dralf said:
dont know about that. but juz go chiong b4 they change format lor :s12: :s12:
he said they changing the format this sem...but who knows :o

dralf

GER-AHSS
HC802E UNDERSTANDING CHINESE CINEMAS

relaxing course to take. every week just go there watch movie and listen to the lecturer. Conducted in english. (there's another module code for chinese)usually the lecturer will discuss about the movie screened last week, then he will screen the next movie.
note: don't talk while he is explaining, but talk if he ask for class participation, else if he will become :mad: and sit there diao u all till u all become quiet. overall quite a nice guy, will crack jokes now and then.
movies shown are usually from old to recent. comes with english subtitles. got some RA :s34: and even one show totally banned in sg for promoting alternate lifestyle. (and that's actually the best show in the lot IMO)
Got one written essay to be done during the recess week. (quite easy, it's on one of the subject portrayed in the movie). then exams is choose dunno 4 or 5 essays out of 7 or 8 essays. (forgot liao:o )
I SU-ed the module, so dunno how much I should have get. but i find the exam quite easy. juz talk cok only can liao.
below is the list of movies that they screened.
Goddess. Dir. Wu Yonggang. 1934.
One-Armed Swordsman. Dir. Chang Che. 1967.
Intimate Confessions of a Chinese Courtesan Dir. Chu Yuan. 1972.
Formula 17. Dir. Chen Yin Jung. 2004.
Judou. Dir. Zhang Yimou. 1989.
City of Sadness. Dir. Hou Hsiao Hsien. 1989.
Days of Being Wild. Dir. Wong Kar Wai. 1991.
The Wayward Cloud. Dir. Tsai Ming Liang. 2005.
Comrades, Almost a Love Story. Dir. Peter Chan. 1996. (dont rem watching this one, i think they switched to 15 by Royston Tan)

dralf

Qannik said:
he said they changing the format this sem...but who knows :o
change also nvr mind. i'd already take my jiamtao and zao liao :D

siandiao

FE1003 Chemistry - siandiao

All those who took Chemistry in 'A' levels will love this one. This will be a guaranteed A for them. Like all Chemistry, it has Physical, & Organic. You need some memory work on Organic, but Physical is quite easy if you have a flair for mathematical and mechanical stuff. As said, easy for those who took Chemistry in A level before (NOT O level), but for the rest, you need to memorize harder for Organic

siandiao

FE1005 Material Science - siandiao

This is another weird core. For different semester, different schools will teach the subject. For my time, MSE taught B group, while MAE taught A group (mine). Because of this, the syllabus will be slightly different too (e.g. we don't learn optics stuff while B group does). The experience will be slightly different, so I'll talk about my experience. For us, we die die have to buy printed notes from Christopher Shearwood, as he die die don't want to upload his notes into edventure. The rest of the lecturers will be boring. Also, we do not have tutorials every week, and we have two quizzes, which happens relative early in the semester, compared to other cores. Tip is to grasp the concept well.

siandiao

EE2008 Data Structures and Algorithms - siandiao
EEE Year 2 Core

This may sound the same as CPE105, but actually, it is vastly different. Firstly, we learn all in pseudocode, while they've to learn in Java. Secondly, all are very theory based, means no lab. Thirdly, for algorithm section, you will not be required (usually) to write down the pseudocode. You just need to remember how a particular algorithm works, and write out the steps as to how a microcomputer will work. In addition, you've to know the big O (no not the orgasm), the runtime of an algorithm. It is a very easy subject. Even those that dabao Computing said that this subject is easy. Overall, it is much more mathematical than IT.

siandiao

UE
Minor in Business

MB101 Accounting - siandiao
(May not be accurate as I took it during special semester)

This is considered the hardest amongst the 3 compulsory biz minor subjects. It is virtually AA101 & AA102 squeezed together, and I mean, really squeezed together. Nothing is reduced whatsoever. Only thing is whatever is tested in the exam are in lesser magnitude than AA101/AA102 exams. You'll learn Financial & Managerial Accounting, and both are not easy. There are lots of conventions to remember, especially the "Prepare a statement of cash flow, using the indirect method under Singapore FRS7 context", which isn't taught in the American textbook. And oh yes, like all other NBS classes, having a textbook is a must. Only tip is to think mechanically when you do debiting and crediting, step by step. And yes, there are presentations to be done, just like any other NBS classes

siandiao

UE
Minor in Business

MB102 Business Finance - siandiao

(Note: As the coordinator has already changed since 2008, The below review no longer applies)

Oman! This is considered the easiest course among the 3 compulsory subjects! (Applicable during normal semester nia). One of the lecturers, and also possibly a coordinator (depends on which semester), worships Warren Buffet so much that he told us that most of the things in the syllabus are outdated, and thus, he emphasizes on certain topics, which he finds it still relevant to today's world. Get to his tutorial classes and I guarantee that you'll be fine (PST me for more details). Presentation as well, like all other NBS classes, but it is the least demanding of all. In fact it is almost negligible. It is extremely hard to fail, or even get a C, for this subject, unless you purposely want to.

siandiao

UE
Minor in Business

MB103 - Principles of Marketing - siandiao

The third compulsory subject for a biz minor, this subject is considered to be of intermediate difficulty. Not very hard, but not very easy. But one thing for sure: very, very fun. Lectures are together with NBS people, so you humsup lohs can go beo the chio bus from NBS. The lecturers (except 1) are very humourous too, they relate marketing to products of today. For tutor, there is only one tutor I know that tutors minor students. Presentations are a hell lot, but manageable. Once again, the tutors will emphasize on certain topics.

Aeternos

Yeah, seconding that thanks, CE freshie here and this list is awesome. Btw, superorange, do you have that list of programming qns you mentioned? can get from you?=

hx

CPE102 Introduction to Programming - hx

This module will teach you the basic concepts of programming. The programming langauge used will be JAVA. For those who have done programming before, this course will be super easy for you, for the rest is a good programming foundation to fall back on later throughout your SCE life. There are lab assignments for you to submit and are graded as your coursework component. I find tutorials a waste of time, but I strongly advice freshman not to skip classes at all

hx

CPE279 Desgin & Develepoment project - hx

This is an intensive 2 week project that is done in the holidays, where you are supposed to apply what you have learnt throughtout your yearr 1 and year 2 subjects to construct and program a mircomouse (robotic mice). You will be graded on how well your mircomouse preform in the stated task, for example, maze travelling and line following. You will be assigned into groups of 5 to 6 for this course.

hx

CPE301 Digital Communications - hx

This course must be taken together with CPE302. In this course, you will be taught how binary signals of computers are converted into communication siganls that can be transmitted. It is a very heavily maths intensive course, in particularily fourier series/transforms. Labs are easily completed and there will be lab quizes every lab.

hx

CPE302 Computer Networks - hx

In this course you will be introduced to the network protocols, eg TCP UDP n others. Labs are easy. Most of the students have no problems scoring for this module.

hx

CPE303 Database Systems - hx

In this course, you will be taught how to design relational databases. Also you will be expected to produce a database on MSSQL as your lab assignment. This is the most time consuming lab in your year 3 in SCE.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.