Nintendo Switch thread

doki81

damn.....i dont like Indies game.... :( maybe i shd just stick with my PS4,3ds and hp game..

PierceLee

but those are trailers only leh :slant:

the actual performance is hard to tell from those videos. :(

anyways, embracing indies should be the way to go. :o
How bad can they perform? Tons of these same indies are on every platform including lowly spec mobile phones. Here they just need to port to one standard platform and can tune the performance, remove features, downgrade graphics, textures, lower resolution, etc as necessary to just get it to run properly on one standard platform (the beauty of consoles). Most indies are not hardware demanding anyway, many of them are pixel graphics and load small levels after small levels, don't really need super fast processors nor tons of RAM.

I know, there are bad PS4 ports of indies that perform terribly. Often games on Unity engine runs badly, even on powerful console like PS4, the engine is just not optimised. Those lousy ports are few and far between on PS4. The more likely scenario is buggy ports, with insufficient testing in the rush to milking another market, ending up having consumers beta testing the paid product.

I don't think there's much to worry about Nindies except that 90% of the Switch library are Nindies.

Errz

aiyah.. lazada Nintendo Switch with Neon Con Bundle with 2 Games (Legend of Zelda:BoTW and 1-2-Switch) no more stocks..

anywhere else to get at $649 or cheaper :s22:

Gametaku

How bad can they perform? Tons of these same indies are on every platform including lowly spec mobile phones. Here they just need to port to one standard platform and can tune the performance, remove features, downgrade graphics, textures, lower resolution, etc as necessary to just get it to run properly on one standard platform (the beauty of consoles). Most indies are not hardware demanding anyway, many of them are pixel graphics and load small levels after small levels, don't really need super fast processors nor tons of RAM.

I know, there are bad PS4 ports of indies that perform terribly. Often games on Unity engine runs badly, even on powerful console like PS4, the engine is just not optimised. Those lousy ports are few and far between on PS4. The more likely scenario is buggy ports, with insufficient testing in the rush to milking another market, ending up having consumers beta testing the paid product.

I don't think there's much to worry about Nindies except that 90% of the Switch library are Nindies.

Yooka-Laylee for Switch might be too demanding for 1080p 60fps. High chance that it will be 1080p but 30fps.

doki81

aiyah.. lazada Nintendo Switch with Neon Con Bundle with 2 Games (Legend of Zelda:BoTW and 1-2-Switch) no more stocks..

all neo set price has been jack up....i think buy grey better..then only buy extra neo con ..

tjhin

Many wants to cancel pre-order in this thread. Maybe you can get from 1 of them.

PierceLee

Yooka-Laylee for Switch might be too demanding for 1080p 60fps. High chance that it will be 1080p but 30fps.
Yooka-Laylee looks good, it's been on my radar for a long time, will get it on PS4. But I'm not pre-ordering just yet, been burned before with The Last Tinker. The Last Tinker was the previous game that was supposed to 'revive the 3D platformers' or whatever... in the end knn the platforming was automatic like Assassin's Creed, you hold down a bunch of buttons and push the stick you will automatically jump and climb, wtf (watching trailers and game play footage won't help, you can't tell this by watching). And it has lousy mandatory stealth segments. I know and I believe Yooka-Laylee won't be bad like that (it's real platforming, with some mini games too) but still reluctant to take the plunge early.

NeonX

Bo jio! Haha I got a lot of stuff in comgateway also. Waiting for some switch stuff to ship also

no leh... i don even know if locally got all the games (in eng) and whether the stock is sufficient... and i also ordered some other stuffs from amazon so.... :s22:

tjhin

i thought u cancelled a couple of times? how many did u actually buy? bought 2 but keeping both..

I cancelled twice and final order from Qoo10. 1st cancel from Qisahn and 2nd cancel from Lazada. Final order has the best price of the 3 orders.

guanguan

Guys, those who bought from Q10, Funzcentre they put the collect only after 6pm :eek:

Check your pickup store before you go down though, give them a call for something.

I think they only received the console in the morning, need some time to deliver to respective store

tjhin

Mine order from gamextreme and selected head office to collect. Hope can get early.

Seyvon

unfortunately, Xiaomi only can output 12V/1.5A.

without a proper power bank, you won't be able to play it as portable much....
Think will just charge longer ? A few pages back the vid shows that even with a weaker power bank, can extend playing time to abt 5 hrs when pkaying zelda

sobanoodles

Funzsquare $639 or can ask Qisahn to price match

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.