NTU penalises 3 students for use of AI tools, they dispute university’s findings

Purplestars

Lol thanks for explaining

I read the reddit thread also.

Edmw everyday kpkb MSM is biased, but end up also anyhow accuse the students of misdemeanors
Only 3 boomer uncle BBFA in this thread forever blame next gen as strawberry one lah. Got chance to bash youngsters sure bash, even though they themselves are incompetent.

We all know someone like that in real life, lol.

Purplestars

Self-fulfilling prophecy...

Rely too much on Chatgpt => ownself taonaokangkang => graduate liao replaced by AI
Why so scared replaced by AI? It is my dream that all jobs are replaced by AI and robots.

Dunno why EDMW loves jobs and working so much. Really kenna brainwashed by PAP that working and capitalism is good.

Purplestars

Stupid. If I am from the school. Ask him to sabo his course mate out. Sabo more than 10 . Won't get zero. But 10 point deduct
You smart enough to get into the school then say lah. Never even do such assignments before come here talk big.

duhduhduh

I guess all of you all here are too dumb to understand what the students did, so here I am to explain.

If what the student says is true, basically the dumbass prof Sabrina Luk cannot tell if the students used AI one. The moment she sees links that are dead, she assumes the students used AI that hallucinated the references and failed them.

However the students claim they merely made typos nia and updated the links. Also claim that some of the sources went down after they submitted the assignment, so the references were not made by AI. The prof Sabrina Luk has acknowledged the updated references liao, but the school does not want to backpedal on the zero grade.

I can't tell 100% if the students are lying or not, but I can tell what they say can be true. Citing such articles can be quite hard one, especially when u read many sources and then all the content mixed up in your head. You just type the content and put the wrong source and never check. Pretty sure I have done similar in my time, except my time got no AI lah so obviously is honest mistake. HWZ BBFA might be too stupid to go local uni, so straightaway say is student fault never check. But so easy to do 100% correct then give this kind of homework for what?

Anyway all these luddite professors are stupid lah. If the AI can do better than you in writing that using it is considered cheating, why wouldn't the students simply use it when they get to workplace? Why ban AI use leh? It's like banning the use of a calculator. You for sure will use a calculator for important arithmetic one loh.

Everyone likes the story of "David versus Goliath" and wants the smaller party to win... but in this case it is slightly different.

Anyone who are still in Uni can chime in, but based on ST news, the use of AI Gen tool is allowed in uni as long as it is properly cited, and not used as replacement for their intellectual contribution.

In this scenario in this course, the prof mentioned no AI usage at all, which is clear.

The student in this case where 1 of them used studycrumb to generate her citations instead of using the usual endnote/mendeley to generate her references. Stuycrumb on the website indicated that it is an AI tool to generate citations, and is also a tool used to generate essays/content. I mean we are clear she never used the tool to generate her piece of work but for citations.

But from this front, it is clear the student has breached the rules in using the AI Gen tool.

If she had used the traditional tool like endnote/mendeley, which is also quite easy to generate the citations if done properly, she would not have these issues.

standarture

One way is to ask ChatGPT whether he used it for the writing lol. ChatGPT can bao toh you one.

XCalintz

Strawberry generations. Citation also cite wrongly!!! Means wrong evidence, nvr check their work. Shld be penalized.

Purplestars

Everyone likes the story of "David versus Goliath" and wants the smaller party to win... but in this case it is slightly different.

Anyone who are still in Uni can chime in, but based on ST news, the use of AI Gen tool is allowed in uni as long as it is properly cited, and not used as replacement for their intellectual contribution.

In this scenario in this course, the prof mentioned no AI usage at all, which is clear.

The student in this case where 1 of them used studycrumb to generate her citations instead of using the usual endnote/mendeley to generate her references. Stuycrumb on the website indicated that it is an AI tool to generate citations, and is also a tool used to generate essays/content. I mean we are clear she never used the tool to generate her piece of work but for citations.

But from this front, it is clear the student has breached the rules in using the AI Gen tool.

If she had used the traditional tool like endnote/mendeley, which is also quite easy to generate the citations if done properly, she would not have these issues.
I will be on your side following your argument except that I think the prof is fooking stupid for banning AI. Especially since she cannot properly draw the line on what is AI and what is not.

Anyway, only one student used studycrumb. The others did not. Why still fail?

Anyway one day the prof is gonna look like a retard for failing students for using studycrumb when future uni courses all use AI freely, lol.

CantStopWhining

i just now briefly saw that the student's rebuttal in statement 4 was that the prof only mentioned no AI usage for the development or generation of the essay. So citation is a loophole that the prof did not cover and therefore shouldnt penalise the students for it.

To be honest, if i understand what i read briefly, the student's usage for citation organisation is as good as we using word function to organise our citation. the prof is very clear in their instructions (which doesnt include citation section), and therefore makes it not right for the student to be marked down to zero.

XCalintz

I guess all of you all here are too dumb to understand what the students did, so here I am to explain.

If what the student says is true, basically the dumbass prof Sabrina Luk cannot tell if the students used AI one. The moment she sees links that are dead, she assumes the students used AI that hallucinated the references and failed them.

However the students claim they merely made typos nia and updated the links. Also claim that some of the sources went down after they submitted the assignment, so the references were not made by AI. The prof Sabrina Luk has acknowledged the updated references liao, but the school does not want to backpedal on the zero grade.

I can't tell 100% if the students are lying or not, but I can tell what they say can be true. Citing such articles can be quite hard one, especially when u read many sources and then all the content mixed up in your head. You just type the content and put the wrong source and never check. Pretty sure I have done similar in my time, except my time got no AI lah so obviously is honest mistake. HWZ BBFA might be too stupid to go local uni, so straightaway say is student fault never check. But so easy to do 100% correct then give this kind of homework for what?

Anyway all these luddite professors are stupid lah. If the AI can do better than you in writing that using it is considered cheating, why wouldn't the students simply use it when they get to workplace? Why ban AI use leh? It's like banning the use of a calculator. You for sure will use a calculator for important arithmetic one loh.

Dunno why ppl so buay gan even finding excuses for doing wrong citations in papers.
Nothing difficult, definitely not honest mistake but rather a lazi mistake. If you cant even cite properly.....Can expect ppl to trust you on collecting data & analyzing properly in your papers?

Have you published any papers or defend for your thesis? AI is not gonna help you on that.

Purplestars

Dunno why ppl so buay gan even finding excuses for doing wrong citations in papers.
Nothing difficult, definitely not honest mistake but rather a lazi mistake. If you cant even cite properly.....Can expect ppl to trust you on collecting data & analyzing properly in your papers?

Have you published any papers or defend for your thesis? AI is not gonna help you on that.
Kaobei lah your job gonna be taken over by AI liao still want to stop people from using and learning AI.

duhduhduh

i just now briefly saw that the student's rebuttal in statement 4 was that the prof only mentioned no AI usage for the development or generation of the essay. So citation is a loophole that the prof did not cover and therefore shouldnt penalise the students for it.

To be honest, if i understand what i read briefly, the student's usage for citation organisation is as good as we using word function to organise our citation. the prof is very clear in their instructions (which doesnt include citation section), and therefore makes it not right for the student to be marked down to zero.
It is indeed true based on what the student shared is that prof never cover the citation part. but then you will also think if citation is part of your essay or not?

not trying to side with the prof, but maybe the student can appeal along this line, but it is really weak.

and back to the question why is she not using traditional reference/citations manager like endnote or mendeley?

standarture

Citations are part of the essay... it's just at the last page.

duhduhduh

I will be on your side following your argument except that I think the prof is fooking stupid for banning AI. Especially since she cannot properly draw the line on what is AI and what is not.

Anyway, only one student used studycrumb. The others did not. Why still fail?

Anyway one day the prof is gonna look like a retard for failing students for using studycrumb when future uni courses all use AI freely, lol.

I was being corrected that student used studycrumb to sort the citations A to Z, not to 'generate citations'.

but nontheless, she did used the tool.

i think the prof banned AI becauseze lazy to go spot the difference la

Purplestars

I was being corrected that student used studycrumb to sort the citations A to Z, not to 'generate citations'.

Prof should just grow up and learn to integrate AI in her coursework rather than just straight ban because she is too incompetent to use it to teach.

AuraKUPO

Use AI to cheat just accept the consequences. Dispute already will make own self more malu and more wrong.

standarture

Honestly, people are too one-sided. Try being on the other side fighting AI. It's not easy. Calling people dumb is extremely disrespectful! I got no respect for these type of people.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.