Nothing CMF Phone 2

KeYoKe

Hi all. I got a few questions about this phone. Appreciate any answers:

1. Does hotspot work well on this phone?
2. Does it have a TRUE Always on Display that shows the time/notifications?
3. Can I use a 67W Xiaomi charger (from my Poco F5) on this phone? Will it charge at 33W?
4. Seems like some find the Essential button a nuisance because of accidental presses. Do you really find it to be a problem? Can disable?
5. Anyone tried shooting in RAW? Is there any advantage in postprocessing on desktop compared to the inbuilt software?

Also, will it feel like a downgrade from the F5? I actually like the F5, but after a recent update I get phone freezing and restarting once or twice a day. I don't know if a fix will happen, and I can't live with an unreliable device.

Also, I am thinking about moving on from MIUI/HyperOS. Video Toolbox is crippled now and I am forced to use Brave. True AOD only works allegedly on 600+ SGD devices like the Poco F7 pro and Xiaomi 15T, and I don't need something that powerful as I rarely play games. I will miss the double-click power for Flashlight though.
1. Yes
2. Yes
3. Yes and Yes
4. No problem for me but it is useless or me. Cannot disable
5. No, I dont shoot in raw as the camera hardware isnt that impressive either

In terms of specs and performance, definitely it is a downgrade. Have you tried factory resetting your Poco F5? See if that helps?

For me, I will still keep the Poco F5 as it is still a more capable device overall in terms of speed and performance. CMF Phone 2 Pro is using a more inferior dimensity 7300 pro, UFS 2.2. Try doing a factory reset and see if it helps before stepping onboard the CMF Phone 2 Pro.

Shahmatt

1. Yes
2. Yes
3. Yes and Yes
4. No problem for me but it is useless or me. Cannot disable
5. No, I dont shoot in raw as the camera hardware isnt that impressive either

In terms of specs and performance, definitely it is a downgrade. Have you tried factory resetting your Poco F5? See if that helps?

For me, I will still keep the Poco F5 as it is still a more capable device overall in terms of speed and performance. CMF Phone 2 Pro is using a more inferior dimensity 7300 pro, UFS 2.2. Try doing a factory reset and see if it helps before stepping onboard the CMF Phone 2 Pro.
Thanks for your reply.

I prefer to keep the Poco. Hopefully a software update will fix this freezing and restart problem. Factory reset means I have to set everything up once again, and even after I don't know if the problem will be fixed.

For camera, on paper the CMF has better hardware compared to Poco. The primary sensor is 1/1.57" vs 1/2.0" in the Poco. Xiaomi's post processing is excellent which I think compensates for the smaller sensor. But maybe it also means if you shoot RAW and post process on desktop, or use a different app (e.g. Pixel photo app), you may get better results compared to Poco. Also the CMF has a 50mm telephoto lens, which is more useful compared to the macro on the Poco.

For other hardware features Poco is superior.

However for UFS 2.2, there was a study done by an Indian Youtuber that found that some phones with higher UFS 4.1 were outperformed by UFS 2.2. This was due to good optimisation. It looks like the CMF is highly optimised with good battery life etc. so I wonder if there will really be a big real world difference between the F5 and CMF.

KeYoKe

Thanks for your reply.

I prefer to keep the Poco. Hopefully a software update will fix this freezing and restart problem. Factory reset means I have to set everything up once again, and even after I don't know if the problem will be fixed.

For camera, on paper the CMF has better hardware compared to Poco. The primary sensor is 1/1.57" vs 1/2.0" in the Poco. Xiaomi's post processing is excellent which I think compensates for the smaller sensor. But maybe it also means if you shoot RAW and post process on desktop, or use a different app (e.g. Pixel photo app), you may get better results compared to Poco. Also the CMF has a 50mm telephoto lens, which is more useful compared to the macro on the Poco.

For other hardware features Poco is superior.

However for UFS 2.2, there was a study done by an Indian Youtuber that found that some phones with higher UFS 4.1 were outperformed by UFS 2.2. This was due to good optimisation. It looks like the CMF is highly optimised with good battery life etc. so I wonder if there will really be a big real world difference between the F5 and CMF.
one may argue that higher UFS is useless. but apps are getting more and more demanding. it might not affect u now, but few years down the road it will for sure. same thing as processor. but for me, the selling point of cmf is just the nothing OS for me. other then that Poco F5 definitely wins it hands down.

Oh i missed out cmf phone only has single firing speaker if that is important to u.

I will highly recommend u back up your data and do a factory reset though. Does the freezing and restarting issue starts occuring after a major android update? like A14 > A15? If yes, please do a factory reset if possible

Shahmatt

one may argue that higher UFS is useless. but apps are getting more and more demanding. it might not affect u now, but few years down the road it will for sure. same thing as processor. but for me, the selling point of cmf is just the nothing OS for me. other then that Poco F5 definitely wins it hands down.

Oh i missed out cmf phone only has single firing speaker if that is important to u.

I will highly recommend u back up your data and do a factory reset though. Does the freezing and restarting issue starts occuring after a major android update? like A14 > A15? If yes, please do a factory reset if possible
Not saying UFS is useless. Just noting that in many phones it's not optimised. Definitely agree apps are getting more heavy and better UFS is a plus point. Also the CMF has less RAM: 8GB vs 12GB on my F5, which is a major negative. Single speaker is not an issue for me as I use headphones anyway.

The problem started after an update maybe a month ago. Usually the F5 gets updates quite regularly. I will wait till the next one to see if the problem gets fixed. In the mean time I have to plan for a new phone, as I will be travelling late November, and I don't want to carry an unreliable device with me.

KeYoKe

Not saying UFS is useless. Just noting that in many phones it's not optimised. Definitely agree apps are getting more heavy and better UFS is a plus point. Also the CMF has less RAM: 8GB vs 12GB on my F5, which is a major negative. Single speaker is not an issue for me as I use headphones anyway.

The problem started after an update maybe a month ago. Usually the F5 gets updates quite regularly. I will wait till the next one to see if the problem gets fixed. In the mean time I have to plan for a new phone, as I will be travelling late November, and I don't want to carry an unreliable device with me.
Then maybe can consider Poco x7 pro? Capable device still. Around same price as cmf phone 2 pro bro

SibehHL

Quick question; does the CMF Phone 2 Pro work with all local Telco's 5G SA? I am considering it as a replacement. To a certain extend, I am "forced" to change phones since my pixel 6a & iPhone 12 won't work with any local 5G SA.

By the way, any idea if Oneplus Nord 4 (or 5) will work with our Telco's 5G SA? This is another of my consideration.

Quick question; does the CMF Phone 2 Pro work with all local Telco's 5G SA? I am considering it as a replacement. To a certain extend, I am "forced" to change phones since my pixel 6a & iPhone 12 won't work with any local 5G SA.

By the way, any idea if Oneplus Nord 4 (or 5) will work with our Telco's 5G SA? This is another of my consideration.
Using that phone with my decade-old StarHub Prepaid 4G SIM without much issue here and MY Roaming.
Previous software version of phone needs restart before switching but after Software update (received 2 Security Updates since owning it), will auto switch to Roaming Partner without restart.
Data Problems are more on Telco side as I am still at 4G Plan (only able to be upgraded to Star Plan 5G next month) so cannot say for sure if 5G SA will work with this phone until the upgrade is completed on my end, can ask others who have 5G Plans from MVNOs to confirm.

Of course, I managed to see CMF Phone 2 Pro being sold at M1 with plan ($0 phone plan on Bespoke S Plan) which means M1 5G will 100% work with that phone otherwise they cannot sell that under Mobile Plans.

Also, just be watchful of any sales of that phone if you wish to buy either one, CMF Phone 2 Pro had only one official retail discount before in August (drop of $40 to $359) only without the use of any exclusive discount codes/vouchers being applied, catering to those who spend to earn retail membership rewards. And sadly, the first-run FOC items may already been no longer available anymore last I checked (meaning just 1 year warranty with free 3rd party BT Buds now with purchase) so take note of that too.

masashi

IMG20251021194007.jpg

Just got myself a backup phone because it's a good price and love nothing OS a lot:s34:

masashi

Good price meh? The pricing is always 320 or more leh. This pricing for sure got better options like poco x7 pro or even OnePlus Nord ce5 :s13:
Staying away from Poco. Nord not really interested. So nothing it is for me:s22:

KeYoKe

Staying away from Poco. Nord not really interested. So nothing it is for me:s22:
Haha then should just say u like nothing, and not others. Nothing to do with pricing la. Cos the price didn't drop below 32x before. Can't really say the pricing is cheap la bro :s13: cos for 320 dollars budget, there are better spec phone out there

Shadowz1984

Haha then should just say u like nothing, and not others. Nothing to do with pricing la. Cos the price didn't drop before 32x before. Can't really say the pricing is cheap la bro :s13: cos for 320 dollars budget, there are better spec phone out there
Only time nothing is cheap is when the singtel authorized vendor clear stock for 3A Pro. Selling at around $360 to $370.

chari-men

There was some study done in a Yt Video. I forget where, which showed that some phones with UFS 4.1 were outperformed by UF2.2 phones. Basically software optimisation matters.
Not for me tho..maybe I'm more observant and sensitive... the difference is quite significant.. tested the demo set at stores lol...

KeYoKe

But it has good, stable software. Is it worth the premium?
For me? No to a certain extent. I do admit OS plays an important part of user experience of a phone. Cos the specs will affect how long can you use a phone without changing it due to slow downs

For me, the single firing speaker and the ufs 2.2 is a let down. Simi era liao still ufs 2.2 and single firing speaker
There was some study done in a Yt Video. I forget where, which showed that some phones with UFS 4.0 were outperformed by UF2.2 phones. Basically software optimisation matters.
This is utter bs to me. When apps are getting bigger in size, or transferring files to and from the phone, you tell me ufs 2.2 is faster than ufs 4.0? Benchmark numbers plays a part. It does not matter now, but 2 years down the road? Where games or applications are getting more and more demanding, and it takes a longer time to load on a ufs 2.2 than a ufs 4.0, this is for sure.

It is like u are saying harddisk is faster than ssd, and is the OS that matters. When u install applications, loading applications etc, there is this much OS can do.

CMF can optimize the OS for sure, but I don't think they can optimize the mobile apps? :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.