Nothing CMF Phone 2

mdsummer

I bought the CMF Phone 2 Pro on 6.6 sales at $340+, and received it yesterday. Using as a secondary phone (for all non-essential apps) and as a music player. My thoughts:

Pros

* NothingOS is simple and works. Minor negligible inconsistencies in design. Has several quality of life features (adaptive charging, ). Screen fingerprint works well.
* Comes with cover, even with the cover, the phone doesn't feel heavy (unlike Poco F4). Screen is generally wide but still feels holdable with one hand.
* Screen quality is good, vibrant
* Phone performance is generally smooth
* SD slot is excellent as I would like to listen offline only. Earphone output via USB and Bluetooth sounds great with high quality audio files.
* Battery life seems good.

Cons
* Camera and Speaker is meh. Generally I don't use both but may use the video function for recording stills. Will try further, hoping for better software image stabilisation.

Unknowns
* Essential Space seems great but I haven't found a situation to use it.
* I don't use a lot of Google functions - but if you have a query, let me know and I would test it.

Shutterbox

Aiyo, always lidat one… buy liao then price drop. just close eyes pretend never see 🤣 357 still solid buy 💪
Its ok la.
I buy early becos I want to secure the ear buds.
And it's already a price I'm happy with :)

iCubes

I bought the CMF Phone 2 Pro on 6.6 sales at $340+, and received it yesterday. Using as a secondary phone (for all non-essential apps) and as a music player. My thoughts:

Pros
* NothingOS is simple and works. Minor negligible inconsistencies in design. Has several quality of life features (adaptive charging, ). Screen fingerprint works well.
* Comes with cover, even with the cover, the phone doesn't feel heavy (unlike Poco F4). Screen is generally wide but still feels holdable with one hand.
* Screen quality is good, vibrant
* Phone performance is generally smooth
* SD slot is excellent as I would like to listen offline only. Earphone output via USB and Bluetooth sounds great with high quality audio files.
* Battery life seems good.

Cons
* Camera and Speaker is meh. Generally I don't use both but may use the video function for recording stills. Will try further, hoping for better software image stabilisation.

Unknowns
* Essential Space seems great but I haven't found a situation to use it.
* I don't use a lot of Google functions - but if you have a query, let me know and I would test it.
You bought white/black? They advertise the orange so heavily but not available for purchase at all 🙄

iCubes

they advertise heavily? who?

white and grey actually is jin cho.
I mean in their sales material, the orange is featured so prominently, one would think that's the hero model they are pushing. Im waiting for the orange to be available

mdsummer

I got the black model. Thought that white may eventually yellow. Agree orange is non-existent (even though the earbuds are orange).

there’s actually green but not available in our market, and strangely from what I watched on YouTube that’s the only model without NFC (I.e. most should avoid this model).
You bought white/black? They advertise the orange so heavily but not available for purchase at all 🙄

Fellowes

I got the black model. Thought that white may eventually yellow. Agree orange is non-existent (even though the earbuds are orange).

there’s actually green but not available in our market, and strangely from what I watched on YouTube that’s the only model without NFC (I.e. most should avoid this model).
2025 already, I don’t think the quality control for nothing budget brand is that bad that white will turn yellow in future. Orange coming in July but is a very loud colour that may not be suitable for all anyway just so wait. For now locally the sales seem quite meh on Shopee and Lazada.

mdsummer

Just noticed that Challenger Bedok has an Orange demo set. Also seen the white set below. Between the 3 colours, I still prefer Black. 😄

Wah just saw it's bud 1, other country gave bud 2
Really is using SG to clear stock

Hopefully means liddat can get some super good deal on carousell :s13:
Actually IMO it's more because the official SG distributor of Nothing Phones & Accessories are 2 different companies.

Nothing & CMF Accessories are distributed by iFactory Asia: Their Website (like CMF Buds Pro, Buds 2, Buds 2 Pro, CMF 65W GaN Charger & Nothing Ear Series)

Nothing & CMF Phones are distributed by Era International Network (EiN): EiN Facebook (mains Xiaomi Phones + Appliances and Nothing + CMF Phones)

Nothing & CMF Products officially sold in SG comes with foil sticker on the front with the distributor company logo on it, and the label is not the same between Nothing & CMF Phones vs Accessories.

Also, already July and still no word on the CMF Phone 2 Pro Orange Colour's availability here...... Wonder if Sharp's Aquos R10 will be released in SG first before EiN gets the CMF Phone 2 Pro's iconic Orange Colour option available here. Not that I can afford to wait till December to get that one anyway......

caterham7

Actually IMO it's more because the official SG distributor of Nothing Phones & Accessories are 2 different companies.

Nothing & CMF Accessories are distributed by iFactory Asia: Their Website (like CMF Buds Pro, Buds 2, Buds 2 Pro, CMF 65W GaN Charger & Nothing Ear Series)

Nothing & CMF Phones are distributed by Era International Network (EiN): EiN Facebook (mains Xiaomi Phones + Appliances and Nothing + CMF Phones)

Nothing & CMF Products officially sold in SG comes with foil sticker on the front with the distributor company logo on it, and the label is not the same between Nothing & CMF Phones vs Accessories.

Also, already July and still no word on the CMF Phone 2 Pro Orange Colour's availability here...... Wonder if Sharp's Aquos R10 will be released in SG first before EiN gets the CMF Phone 2 Pro's iconic Orange Colour option available here. Not that I can afford to wait till December to get that one anyway......
Orange cmf phone 2 pro available now, both lazada and shopee

Just saw the updated Lazada page just now.

I'm willing to wait till December to buy so not much of a rush right now, also waiting for SG60 voucher to drop officially (under 60 so must wait until after 22nd July) to use + Mall Reward Points boost to kick in before pulling the trigger.

Also can buy some upgrades for my purchased refurbed laptop on the same day too (since Challenger flagship store is at the same mall) so less tedious to plan, and prefer to buy devices that I can hands-on with lower chance of kena scam and/or water products.

Fellowes

Which colour the Phone 2 Pro?

I'm still waiting for 12.12 to come and also my carrier to upgrade my SiM Plan to 5G first before I can pull the trigger.
Orange, nothing better to do so buy low end Android as the design is quite unique, try out along side my flagship iPhone 16 Pro and Galaxy S25U, definitely there is a difference when compare top of the line flagship to this CMF phone but day to day use is really not an issue at all.

It’s year 2025, the current hardware spec is quite crappy to be frank especially its single mono loudspeaker and it’s 7300 Pro CPU. Come on brand NOTHING, how expensive can a dual loud speaker setup + a slightly better Dimensity 7350 CPU add to additional overall cost.

In terms of software, with Nothing OS, it’s very clean and snappy due to its light weight interface but it’s missing true AMOLED black dark theme, sadly everything at best is dark greyish tone on dark mode. Give it a true black theme definitely will be better for its AMOLED display.

I think if have CMF next gen Phone 3 should at least minimally upgrade with the following: dual stereo speaker, at least use Dimensity 7400 or 7400X CPU, UFS 3.1 with eSIM support, bonus will be the use of anti reflective pre-applied screen protector (which Samsung is selling for its GALAXY series) and it will be perfect.

Come on it’s 2025, the current hardware spec is quite crappy to be frank as for software side with Nothing OS, it’s very clean and snappy due to its light weight interface but it’s missing true AMOLED black dark theme, sadly everything at best is dark greyish tone on dark mode. Give it a true black theme definitely will be better for its AMOLED display.

Another close rival in the price range will be OnePlus Nord CE5 which is in pre-order period currently.

Orange, nothing better to do so buy low end Android as the design is quite unique, try out along side my flagship iPhone 16 Pro and Galaxy S25U, definitely there is a difference when compare top of the line flagship to this CMF phone but day to day use is really not an issue at all.

It’s year 2025, the current hardware spec is quite crappy to be frank especially its single mono loudspeaker and it’s 7300 Pro CPU. Come on brand NOTHING, how expensive can a dual loud speaker setup + a slightly better Dimensity 7350 CPU add to additional overall cost.

In terms of software, with Nothing OS, it’s very clean and snappy due to its light weight interface but it’s missing true AMOLED black dark theme, sadly everything at best is dark greyish tone on dark mode. Give it a true black theme definitely will be better for its AMOLED display.

I think if have CMF next gen Phone 3 should at least minimally upgrade with the following: dual stereo speaker, at least use Dimensity 7400 or 7400X CPU, UFS 3.1 with eSIM support, bonus will be the use of anti reflective pre-applied screen protector (which Samsung is selling for its GALAXY series) and it will be perfect.

Come on it’s 2025, the current hardware spec is quite crappy to be frank as for software side with Nothing OS, it’s very clean and snappy due to its light weight interface but it’s missing true AMOLED black dark theme, sadly everything at best is dark greyish tone on dark mode. Give it a true black theme definitely will be better for its AMOLED display.

Another close rival in the price range will be OnePlus Nord CE5 which is in pre-order period currently.
Depends on size of how much a company can scale-purchase hardware parts, anywhere from tens to hundred or so USD per device pretty easily.

Note that Oneplus has Oppo Supply Chain (as an Oppo subsidiary maker now) as backing which Nothing doesn't.

mdsummer

I have used the CMF Phone 2 Pro (“CP2P”) for around 1 month, and thought I would write a short review for those interested. Previously owned a Poco F4. Am using this as a secondary phone/music player. Tl;dr – I like it! And it could work for you too!

Look and feel: [+] CP2P feels lighter but slightly wider than Poco F4. Well-built and seems able to take knocks, however I use it with the accompanying plastic phone case. Didn’t care for the custom screws etc.

Software: [+] Nothing OS feels like what a great custom ROM would be like – a Google Pixel experience with just the right customisations, base software and fuss free usage. All apps that I used installed without hiccups. The Nothing Icons and customisations provide a consistent interface experience. Definitely an upgrade over Xiaomi’s OS.

[?] Essential Space/Key is a mixed bag as it serves as a screenshot but without an immediate feedback (you got to check the Essential Space later after capturing with the Essential Key). There are some interesting bits – what really surprised me was that it could translate Japanese and Chinese, extract the information and provide accurate information! (It should work with other languages as well).

Hardware: [+] All hardware components (NFC, SD card etc.) were tested and working fine.

[+] Display is great. No complaints.

Battery life is good. Easily 2 days based on casual usage.

[?] CPU: The phone runs competently without any lags for most tasks. Doesn’t heat up. Didn’t test for gaming as I don’t game.

Speaker: Not great but can be fixed partially with Wavelet. I don’t use much as I am on earphones. I happen to think this downside it overemphasized.

[+] SD Card: This is mostly found on mid-range phones, and really works if you have a lot of music or videos. I love the idea of bringing my entire high quality music collection around on the phone without having to use cloud (and pay subscriptions).

Camera: [-] It doesn’t have OIS, which is still a big downer. I have shaky hands.

[+] That being said, the Nothing camera presets are fun and usable! It is a throwback to the early Instagram/niche camera days. No one likes to edit photos after taking the shots. In that regard, the photos do some out quite nicely! The camera app is good enough for the casual user.

Overall: For the price, CP2P feels more at the higher end of mid-range phones given the snappy overall performance and usability. I agreed that many would find the Poco models more performance value for the money – but the niche value (SD card, Nothing OS) works better for what I want.

Happy to share if those interested have any questions.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.