NTU penalises 3 students for use of AI tools, they dispute university’s findings

Warocks

i see youtube even nus guy in cs using chatgpt for their projects

yildun

Link is just copy and insert. What typo? Who types out links?

How many of you edmwers got typos in your links during work?

XCalintz

Kaobei lah your job gonna be taken over by AI liao still want to stop people from using and learning AI.

Why so sensitive? I nvr said ban AI.

I am saying even using AI, you guys can still make mistakes in citations. What sort of skills level is that?

Still wanna argue what?

CantStopWhining

It is indeed true based on what the student shared is that prof never cover the citation part. but then you will also think if citation is part of your essay or not?

not trying to side with the prof, but maybe the student can appeal along this line, but it is really weak.

and back to the question why is she not using traditional reference/citations manager like endnote or mendeley?
Citations are part of the essay... it's just at the last page.

Okay, fair enough. I went to ask my old friend Google and citation is part of the essay. So I guess NTU can adopt strict interpretation on the essays.

uncle_josh

I guess all of you all here are too dumb to understand what the students did, so here I am to explain.

If what the student says is true, basically the dumbass prof Sabrina Luk cannot tell if the students used AI one. The moment she sees links that are dead, she assumes the students used AI that hallucinated the references and failed them.

However the students claim they merely made typos nia and updated the links. Also claim that some of the sources went down after they submitted the assignment, so the references were not made by AI. The prof Sabrina Luk has acknowledged the updated references liao, but the school does not want to backpedal on the zero grade.

I can't tell 100% if the students are lying or not, but I can tell what they say can be true. Citing such articles can be quite hard one, especially when u read many sources and then all the content mixed up in your head. You just type the content and put the wrong source and never check. Pretty sure I have done similar in my time, except my time got no AI lah so obviously is honest mistake. HWZ BBFA might be too stupid to go local uni, so straightaway say is student fault never check. But so easy to do 100% correct then give this kind of homework for what?

Anyway all these luddite professors are stupid lah. If the AI can do better than you in writing that using it is considered cheating, why wouldn't the students simply use it when they get to workplace? Why ban AI use leh? It's like banning the use of a calculator. You for sure will use a calculator for important arithmetic one loh.
Empty vessel makes so much noise.
Please re-read post #1 again.
Stupid Prof ban AI throughout the semester.
Lazy Student make citation to invalid links.

Poor Leadership leads the men to their death !!!!

uncle_josh

Why so sensitive? I nvr said ban AI.

I am saying even using AI, you guys can still make mistakes in citations. What sort of skills level is that?

Still wanna argue what?
AI shouldn't be making this kind of mistake.
If AI can make this kind of stupid mistake,
不用也罢

haveyourcake

I will be on your side following your argument except that I think the prof is fooking stupid for banning AI. Especially since she cannot properly draw the line on what is AI and what is not.

Anyway, only one student used studycrumb. The others did not. Why still fail?

Anyway one day the prof is gonna look like a retard for failing students for using studycrumb when future uni courses all use AI freely, lol.
the studycrumb person is the only one that has some probable cause because they claim they only use the citation feature. But this is basically he say she say territory because studycrumb also offers ghostwriting/ AI powered services.

the others just blatantly used AI but think they above the system so never cover their ass, so they deserve to get burnt.

Anw, stupid or not, rules are rules. She set them and clearly stated 0 AI, so if the student dont like they got the option to drop the course.

haveyourcake

Yeah it seems the student also used chatgpt. I don’t know how she or he can argue until he or she didn’t use. No wonder NTU didn’t bother with the appeal.
the citation student also used chatgpt in the assignment? whoa where you find this info

haveyourcake

Lol thanks for explaining

I read the reddit thread also.

Edmw everyday kpkb MSM is biased, but end up also anyhow accuse the students of misdemeanors
I think this is one of the rare cases where edmw has the logical view - I've been on the reddit thread. originally when the student post he just say the citation service got problem, but diam diam when people assume its endnote/zotero.

Now it turns out after the news broke then they say actually its an AI platform BUT they only use it because its the first search result. How much more information is being hidden? This is not a y1 student leh, its a graduating student, summore the site offers ghostwriting services. NTU has every right to be suspicious since all the evidence the student provided can be easily fabricated.

Reddit as long as you suspect the student of anything can just enjoy getting downvoted to oblivion lol.

astopip

Citations prove that your content is correct. Citations wrong already, content how? In science there is DOI. There's also link archival services to preserve the content that you used for the paper in case the site gets updated. There's no excuse for laziness.

djkopikat

https://theindependent.sg/more-stud...false-ai-cheating-accusation/#google_vignette

SINGAPORE: A student at Nanyang Technological University (NTU) has claimed that his future has been upended thanks to being falsely accused of using generative AI in an essay, leading to more students stepping forward with similar grievances against the same professor.

In an update posted a day later, the student revealed that they are not alone. At least five students from the same modules, listed as HA4040 and HA3026, have allegedly been accused of AI misuse by the same professor. Two students told the OP that faced the same consequences: a failing grade and a permanent record of academic fraud.

If professor no sue means it must be the truth! Cheaters become victims nao!

Justrade

Heard there are some AI tools that can pickup those articles done using AI - not wholesales.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.