sure they go bankrupt sooner or later.

standarture

isn't it their choice to send their kid to a private school with non-standard syllabus? how is it fair that they choose to send their kids off for these expensive trips but MOE has to expend extra manpower and logistics to make sure everything run swee swee for them?

when times are good, parents tell MOE to fk off cos they private dont need to adhere. got sh!t hit the fan cry mother cry father to MOE. MOE can and should only give them the bare minimum level of guidelines to adhere to - after all, they private entity right? if they run the school like sai then market forces will make sure they go bankrupt sooner or later.
Yup. They already pay insane school fees to private schools. Dont use my taxpayer money.

Taloona

Why the tour operators? Not the person who sign the consent form for the kid to go overseas meh?

if tour operators can guarantee safety, then why need insurance?
In some 3rd world countries, the safety protocols for this type of activities are almost non existent. Some insurance don't cover high risk activities such as diving and bungee jump.

The school has a lot to answer for if they had chosen a third party vendor for such a risky activity without looking at the safety records or protocols of the vendor.

If you are a teacher, you would know that before any outdoor activity, the teacher has to do a RAM - Risk Assessment Measure to make sure you cover your own backside.

lifeisinforashock

Singapore's Ministry of Education (MOE) said on Tuesday it would not be investigating SJII’s handling of the incident, citing adherence to the school's overseas trip safety protocols. MOE also noted that SJII, as a privately funded school, operates independently of the mainstream education system.

Indeed farnie reply. Same as MOM shld nt interfere how pte companies hire n fire coz they are private as well ?

ribena.bing

In some 3rd world countries, the safety protocols for this type of activities are almost non existent. Some insurance don't cover high risk activities such as diving and bungee jump.

The school has a lot to answer for if they had chosen a third party vendor for such a risky activity without looking at the safety records or protocols of the vendor.

If you are a teacher, you would know that before any outdoor activity, the teacher has to do a RAM - Risk Assessment Measure to make sure you cover your own backside.

but these RAM are non existent in private schools right

and these parents signed their kids for such schools. signed the consent forms for their kids to go overseas.

they would have read the itinerary

i dont know. surgeon too busy with work liao. prioritize everything over the child. now cry alr too late. never think through properly

focus1974

We voted for it.
You don't have strong opposition presence in Parliament.
This is what you get.

This is like businesses fighting for consumers attention and money.

When a business knows it's a monopoly and consumers will pay whatever to get their product, the monopoly will just give you the lowest value for your money and will brush off your feedback as complaints.

However, when the monopoly knows consumers are actually buying more of a competitor's products and could potentially destroy their monopoly, the monopoly will go out to crush the competitor as well as to upgrade their value proposition to the consumers to increase the switching cost for the consumers.

Vote wisely.. daft sinkies.

So in this alternate world where the opposition with a seizable presence and the ruling party knowing the opposition has a seizable voter base. The ruling party will try to make the first mover advantage to address the issues. They will demand accountability and punished the principals and whoever down the chain. This is to prevent the opposition from getting more trust from the voter base as well as to prevent the ruling party itself from looking bad and increasing votes lost. When departments know they will not be protected if guilty, service standards will improve.

Vote wisely ...daft sinkies. So much education for you and you are still daft. haiz.
No wonder we need foreigners.

elloz123

Issue is the there's no SOP from the school to ensure there are safety and medical personnel on standby unlike SAF.

covidneg

They need to rename the youtube video to have an effect: Maldives Government's cover up in Singapore student's death.

Taloona

but these RAM are non existent in private schools right

and these parents signed their kids for such schools. signed the consent forms for their kids to go overseas.

they would have read the itinerary

i dont know. surgeon too busy with work liao. prioritize everything over the child. now cry alr too late. never think through properly
I don't work in private schools so I cannot comment. Please don't judge the parents. It is already hard on them. No parents expect to send their child off for a learning journey only to see him or her return in a body bag. Please be kind to the grieving family. Thank you.

ribena.bing

I don't work in private schools so I cannot comment. Please don't judge the parents. It is already hard on them. No parents expect to send their child off for a learning journey only to see him or her return in a body bag. Please be kind to the grieving family. Thank you.

yes. they have right to grieve.

but they arent being kind to others. i think they have no right to shift the blame around

especially when they agreed to the trip and they signed the consent form with the following terms and conditions

https://maldiveswhalesharkresearch.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/MWSRP-Terms-Conditions.pdf

MWSRP team members are scientists or field researchers and are not necessarily professionally
qualified guides with professional guiding insurance. Your participation in a research period is reliant
on understanding and accepting this. You agree not to hold MWSRP, MWSRP representatives or staff
members liable for any injury or death, damage or loss of equipment resulting from your
participation in a research period whilst being fully aware that MWSRP team members are not
necessarily professionally qualified guides with professional guiding insurance. You agree that by
continuing your participation you have read these T&C’s and are fully aware of this fact. You also
agree to sign an additional waiver of liability further acknowledging MWSRP team members are not
necessarily professionally qualified guides with professional guiding insurance.

my personal opinion is that sending a child to such a trip is ridiculous and not safe. but the parents agreed to this. i dont think they can blame others... they are intelligent and with thinking minds

wongwings

I hope rest of the parents wake up their idea and realise this school actually doesn't give a damn about RAM or accountability. This case has set the precedence and condoned by MOE. The next time another death occurs, the school will just give the same response.

GundamG

actually if MOE want to step in and investigate, the school dun allow, MOE also no choice right. rightfully they are not under MOE mah? they also wont listen to what MOE tell them to do, thats why their books, teachers everything different from MOE school.

GundamG

yes. they have right to grieve.

but they arent being kind to others. i think they have no right to shift the blame around

especially when they agreed to the trip and they signed the consent form with the following terms and conditions

https://maldiveswhalesharkresearch.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/MWSRP-Terms-Conditions.pdf

my personal opinion is that sending a child to such a trip is ridiculous and not safe. but the parents agreed to this. i dont think they can blame others... they are intelligent and with thinking minds
i agree if i read this. is like pushing responsibility away to make sure every one is well trained to conduct the trip.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.