No funeral

8zaoyu

If money tight, then just tell the coffin shop to collect the body, put inside coffin and straightaway go Mt Vernon cremate. Can save embalming money, cost of monks, tentage etc.
Now, still got Mt Vernon, I thought left Govt one at Mandai?

8zaoyu

Wake is a waste of money, Just Cremated and host the urn in temple can liao
Even got 1 day in prayer hall to park coffin one, next of kin / beneficiaries of your CPF / properties don't go meh.
Of course, if rich person, got lots of helpers like Cai Lan, his eyes already see his procession of people already, eyes close, see what ?

Lchlch

If we die at National Average Age of 85, a simple quiet wake at our pavilion or parlour good to see how the family is coping.
Sometimes, you can see the family is not close knit, some not many friends attend. If like this, no need to do a procession, guard the coffin 3 or 5 days. Can be done in 24 hours by the funeral director for cremation, urn parked in your temple, etc.
A BBFA uncle or aunty, die also the youngsters ask who is this person, what more very young kids asking what is "die".
But when our furkid died, the kids cry like immediate let off.
When old and sick people, there is this "to be sad or not" feeling.
As adults, we have to know when to let go. We are not immortal, only how we treat others are remembered.
nowadays, those funeral coy do provide someone to guard the coffin during the night too.
Especialy if the family has 1 or 2 children and it is a no joke to guard 24 hours for say 3 days....

KPO_SAHM

Interesting. Not many older folks can see open. RIP.

More people now including old folks r willingly to donate their bodies to medical schools

One of the old doctor in Singapore donated his body to medical school too. I remembered CNA got mentioned.

virtualape

I will donate my body for research. Let the hospital take care of the administration. No need wake or cremation.

Mila Azul

After being taken directly from the hospital, my parents were taken to Mandai for a brief ceremony before being cremated there.

daveteo88

Malay and Hindu religion must burial or cremate before sunset.
When come to such things ppl actually dun really know which way to do is the right way.
Ang mo also got their way and in the end is just following the tradition.

robolee

no right no wrong way, these "right" way are created by human to earn money.
we came to this world with nothing, we shall also leave this world with nothing

Despicable3

When my husband passed 4 yrs ago suddenly , someone suggested not to have wake cos we have no children. I insisted to hold a wake. That is really for the living (me), cos I was still in a shock, the few days of wake really give me time to spend a bit more time with “him”…….

Jeremy1

Just completed my ACP, now proceed to do my AMD n LPA.

My will will be later part.

Jeremy1

Just completed my ACP, now proceed to do my AMD n LPA.

My will will be later part.

Completed my ACP, LPA n AMD liao.

Very fast n easy 👍🏻

Last is to make a Will so I can go to the next world peacefully 😀

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.