NSF takes father to court to pay S$1,000 per month in advance for his university course fees........

Senna Wales

Is either hungry enough to study hard work on the grades so can study for free otherwise be hungry enough.. seek opportunities work part time to fund own studies. Thats my definition of hungry.
More people than you think "study hard, work hard", they don't get the same results. From baby, parents got money for enrichment classes, got money for tuition, can volunteer in good schools, etc. Nothing is equal.

VB6LQuj.jpeg

ctan84

Judge Kow noted that the Women's Charter "does not specifically oblige a parent to fund his or her child's tertiary education".

previously, there was a case of gal sued parent for overseas study, the judge sided her. Why no more?
First, in that case its a GUY, not a girl. 2ndly, the case was appealed to the High Court level and the outcome was the same as this present case - the father did NOT have to pay for the son's overseas study. The reasoning was the same as this current case's one. Which means, the district judge in the family court prior to the appeal screwed up.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...order-to-pay-60-of-adult-sons-overseas-degree

wwenze

Where u get ur 90% stats from? Institutions also provide many scholarships and clan associations as well. Corporate scholarships without bonds are many. Students are so fortunate can basically shop for it. dun mentioned those Govt and overseas one. If one is hungry enough will surely have means to get it
My family per-capita income back then was $800, didn't qualify for shyt, only got the loan from DBS. Live life before talking about it tyvm.

ChuppaChups

My family per-capita income back then was $800, didn't qualify for shyt, only got the loan from DBS. Live life before talking about it tyvm.
Bursary should qualify for today’s standard given by the institution internally. Too bad for ur time if u dun qualify.

newborn1000

Lols , instagram vs real life.................

Evidence undisputed by the son showed that the father was in fact in "dire financial straits", noted the judge.

He was indebted to five banks and was on various repayment plans to discharge these debts. The father said he had incurred these debts while running his construction business.

newborn1000

I find the negotiation skills of the son lacking

He noted that the father was "visibly and genuinely sad that the son had turned to the law to compel him to fund the SIT course".

"According to the father, the son had not called him for a long time, and the first time that he came to know of the latter's intention to pursue an SIT course was on receiving (notice of this case)," said Judge Kow.

"The father teared when he stressed that he was prepared to help the son - 'not because the law says so' - but as a parent."

wwenze

Is it because SIT?

If NUS would the dad be happier?

AUTUMN&WINTER

I pity the nsf, may be he really cannot afford the uni fee. If his dad can afford branded for his 2nd wife, it's his responsibility to pay for his son's uni fee. He didn't ask to be born.

skylink67

Char Siew kid want advance payment for the SIT course "he gonna apply in 2025". Whether he can secure a slot is unclear.

The dad offered to allow his son to loan his CPF for payment of the course in court. But guess they didn't have the chance to discuss this.

otakuflick

I pity the nsf, may be he really cannot afford the uni fee. If his dad can afford branded for his 2nd wife, it's his responsibility to pay for his son's uni fee. He didn't ask to be born

I hate this didn't ask to be born thing, BS maximum

blame sky, blame earth, blame father, blame mother .......

Billions of people out there, 200 countries to go, endless places to go. Some choose stay still whining.

Never asked to be born, father got ask him to breath?

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
wow
serious ahh ..

this ginna have yet to earn his keeps but wants to be supported thru' his future studies

michael_thm

Firstly, after 21 yo dun need to pay for education
Secondly, where got such thing as pay in advance? LOL that's the biggest joke
Actually PAP should be the one paying. Coz if no need NS, he would have gone to university at 19/20 obligating the father to pay. If say daughter 19 go university, father can refuse to pay? So it is clearly PAP's fault that the son missed the opportunity to have his education paid for by the father loh.

CSI.Hippo

I pity the nsf, may be he really cannot afford the uni fee. If his dad can afford branded for his 2nd wife, it's his responsibility to pay for his son's uni fee. He didn't ask to be born.
He can give his life back if he doesn't want to be born

TheApathetic

KNN. now kids chao siew...

i paid for my poly & uni fees.
Earn and pay own self lah.. man enough after ns learn to be responsible..

I earn my own allowance and school fee for poly le...
Did you guys paid for your school fees because you wanted to pay off yourself or because your parents had no money to pay for you and you had no choice but to work?

TheApathetic

Actually PAP should be the one paying. Coz if no need NS, he would have gone to university at 19/20 obligating the father to pay. If say daughter 19 go university, father can refuse to pay? So it is clearly PAP's fault that the son missed the opportunity to have his education paid for by the father loh.
This is actually valid.

TheApathetic

I hate this didn't ask to be born thing, BS maximum

blame sky, blame earth, blame father, blame mother .......

Billions of people out there, 200 countries to go, endless places to go. Some choose stay still whining.

Never asked to be born, father got ask him to breath?
Human once born will be afraid of death and seek self preservation

2_sillies_trap

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.