Next General Elections will be Interesting

4_dreamz

With the current CPIB probe into Iswaran, West Coast GRC is going to have a huge gap to fill. The previous elections was a close 51%-49% fight.

For Jurong GRC, Tharman resigned to compete for Presidency. Those that remained are relatively fresh faces.

Ang Mo Kio GRC, we shall see if our PM wants to continue working for another 5 years or retire now.

There are currently 3 GRCs that stands weak for now. Including SK and Aljunied and some other black horse GRCs, is it possible for a watershed elections in the coming years?

giphy.gif

Renzokukenz

With the current CPIB probe into Iswaran, West Coast GRC is going to have a huge gap to fill. The previous elections was a close 51%-49% fight.

For Jurong GRC, Tharman resigned to compete for Presidency. Those that remained are relatively fresh faces.

Ang Mo Kio GRC, we shall see if our PM wants to continue working for another 5 years or retire now.

There are currently 3 GRCs that stands weak for now. Including SK and Aljunied and some other black horse GRCs, is it possible for a watershed elections in the coming years?
won't be interesting.
at voting booth 61% sinkies will auto revert to default mode - vote for PAP

vegaspace

This is what I think might happen:

Aljunied GRC - Safe WP

PAP has been less active there since the defeat of Lye in GE2020.

“I will not involve myself much in the ground work and day to day running of things to give space to the Workers’ Party with the increased mandate they had received during the last GE,” Mr Shamsul wrote.

“We have to channel the residents we are supporting to the programmes organised by the WP after the duration period of ours ends.”

Already, the effects of the PAP not holding its version of meet-the-people sessions can be felt by some residents of a housing block along Bedok Reservoir Road, which comes under the WP-run Aljunied GRC.

“The PAP has given up. I don’t even know who the PAP representative is anymore,” said lorry driver and long-time resident Neo Chin, 63.

https://www.todayonline.com/big-rea...ng-tack-opposition-wards-signal-new-game-plan
Hougang SMC - Safe WP

Long-time opposition ward since 1991. If PAP could not win Hougang in a strong PAP wave year like GE2015, it is not going to do it in GE2025 which will be a less favourable year.

Sengkang GRC - Toss up but leans in favour of WP

WP got rid of RK early in the term, so it will not be an issue at the next GE. The incumbent advantage, especially if WP has a full five years will make it hard for PAP to win back the GRC. Furthermore, the younger demographic in Sengkang is not ideal for the PAP. Their team in Sengkang appears to Lam Pin Min + 3 grassroots leaders (https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/pap-sengkang-grc-new-faces-2589121) which is not very strong.

East Coast GRC - Toss up but leans in favour of PAP

East Coast GRC has been a battleground for a long time but WP gets stuck at around 45-47% even in good election years for opposition. The East Coast Planner is still there and WP may need more than just Nicole Seah to beat his team.

West Coast GRC - Pure toss up, can go either way

West Coast has a long history of being a PAP stronghold but Tan Cheng Bock is very well-liked. With SM Tharman running for president, it is very hard for PAP to find a popular anchor minister who can hold the GRC in S Iswaran's place. Because of the minority requirement, PAP may have no choice but to field a newbie minority race candidate and leave Desmond Lee to anchor the GRC alone. PSP got very close in GE2020 even though no rallies were allowed. This is going to be the main battleground for the next GE and all eyes will be on West Coast GRC

CanIsayNo

i know this probably won't happen but i am hoping to see the introduction of the future king who i know as red shirt

RickWong99

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/singapores-future-according-to-lee-kuan-yew
Q How confident are you that Singapore will survive you?

Mr Lee All I can say is I think Singapore is safe for 10 years. No trouble because there's a team in place that will handle it. Whether it will be 15, 20, 30 years depends on them getting a team of players very soon. Part of the team is in place but you need a leader man. You need somebody who can communicate, who can mobilise people, move people. It's not enough to have a good policy. You got to convince people.

Q What about beyond 10 years?

Mr Lee I think there will come a time when eventually the public will say, look, let's try the other side, either because the PAP has declined in quality or the opposition has put up a team which is equal to the PAP and they say, let's try the other side. It must come.

Q How will it happen?

Mr Lee It depends on when it happens and whether it happens all of a sudden or it happens gradually. If the decline in standards happens gradually, an opposition will emerge of quality. I mean, the public can sense it.

I think the more likely is a gradual evolution because it is most unlikely the way we have evolved the party and the renewal of the party leadership that you will get such a clash of opinions that it will divide the whole leadership, the MPs and the party machinery into two, or into one major part, one minor part.

Q What will happen if it takes place suddenly?

Mr Lee If it is sudden, well, you're landed with an emergency. In that emergency I think the people will just take somebody like me and a few of those friends and say look, let's make a bid and stop this from going down the drain.

Q What could possibly make it happen suddenly?

Mr Lee You have a rumpus in the leadership. They disagree profoundly, either for reasons of principle or personality and suddenly it breaks up... I cannot tell you what's going to be in maybe 20, 30, 40 years, not possible. We might have a genuine difference of perspective what the future should be, what kind of Singapore will survive and thrive in that future. We might have a clash. I don't know. I've lived long enough to know that nobody settles the future of his country beyond more than a decade or so of his life. Stalin grabbed the whole of eastern part of Europe, grabbed all the Asian republics right up to Siberia, took Outer Mongolia which belonged to China under his wing. That's 1945. He's dead. 1950s or -something, Khrushchev came up. 1992, it dissolved - less than 40 years. They threw up a Gorbachev who never went through a revolution, who did not know that he was sitting on a boiling cauldron.

Phongchi

Every GE also interesting but........... Same result.

People kpkb abt everything but still choose the same horse. After GE, continue to kpkb. Repeat.

tauntme

There's NO way they will lose la. Only thing that will happen is that truly capable people will be deterred from joining pap for 2 reasons.. all these sagas is doing their brand any good.. and secondly you no longer will be running alongside heavyweights like tharman...

Mr.Chibaboom

They are still safe.

They might lose abit of votes here and there but nothing much. Won’t even be too painful blow to them because sinkies truth be told don’t really care who Thunder party put to run. They are just voting for the Thunder Party branding.

The branding of one empty legacy that once Ah Gong used to have created.

Foetid

nothing will change, we still gonna enjoy 10% GST to 20% GST in the years to come and enjoy 200k COE also...

batman_888

sinkies got gold fish memory, complain now but come election still choose MIW.. plus don't forget we got new citizens added yearly...

Justsomename

Stating the facts only but people here keep reverberating about 61% and Sinkies being daft. Yes daft as they might be, but these three ministers, Iswaran, Tharman, PM Lee (depends on his own wishes), are most probably not participating in the next elections.

You can take a look at who are the leftover parachuters (except for Desmond Lee). With 3G leaders reaching the end of their runway soon, the next round might be the weakest for the party. I am curious to see what their strategy is in the coming elections.

jeffrey745

U forgot east coast grc. HSK might be stepping down too

LocalRider

Where got interesting? The naturalized citizens support one side only

virtualape

West coast abit shaky. Jurong is safe. People will still give face to Tharman. Amk confirm he continue even if he step down.

More concerned about sk even though it looks intact. Aljunied, depends on the rk case outcome...

Anyway boundaries will be redrawn. Maybe those performing smcs take on more residents or combine with a smaller grc.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.