NTU - Electrical & Electronic Engineering (Part Time)

As far as what PaulKami mentioned in his astute observation of part-time Engineering degree in NTU versus the part-time NUS B.Tech, I'll like to proffer my opinions as well. First of all, to reiterate what PaulKami has already mentioned, NTU all along has the tradition of making sure the "mileage" covered by part-timers are equitable to those taking full-time, this is very true in literally all courses including post-graduate ones notwithstanding from bachelor courses. In other words, any part-timers take exactly the same paper as full-timers and have to compete with full-timers for the grades on the bell-curve. In my opinion, it's definitely much harder to do very well as in score straight As with high GPA and qualify for first-class honours in NTU if you're doing it part-time.

On the flip-side, I had a friend who studied in B.Tech (EE) and did extremely well to get his first-class honours. Now the thing is he's not those scholar type to begin with but hardworking nonetheless and I believed the nature of how B.Tech is structured as in he's competing amongst his cohort of part-timers definitely played a part to a certain extent. But if you were to do the same comparison with NTU B.Eng (part-time), it's not going to be exactly that easy to attain the same results as my friend who did his NUS B.Tech even if you put in a herculean effort.

Kyoji83

Are you sure NUS BTech have only 2 branches such as B.Tech ME & B.Tech EEE?

The main question is are you sure NUS have BTech(EEE)?

hi teckhuat :) it's like B.Tech has 2 branches... B.Tech ME & B.Tech EEE

sgtiarella

sorry guys, i've edited #40...

NUS B.Tech offers Chem, Electronics, Industrial & Mgmt, Mech... my mistake for only mentioning 2 of 4 at first...

btech.eng.nus.edu.sg/BTech/About/Overview.aspx

teckhuat_85

sorry guys, i've edited #40...

NUS B.Tech offers Chem, Electronics, Industrial & Mgmt, Mech... my mistake for only mentioning 2 of 4 at first...

btech.eng.nus.edu.sg/BTech/About/Overview.aspx

so what you mean is EE(electronic Engineering) and not EEE(Electrical & Electronic Engineering)...

sgtiarella

hi teckhuat_85 :) yes.. specifically.. NUS's is EE..

hi Paladine_Solamnia :) over the weekend i come to understand more of what u & PaulKami mean.. NTU's part-time is much tougher cos it's like i'll be taking the full-time degree, only that it's converted to night class :s22:

NTU pt has more "substance".. getting the cert won't let me feel like i lose out to other engineering grads in terms of knowledge..

NUS pt is 1 yr shorter (if follow recommended schedule).. instead of drilling on fundamentals (physics, language, more math), they go straight to the actual stuff..

thanks to everyone who has replied to my posts!! :)

PaulKami

hi teckhuat_85 :) yes.. specifically.. NUS's is EE..

hi Paladine_Solamnia :) over the weekend i come to understand more of what u & PaulKami mean.. NTU's part-time is much tougher cos it's like i'll be taking the full-time degree, only that it's converted to night class :s22:

NTU pt has more "substance".. getting the cert won't let me feel like i lose out to other engineering grads in terms of knowledge..

NUS pt is 1 yr shorter (if follow recommended schedule).. instead of drilling on fundamentals (physics, language, more math), they go straight to the actual stuff..

thanks to everyone who has replied to my posts!! :)

To summarise something quickly. If you're eligible for any of the part time there meaning you've got yourself a job. Ask yourself if you'll be progressing further in that company before making that decision. Some company recognise NUS part time degree and you'll be surprise at people getting promoted faster for NUS part time degree. I've know of about 15-20 classmates, many of them local and very little percentage actually get that opportunity in their existing company. Yes, they are like me, doing poly position job after graduate.

Good luck dude, I know you'll be strong enough to get this through :)

tidalstorm

Would like to offer my view as a b tech (EE, in case you want to know) student,.

On paper, this course is a 4 year course but not sure if u know that u need to take up modules during special semester (may-July) and you can only enjoy your holidays from July-aug and end nov-dec. So if you take out the special sem mods, this course is essentially a 4.5 years course.

To those who think we fight for grades among our part time cohort is partially wrong. 80 % of the modules we took are with full timers, same paper, same bell curve so we part timers always end up at the bottom .... Of course we tend to get a better grade if compete among part time cohorts.

If u think 3 mods per sem is relaxing, then u wrong Liao. Most of the the time sure have one killer mod hidden, ie ( need lab work and exam) so u need to attend 2 days of class for that 1 mod! Really <_^%#^]*{~!

The first 2 years of basic modules really make a lot of peeps dropped out.... If gap hits below 2, nus ask u go lim kopi, fail to buck up and you are out.

I was offered ntu and nus but took up nus and did not regret... Till now. Not sure why nus want to short change b tech peeps by differentiating part time and full time degree, perhaps b tech does not offer power mods for their EE. FYI, b tech from mechanical and civil eng is eligible for PE certification.

B tech is abt consistency as exam result only accounts for only 50 to 65 percent of total weightage unlike ntu of 80 percent. So if u no form during exams still not so bad if your CA is good before going for exams.

To those who think we fight for grades among our part time cohort is partially wrong. 80 % of the modules we took are with full timers, same paper, same bell curve so we part timers always end up at the bottom .... Of course we tend to get a better grade if compete among part time cohorts.

Hi tidal, I don't exactly profess to know what goes on in B.Tech (EE) but based on your above statement, it deviates slightly from my understanding. First of all, isn't B.Tech a part-time degree ? If it's a part-time degree how is it you're competing with full-timers and taking the same paper 80% of the time?

Moreover, take for instance, the B.tech prospectus AY2013/2014 indicated under EE for Elective modules in Computer Engineering have similar names like those in Full-time B.Eng (Computer Engineering) but they have subtle different course code numbers. Eg. Computer Communications Networks I is EE3204E in B.Tech (EE) but it's EE3204 in B.Eng (CE). Next example, Computer Architecture is EE3207E in B.Tech (EE) but it's CG3207 in B.Eng (CE).
Unless you're saying that different course code numbers with similar course names equates to same paper, otherwise, I don't think NUS recycles papers which means you most likely took different papers from full-time B.Eng (CE) if you happened to take these Elective modules.

Furthermore, taking a closer look at the disciplines in full-time B.Eng offered by NUS, there is no full-time B.Eng (Electronics Engineering) equivalent of B.Tech (EE). The only titles that appear to mean the same thing between the full-time and part-time degrees accorded is Chemical and Mechanical Engineering. This infers that you most likely will not be able to sit for same paper as full-timers since there is no such discipline in full-time B.Eng in the first place.

Please feel free to correct me. I'm happy that such information is shared to enlighten myself and the general populace of this forum.

rollbread

Since when part timers take exam with full timers? Part time and full time module number also not same, how to take exam tgt :s11: Bell curve for both is also different leh.....you heard all these from others isit :s22:

teckhuat_85

i think he might be talking about NTU and not NUS. I had fren studying in NTU and they told me they compete with fulll timer. But my fren in NUS didnt mention this at all.

tidalstorm

I am talking about Nus. If the module code is the same for example signals and systems module code Ee2023 for full time and ee2023e for part time, it is the same module and same paper. The extra e for part time simply means it is evening class. But paper is the same . I was there taking that dam paper with the full timers at the multi purpose sports hall. My last sem 3 mods all took with full timers, so if yr paper at multi purpose sports hall, most likely gg Liao.

Those mode with TE means it is only for part timers. EExxxxE most likely is taking with full timers.

Hope this clarifies .

@tidalstorm, I see. Perhaps in NUS the system is unique where course code differences mean the same paper. At NTU, the same exam hall can have different papers for different exams going on simultaneously at the same time. Taking exams with full-timers in the same exam hall doesn't necessarily equate to taking the same paper.

teckhuat_85

Yup.. i agree the same exam hall can have different papers for different exams going on simultaneously at the same time.

But this NUS b.tech is specially cater for part timer. Shouldn't the paper be difference?

I took part time diploma and the papers are different from the full timer even thought they share similar code with difference at the front or back of code.

tidalstorm just to clarify, is that what your lecturer told you or is it just your assumption? (just clarify for the benefit of all and not doubting you. Hope you don't mind)

tidalstorm

Ok. The multi purpose hall analogy caused some confusion. I know multi purpose hall can hold 2 different exams. Usually for part timers only paper, it will be held in auditorium as class size is small for part timers.

I know my cohort people, those looks unfamiliar and very young one are full timers...

I go find the exam paper, the cover page heading will put EE2023/EE2023E. Think this should be conclusive.

Usually for mods taking with ful timers, the full time prof will teach the part timers like wat they did to full timers .

If u are keen , pm me yr email address and I send u the exam paper. So u can verify for yourself.

Part timers not having it easy in nus now.

chengwei

same hall doesnt mean same paper.
at least I've not encountered it before (chemical), where the part time and full time paper are exactly the same.

even if same paper, from what I know, btech and full time not graded under same bell curve.

rollbread

If not wrong so far heard from my friend that only 3 module where full time and part time is same paper and its from year 1 and 2.

But 100% confirmed is that full time and part time is different bell curve. Heard from prof that once got a gal took the full timer paper by mistake and they have difficulties marking and even considered asking her to retake the paper. Both is same module name but different module code.

svthrock

Hi Guys, I am applying for NTU EEE part time. My GPA is 3.11 with 1.5 years working experience related field. Any idea if I stand a chance to get a placing? Anyone applied successfully for NTU EEE part time? Please share your GPA. thanks!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.