Note 20 Ultra Heating issues

blurfish

Hi guys,

I would like to know if any owners of Note 20 Ultra are facing heat issues.

On idle more - 37deg
browsing few apps (whatsapp, chrome, basic apps) - 40+ deg.

I went to the service centre and they changed my battery within 1 hour and said there is battery issues.

But monitoring for the entire day, the heat issue still persists.

Any one has any solutions?

Appreciate any kind response.:)

keenklee

For testing, maybe can try to put in airplane mode and see if the temperature drops.

P.S. I don't have this mobile phone.

sstimo

Is your the first batch as in did you buy in aug 2020? My first 2 note 20 ultra are hot as compared to my latest set. Not sure if the software updates help..

argentinafa

Is your the first batch as in did you buy in aug 2020? My first 2 note 20 ultra are hot as compared to my latest set. Not sure if the software updates help..

Wow you must have like this phone alot to give it 3 chances to perform. So 1st two sets is being repaired/exchanged by SES? Or sell then buy new set again?

royfrosty

Wait what?

You dont expect the phone to be below ambient temps right?

Ambient outside during the day time can hit 34degC.

In an indoor area can be from 28degC to 30degC.

The temperature of a normal device is usually 2-3degC higher than the ambient temperature outside. It can go even higher when the phone is being used under the sun.

blurfish

Hi guys. Just an update.

Monitored for close to 2 weeks.
LCD and back still feels hot.
Disabled 5G. still intermittently feels hot now and then.
Whole day of light usage like see whatsapp fb telegram battery end of the day is around 20%. OST average about 3 hours 45 mins.
Should i go to service center and ask for a replacement?

lcheowl

Hi guys. Just an update.

Whole day of light usage like see whatsapp fb telegram battery end of the day is around 20%. OST average about 3 hours 45 mins.

You SOT is a bit low for your usage.

Did you go to device care and check what are the apps that eat up the battery?

Also disable the adaptive power saving. According to some YT steamer, it drains battery during the learning cycle and after the learning process is over, it try to be over smart by aggressively turn off a lot of things for you.

If you still cannot figure out what went wrong, best is to go to the SC, it could be you have a lemon battery.

rabbit1

Hi guys. Just an update.

You can try, but it won't work. The Exynos in your phone is well known to overheat at the slightest workload. My suggestion is if you cannot tahan it, quickly sell it and get phones with snapdragon chip or Apple.

blurfish

You SOT is a bit low for your usage.

Did you go to device care and check what are the apps that eat up the battery?

Also disable the adaptive power saving. According to some YT steamer, it drains battery during the learning cycle and after the learning process is over, it try to be over smart by aggressively turn off a lot of things for you.

If you still cannot figure out what went wrong, best is to go to the SC, it could be you have a lemon battery.

lemon battery was already replaced 2nd day when i brought it to the service centre. adaptive power saving was also disabled. I checked 41% usaged on galaxy wearable. Im using a glalaxy watch as well. Might this be the issue?

blurfish

You can try, but it won't work. The Exynos in your phone is well known to overheat at the slightest workload. My suggestion is if you cannot tahan it, quickly sell it and get phones with snapdragon chip or Apple.

try lor. say the heat on the LCD screen is alarming and unbearable. sigh. 1.3k got a brick. si beh sian i tell u.. i might change to a samsung s20 FE. at least its a SD but no pen anymore

lcheowl

lemon battery was already replaced 2nd day when i brought it to the service centre. adaptive power saving was also disabled. I checked 41% usaged on galaxy wearable. Im using a glalaxy watch as well. Might this be the issue?

In this case, don't use it with Samsung watches for a few days.

If that resolve the issue, then get back to Samsung, likely a software upgrade will solve it.

blurfish

just a quick update for all who has helped me in this chat. and thank you btw. =) you guys have been awesome!

went to service centre, they said need to monitor 2-3 working days evaluate. issued me a S6 as a loaner phone.. #facepalm.

told me need 10 working days for approval for a one to one exchange after the technician report is out.

so out 1.3k. out 2 weeks without a phone and given a shitty phone.

any ways i can escalate so that after the service report is out i can reduce the 10 days for them to approve?

Amuroraysg

Exynos is your issue i guess, i used to have s20+ exynos, when reading news on google news or surfing web it will get hot as well.. now i switch to note 20 ultra snap dragon, no longer have this issue...

dappercivility

Agreed, the local set ROG 3 with 512gb storage and SD865+ costs $1540 at Street shops. Way more worthwhile than the SD N20U. Had both of these phones and the HKG SD N20U had some issues like no VOLTE for some local telco and also the Samsung pay points cannot be redeemed locally. Got the SD N20U 256gb at 1.8xk when it first came out.

If you want to pay 1.9k for a Snapdragon 865+... Might as well buy ROG Phone 3? Cheaper and with warranty.

v1hypersg

but note20 ultra screen is bigger, and it has a stylus and also photo taking seems to be better,

i read in the ROG that there is some charging issues with the phone in the thread

previously has the asus transformer which you can slide the phone into a tablet screen and make it into a tablet,

did not really have good impression of asus phones and market share seems small in singapore,

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.