Now primary school tuition is $125 p hour?

stingray1211

root memorisation and hard work getting all As meant nothing.

if your brain cannot innovate or think of new things . you are just as useless as anyone else..

seen so many scholars , really is brainless one. no 10 year series or help , cannot do ther job well. end up need the non scholars to think of solution for them. what a joke. end up everyone talk behind their backs as beh kan.

apple459721

Meant for rich parents.
Not for poor.
Poor smart will be left behind.
Rich on move up.
In the end, those rich one if one day successful, will not know the ground sentiment.

CNA can do study

Poor use chatgpt pro & self study vs Rich use both tutor & chatgpt pro.

who will perform better in exams 😂

ckling

If a child can study and smart they dont need tuition…
If they need tuition its obviously fked
My daughter never go tuition,this year p6, whole class only 2 has no tuition.

arsenalfc85

tuition is a lucrative business.
but v competitive too.

see so many tuition centres outside.

even home tutors also v competitive. Easier to find students if u are female. if u are male, harder to find students. Most (99%) parents prefer female tutors.

hachi

My daughter never go tuition,this year p6, whole class only 2 has no tuition.
Same... My 2 kids as well... We guide them ourselves. Now sec 3 and 1. During their primary days.. They are the only one in class without tuition...

JM_LAU

The only subject i feared the most and is my achillies heel in education era was mathematics, i need tuition for that, lucky i found 1 private tutor that is damn good, we became lifelong friends when we grow up, he gotten married and have kids, long time nvr contact him liao. So yes in my opinion only maths need tuition, other subject are just 读死书📚, but maths 是活的, canot just memorize, need to understand the essence.

ahnyaahnya

Meant for rich parents.
Not for poor.
Poor smart will be left behind.
Rich on move up.
In the end, those rich one if one day successful, will not know the ground sentiment.
Actually, nowadays they can seek extra help from their school teachers , no?

ahnyaahnya

Same... My 2 kids as well... We guide them ourselves. Now sec 3 and 1. During their primary days.. They are the only one in class without tuition...
Most parents are educated. Can tutor the Pr children as and when necessary. Just need to be disciplined and patient . Except perhaps CL.
Sec is when parents may have difficulty in certain subjects

hachi

Most parents are educated. Can tutor the Pr children as and when necessary. Just need to be disciplined and patient . Except perhaps CL.
Sec is when parents may have difficulty in certain subjects
Concur this... Many like to spend money on their kids... Don't want to spend time... Weird... They rather stick to their phone and wait outside for their kids...

Now is very very hard to find uneducated parents... Unlike the gen X and before...

mikhail_k

if its ex HOD of top GEP primary school and also an ex-invigilator/ex-PSLE marker or from curriculum development branch in MOE, then yes can be that or abit higher until 200

rich ppl pay a premium for the edge to get into an IP school, most ppl wont understand that kind of high SES thinking

sauce from fren who run tuition agency that give out assignments

mikhail_k

$125/hr is chop carrot head price liao.

It's like paying a personal trainer $300/hr to teach you how to use the gym machine.
not if you are aiming very high. IP schools have a very high rate of sending ppl to ivy uni compared to normal sch, ppl will pay the premium, similarly to why mma fighters go out of their way to pay thousands to a conditioning coach to help them fight camp when they already are so fit. if the stakes are high, ppl will pay

for most ppl they nt aiming high, just want get into express, then they feel is chop carrot

jgrader

Where is the place that charge so high price?

If find this price too expensive, you can choose another place with lower option.
1 to 1 travel to your home tutor ..moe trained teacher....good money be tutor one day can earn $500 minimum including travel n down time

WarMage87

not if you are aiming very high. IP schools have a very high rate of sending ppl to ivy uni compared to normal sch, ppl will pay the premium, similarly to why mma fighters go out of their way to pay thousands to a conditioning coach to help them fight camp when they already are so fit. if the stakes are high, ppl will pay

for most ppl they nt aiming high, just want get into express, then they feel is chop carrot
I feel it's a chop carrot head price in all honesty.

I don't see how a $200/hr tutor can deliver 3 times+ the results of a $60/hr tutor.

UNLESS the $200/hr tutor got kang tao to help your kid DSA into IP sch, then different case lah.

Let the free market decide bah. I do know of parents who don't mind getting carroted at $200/hr.

hachi

if its ex HOD of top GEP primary school and also an ex-invigilator/ex-PSLE marker or from curriculum development branch in MOE, then yes can be that or abit higher until 200

rich ppl pay a premium for the edge to get into an IP school, most ppl wont understand that kind of high SES thinking

sauce from fren who run tuition agency that give out assignments
But if the the kid is not at the level, will suffer. Like my bro, he keep trying for DSA. I told him if his kid not at that level... He will suffer... They are different from others..

He still insists on using his network...

WarMage87

I'll be very happy to pay $60/hr for those undergrad MOE scholar over $200/hr MOE HoD blah blah blah tutors.

Find them to be over-rated imo.

WarMage87

1 to 1 travel to your home tutor ..moe trained teacher....good money be tutor one day can earn $500 minimum including travel n down time
This kind of thing is demand and supply lor.

Got people willing to pay, confirm got ppl willing to do one de.

niefeng80

I heard of a case a male tutor who is 5 years older than the student eventually paktor with the female student which the student go uni after JC.

mikhail_k

I feel it's a chop carrot head price in all honesty.

I don't see how a $200/hr tutor can deliver 3 times+ the results of a $60/hr tutor.

UNLESS the $200/hr tutor got kang tao to help your kid DSA into IP sch, then different case lah.

Let the free market decide bah. I do know of parents who don't mind getting carroted at $200/hr.
it is likely if the tutor is ex HOD or what, they understand the deliberation of the DSA panel, they were on the GEP selection panel, and other very micro add-ons. but of course, some ppl just market themselves very well and ppl tio carrot. in the end really free market

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.