No more GCE O and N levels from 2027

watzup_ken

Honestly, a lot of these changes are just cosmetic. Education system is really just to teach and then grade you according to your performance, and this should not be limited to just academics.. So while they make do with this and that exams, it doesn’t mean that you or your kids are not graded. The problem with SG education system (I am not sure about other nations so I choose not to over generalised by adding them) is the over emphasis of academic results, in particular, math and science (and to some extend, English). Everybody is good at something(s), but not necessarily academics. But unfortunately, I feel there is little being done by schools/ educators to identify the students‘ strength, and build up these strength. Almost everyone that goes through public schools are just grinding for good academic grades so that they can get to better schools. It is also the responsibility of parents to look out for our kids’ strengths and weaknesses and help them accordingly, but some parents are just to caught up with this academic grading that they just want their kids to keep up with the system.

claypot_king

Then those supposedly in N levels can pass well mah? Wouldn't it be stressful for slow learners?

They will get easier syllabus, still be awarded 'A's if they work hard but with the knowledge that their 'A's is only comparable to a pass if they had taken the normal syllabus.

KPO_SAHM

No more GCE N and O levels from 2027.

replaced by

A new common national exam
From 2027, Secondary 4 students will sit for a common national
exam and receive the Singapore-Cambridge Secondary
Education Certificate (SEC) that reflects the subject level at
which they offered each subject. This will replace the current
N- and O-Level exams.

https://www.moe.gov.sg/microsites/cos2019/index.html
Why Don they implement next year ??? Why must wait till 2027???

hg2

Why Don they implement next year ??? Why must wait till 2027???

Many student will ki xiao.... most are prep since sec1 for O level.....
it will take 4-5ys to adjust the teaching.... for new exam formats

Like that 10 yrs series can throw?

Same tot, pity the first batch guinea pigs and parents.... in 2027... flying in the dark... no question banks to fallback on....

pwongkk

British system is more recognised than sinkie one. Something that has a history for decades vs one that recognises locally.

What's the benchmark?

hg2

Rebranding only. Syllabus still the same. Hahaha

Guarantee questions format will change one... MOE have more freedom to set more "creatives" questions like PSLE... for good or bad... only time will tell!

claypot_king

Freak then change for ****.

I'm really good for that subject mah. But still can't 唯才是用
To make si ginna happy.

Last time si ginna complain I Chinese/Art/Music pro but because my psle sucks, I go normal only can take n level Chinese/Art/Music. Insult to me leh.

Now let u happy happy take o level Chinese/Art/Music in normal stream without u realizing ur final aggregate only go ITE even if everything u score A.

sales69

To make si ginna happy.

Last time si ginna complain I Chinese/Art/Music pro but because my psle sucks, I go normal only can take n level Chinese/Art/Music. Insult to me leh.

Now let u happy happy take o level Chinese/Art/Music in normal stream without u realizing ur final aggregate only go ITE even if everything u score A.
Wow the end point is song song gao Joo Koon.

shagua

If it is like psle set by and marked by Singaporeans Siao liao will be stressful as ****

Coffeelix

No more GCE N and O levels from 2027.

replaced by

A new common national exam
From 2027, Secondary 4 students will sit for a common national
exam and receive the Singapore-Cambridge Secondary
Education Certificate (SEC) that reflects the subject level at
which they offered each subject. This will replace the current
N- and O-Level exams.

https://www.moe.gov.sg/microsites/cos2019/index.html

We are literally going from the pan into the 🔥 . Like that our certificates will not have value…
Really meh.,,clowns in parliament Gao Liao lo…want to drag our kids to be 🤡 too…biggest jokes of 2022…I refuse to believe this is true. It’s simply a prank.

hg2

If it is like psle set by and marked by Singaporeans Siao liao will be stressful as ****

100% guaranteed... some genius in MOE will have total freedom to set and mark papers... parents will be one stressed out....could end up O level questions even a A level cannot solve..... life's cham!!!

Dominum

Lmao damn stupid this MOE HQ. Got ask the teachers in the ground or not, sure kena curse till hair all drop

hg2

Lmao damn stupid this MOE HQ. Got ask the teachers in the ground or not, sure kena curse till hair all drop

Old one cannot learn new syllabus will have to auto retire.... loh! worst are the pioneer batch student and parent guinea pig

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.