Nicole Seah (佘雪玲)

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Steyr69

Her 'likes' has jumped over 8000+ now, compared to tpl's 2000+.

Later, you can be sure the elder statesman from her team will come out and say, election is not a childish popularity contest, vote wisely.

:)

All the talk in the town are focused on this 2 female youngest candidates.
PAP thought they can use TPL as a chip to rope in the young voters.
NSP took out their wild card Nicole to get the limelight.

A good move by NSP.

Nicole status had been upped many rungs by this strategy. The most admirable thing is she performed excellently in this role!!!

But I hope none of the opposition say anything foolish from this point onwards. This is a warning from old time warhorse, Mr Chiam ST.

Velvet

I love how this girl is addressing national issues all the time... i love her already

Arkansaw

like this u can continue to support the PAP and everyone will understand, after all you are just regurgitating a variant of the elitist + proven track record + more of the same argument, which is precisely what they want you to believe.

dun even want to respond to your physical skillset argument since it's total rubbish. I'm sure pple can tell by now, who is in a better position to articulate their views and sentiments, if given the chance to do so.

AristDing

not all people who does that are pap proxies as u call. how about those who serve in volunteer org or social services? dr vincent is a very good example of social worker who got fed up with the limitations of the policy that are available to help the people, that's y he join the opp. we ned such people who understands the situation to be able to represent us and put up a good fight in the parliament, cos they know what they are doing.

if u say average people shld be mp, then any uncle auntie who only know how to complain in the kopitiam and market (but never bother to serve and work with people like the taxi uncle example, the difference bet them is that the taxi uncle bothers to help and stood up to speak for the residents benefits) can go be minister alr. we all know the sufferings, but do average people like us have the expertise , experience or motivation to provide solutions to these problem?

we dont need people like nicole who has only serve started joining recently to straight away say they want to join the election. we want thos with more experience to be the one that represent us. so is there no other dedicated candidates who have work in the party for more than 5 years willing to stand for the election, such that they have to use newbies?

age is not an issue, but the experience is, since she has no physical skillset to offer(like csm who is a top notch lawyer with lots of experience in international corporate law). if she started working with the party since 15 years old i wont have mind her representing in the election now. cos i know she is definitely worth my respect if she is one that has been working long enough to know that she is someone who knows what she is doing

May I reminded you that statement highlighted in bold is PAP's justification for fielding Tin Pei Ling.

Going by your argument, I hope you realised that certains candidates have not worked for the party for more than even 2 years (Dr Pantil comes to mind.)

Nicole has already mentioned that she already has had her political awakening since year 2003, a grand total of 8 years. So who are you to say she has not been in things long enough to know she is someone who knows what she is doing.

The purpose of having a Parliament is to have enough people who understand the various people of Singapore and to represent them. If everyone is a lawyer, a doctor or a surgeon, who is there to speak for the less fortunate? We already seeing the problems of such a line up with Housing Minister Mah Bow Tan who does not live in a HDB or Transport Minister Lim Swee Say who does not take public transport.

AristDing

Apart from Nicole Seah being a good speaker, many people also missed out that NSP manifesto is extremely clear cut and straight to the point.

Especially the point which they want to impose a quota on workplaces with foreign workers below the wage of 4000 SGD.

This is actually an "indirect" form of minimum wage. I was an strong advocate of minimum wage because it would at least minimise and maybe stop wage suppression. With that quota, it's right in PAP's face that it's about time they stop mixing up foreign talent and foreign workers. Yes, some of these foreigners value add. But does who don't but are here by virtue of being cheaper - it's time to close the flood gates.

jazdrive

..we dont need people like nicole who has only serve started joining recently to straight away say they want to join the election. we want thos with more experience to be the one that represent us. so is there no other dedicated candidates who have work in the party for more than 5 years willing to stand for the election, such that they have to use newbies?..

The last I heard was TPL has been active in the party for 7 years.

vomit.gif

DanielsaN8

Going by your argument, I hope you realised that certains candidates have not worked for the party for more than even 2 years (Dr Pantil comes to mind.)

Nicole has already mentioned that she already has had her political awakening since year 2003, a grand total of 8 years. So who are you to say she has not been in things long enough to know she is someone who knows what she is doing.

The purpose of having a Parliament is to have enough people who understand the various people of Singapore and to represent them. If everyone is a lawyer, a doctor or a surgeon, who is there to speak for the less fortunate? We already seeing the problems of such a line up with Housing Minister Mah Bow Tan who does not live in a HDB or Transport Minister Lim Swee Say who does not take public transport.

Well said.....

lloop9

Fight pappies red herring wif NSP's own juicier red herring. I likey!! =:p

oohhee

May I reminded you that statement highlighted in bold is PAP's justification for fielding Tin Pei Ling.

seriously i m appalled by people being so willingly to accept newbies. when u apply even for a job people will look at the number of experience u have also lar. that's y people dont like to hire fresh grad.

being a mp is a heavy responsibility. both papaya and opp call this watershed election by bringing in newbies(new citizens, new young girls) for what? u mean other than the current mps who arent even doing a shiit, there werent even preparing for this election 5 years ago? they only like, started recently?!

sorry guys, but these newbs have really nothing to offer. and we have been covering them in grc, filling them into a hole that never will be filled up. this country deserves what it is now, since we are all too concern with ourselves until all the shiit caught up with us. now we want a hero to speak up for us. its too late man, too late.

MarineX

seriously i m appalled by people being so willingly to accept newbies. when u apply even for a job people will look at the number of experience u have also lar. that's y people dont like to hire fresh grad.

being a mp is a heavy responsibility. both papaya and opp call this watershed election by bringing in newbies(new citizens, new young girls) for what? u mean other than the current mps who arent even doing a shiit, there werent even preparing for this election 5 years ago? they only like, started recently?!

sorry guys, but these newbs have really nothing to offer. and we have been covering them in grc, filling them into a hole that never will be filled up. this country deserves what it is now, since we are all too concern with ourselves until all the shiit caught up with us. now we want a hero to speak up for us. its too late man, too late.

that is what i hate most as well. You don't give fresh grads a chance, how will they gain experience? tsk.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.