Nov 2012 BTO

betterluck

Hi Guys,
I have applied for the Ghim Moh BTO, first timer here.
I have a query.
My gf's name is included as 2nd owner of her current flat with her dad, but the house(a re-sale hdb flat) is already totally
paid up before her name is included.

Are we actually eligible to apply for the BTO?

bold10

Hi Guys,
I have a query.
My gf's name is included as 2nd owner of her current flat with her dad, but the house(a re-sale hdb flat) is already totally
Paid up before her name is included.

Are we actually eligible to apply for

No. She need to withdraw her name

bearine

Hi Guys,
I have a query.
Paid up before her name is included.

Are we actually eligible to apply for

No. She need to withdraw her name

Would she be considered as a 1st or 2nd timer?
And, a 1st timer + 2nd timer = 1st or 2nd timer? or depends on the main applicant?

pasutida

If you have gotten a q number, it wont be void immediately.

But you better ask her father to remove her name from her current flat. I have heard this case before and the couple got rejected when selecting the flat because the mother refused to take the girl's name out.

Hi Guys,
I have a query.

tapir_

Grassroot Organisation Scheme

oh my.. 'guan xi'..:eek:

they do not assess your eligibility at the point of application, only during selection will they assess your income etc. The reason they require such a long time is perhaps to suss out as to who qualify for the Grassroots Organisation Scheme so as to give them a gd ballot number...

From HDB website
Applications under the Resettlement/Relocation and Grassroots Organisation Schemes would require recommendations from the appropriate authorities managing the schemes.

i'm really curious about the "Grassroots Organisation Scheme"! what is it exactly? it's interesting that it doesn't seem to be public information, instead hdb and all the GR orgs seem to want to keep it as quiet as possible. no offence to bros and sis who are helping the community in the GRO. but i think if more people knew about it, there would be many new volunteers :p including me hahaha.

not very fair if such a priority scheme exists but it's only open to those "in the know". in comparison, details of the other schemes like MCPS, stay-near-parents etc are so easily found on the HDB website but not the GRO?

why why why? :s11::s12::s11:

Wullaby

i'm really curious about the "Grassroots Organisation Scheme"! what is it exactly? it's interesting that it doesn't seem to be public information, instead hdb and all the GR orgs seem to want to keep it as quiet as possible. no offence to bros and sis who are helping the community in the GRO. but i think if more people knew about it, there would be many new volunteers :p including me hahaha.

not very fair if such a priority scheme exists but it's only open to those "in the know". in comparison, details of the other schemes like MCPS, stay-near-parents etc are so easily found on the HDB website but not the GRO?

I just think its unfair, while we should recognise the contributions of the grassroots volunteers, it should be in terms of recognition and not privileges. These are people who help because they want to contribute to the community and give back to society. Giving them priority in getting public housing is taking back their contributions that they have given.

What kind of message are we giving with such a scheme? :eek::eek::eek:

Myst90

Bro, from what I think if this speculation of the GRC scheme is true and made known online, there will definitely be a sudden surge in the numbers of volunteers.. hence this volunteers would be more of a short term volunteer whom are more into the benefits than other things.. haha.. no offence.. just sharing my point of view..

Snap11

Would she be considered as a 1st or 2nd timer?
And, a 1st timer + 2nd timer = 1st or 2nd timer? or depends on the main applicant?

considered as first timer when she apply with her spouse. But she will need to remove her name from the current flat. And if she did pay for the hse previously the person taking over her name will have to pay back all the amount she has previously paid when she remove her name.

twinklingstars

If not you think why people will be so free to help out in the meet the people session or house visit? Other than priority queues, they also enjoy other privileges like free parking I think, get to mingle with MPs, can network with rich and powerful people .. read it somewhere before you need to volunteer for a few years.. think they only allow you to apply for bto in the areas which you volunteered in. You just need to submit the forms and they will review it. If you pass, they will make sure you get a decent queue number during the balloting...

Also heard from others that for those balance flats, they give priority to RC people... Apparently the RC people will be notified first, if they are keen in purchasing, they can come down to choose, unlike general public who needs to go through balloting.

tapir_

Bro, from what I think if this speculation of the GRC scheme is true and made known online, there will definitely be a sudden surge in the numbers of volunteers.. hence this volunteers would be more of a short term volunteer whom are more into the benefits than other things.. haha.. no offence.. just sharing my point of view..

haha very very true bro, i would be one of the short-term volunteers too. :s13: agree with Wullaby and Myst90, volunteers should be in it to truly serve the community instead of for the benefits. i had a few ex-colleagues who volunteer at the RC/CCC, one of them admitted he was doing it for the benefits like free parking at the multi-storey carpark. another one was obviously doing so to network and get close to the MP/minister. just feel that things should be more transparent. :mad:

anyway, for those who want to know more like me, i managed to dig this link up after some searching. read somewhere oso (but can't find the link now) that volunteers who manage to get a flat under this scheme have to keep serving, minimum duuration at least until they collect the keys.

www (dot) singaporeupdate (dot) com (forwardslash) previous2004 (forwardslash) previous290504_hdblaunchesthepinnancleatduxton_more (dot) htm

Priority for Grassroots Organisation (GRO) members

6 HDB sets aside 5% of flat supply in each electoral ward (subject to a minimum of 6 flats) for priority allocation to GRO members in recognition to the services of the Grassroots leaders.

tapir_

yes agreed, twinklingstars.... so sad but true! thanks for sharing ur info, good to know what kind of system we ordinary folks are up against. .

no wonder they need 3 weeks to release the ballot number even though it's computer-generated. :mad:

slothbal

haha very very true bro, i would be one of the short-term volunteers too. :s13: agree with Wullaby and Myst90, volunteers should be in it to truly serve the community instead of for the benefits. i had a few ex-colleagues who volunteer at the RC/CCC, one of them admitted he was doing it for the benefits like free parking at the multi-storey carpark. another one was obviously doing so to network and get close to the MP/minister. just feel that things should be more transparent. :mad:

anyway, for those who want to know more like me, i managed to dig this link up after some searching. read somewhere oso (but can't find the link now) that volunteers who manage to get a flat under this scheme have to keep serving, minimum duuration at least until they collect the keys.

www (dot) singaporeupdate (dot) com (forwardslash) previous2004 (forwardslash) previous290504_hdblaunchesthepinnancleatduxton_more (dot) htm

Priority for Grassroots Organisation (GRO) members

6 HDB sets aside 5% of flat supply in each electoral ward (subject to a minimum of 6 flats) for priority allocation to GRO members in recognition to the services of the Grassroots leaders.

5%??!!! That's the same for second timers in matured estates (I think most GRC members are only eyeing for mature estate).
That's just so not fair!!! So many second timers eyeing on the pathetic 5% and yet, the same amount of flats are set aside for so few no. Of GRC members. Feel sad for the second times. Too bad we are not any of those white shirts

twinklingstars

yes agreed, twinklingstars.... so sad but true! thanks for sharing ur info, good to know what kind of system we ordinary folks are up against. .

no wonder they need 3 weeks to release the ballot number even though it's computer-generated. :mad:

yup, they need to sieve out those RC people through thousands of applications.. :s22::s8:

actually this is an open secret.. just that its not reported in the papers or explicitly stated on hdb webpage..

betterluck

considered as first timer when she apply with her spouse. But she will need to remove her name from the current flat. And if she did pay for the hse previously the person taking over her name will have to pay back all the amount she has previously paid when she remove her name.

Thanks for input.
Now yet to know the ballot result.
If indeed get a que number, have to remove her name before selection?
What if ended up not selecting?

Wimsey

Thanks for input.
Now yet to know the ballot result.
If indeed get a que number, have to remove her name before selection?
What if ended up not selecting?
If not mistaken, no need to remove name before selection. After select, I think can fill in form to say will remove name from current flat, but her parents need to also sign some sort of form to say will pay back any CPF used from her account.

But to be safe can call HDB hotline - they can tell you for sure.

lzjlee

I hav applied for SK and is aiming for compassvale mast. But I look at the 3rm application rate, Rivervale seems to appeal to quite a number of ppl as well.

I hav been to the Rivervale site but did not notice any plus point there except for the Rivervale mall. Is there anything that I could hav overlooked? Thanks..

charel_ong

I hav applied for SK and is aiming for compassvale mast. But I look at the 3rm application rate, Rivervale seems to appeal to quite a number of ppl as well.

I hav been to the Rivervale site but did not notice any plus point there except for the Rivervale mall. Is there anything that I could hav overlooked? Thanks..

I think rivervale is a good place, fast food, food court, pri schs . But of cus seng kang is the best.. Im ok with either one, as both are near to my SO's parent house. Applied 4 room :)

acetylcholine

Price? The 3Rs at Rivervale are approximately $70,000 cheaper than those at Compassvale.

Furthermore, lower income families may also be attracted to Rivervale because it is a standard project (as opposed to Compassvale which is a premium project) and thus will be eligible for SHG.

cheekybondbond

Hi Guys,
I have a query.

Speaking from experience 5 years ago, no. But after getting ur new flat she has to withdraw her name from the current flat within 6 mths. Any extension subject to approval. Clarify with hdb to be sure.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.