NTU ppl lip lai! - Part 3

thegamer1907

guys i just orded and will be matriculating in august..
just got a few qns.. after 2 years in ns, how is the transition to uni studies? need to study before matriculating to "prepare" yourself anot?
Im actually planning to sign up for the physics supplementary lessons that start in june..
Btw i will be undertaking the CN Yang programme. anyone can share some advice?

Caulibeam

guys i just orded and will be matriculating in august..
just got a few qns.. after 2 years in ns, how is the transition to uni studies? need to study before matriculating to "prepare" yourself anot?
Im actually planning to sign up for the physics supplementary lessons that start in june..
Btw i will be undertaking the CN Yang programme. anyone can share some advice?

if ur from poly you will get a culture shock :o

Enerrior

Wa CNYang scholar ah. Don't need go the physics supplementary class liao lah. I 2 years ago go for that stupid module and they teach me what is significant figure. Gave up after attending 2 lessons. Might as well just take the time to rest before hell begins.

thegamer1907

i'm actually from jc.. what kind of cultural shock?
do other guys who just orded cope well after letting our brains rot in the 2 years of ns?

bryanzzz

EE8093 - my UE

Dont take it...nightmare for peeps like me not interested in electrnics

liangyinglee

do other guys who just orded cope well after letting our brains rot in the 2 years of ns?

I'm from Poly, but after entering uni after 2 years of NS, I totally forgot how to do even basic stuff. :s13:

Not so bad for JC I think, as you all will start from the basics, unlike us which is direct year 2 and straight into hard syllabus.

stereoluv

i'm actually from jc.. what kind of cultural shock?

no need to worry one lar. not much of a transition thing one, just go class, stay hostel chill out, pass papers and chase charbors only. best time ever guaranteed. guaranteed if you dont really study then confirm will be sibeh fun

fireup

BnF

Hello!

Actually I'm quite curious as to why business seniors took up BnF specialization. Is it because they like the content of the specialization, or they aspire to be bankers and traders?

Appreciate any input!

siandiao

Hello!

Actually I'm quite curious as to why business seniors took up BnF specialization. Is it because they like the content of the specialization, or they aspire to be bankers and traders?

Appreciate any input!
becoz of the so-called prospective money in it

smallJB

I'm from Poly, but after entering uni after 2 years of NS, I totally forgot how to do even basic stuff. :s13:

Not so bad for JC I think, as you all will start from the basics, unlike us which is direct year 2 and straight into hard syllabus.

cannot cope lei for last sem... this sem also....lol

qce_2013

cannot cope lei for last sem... this sem also....lol

i think uni is different. cant do last minute work, must be really consistent. those that do tutorials on weekdays and revise on weekends are those that really can get second uppers and above. dont last minute before quiz then chiong :(

duameatball

Hi all wanna ask something about hall application.

I read this on the website "Students who do not meet the minimum Campus Life Involvement will not be placed on the waiting list. Hence, these students are advised not to submit their application as the application fee is non-refundable."

Means got distance points also no count liao ah?

william2804

Hi all wanna ask something about hall application.

I read this on the website "Students who do not meet the minimum Campus Life Involvement will not be placed on the waiting list. Hence, these students are advised not to submit their application as the application fee is non-refundable."

Means got distance points also no count liao ah?

Distance points will still be taken into consideration. As long as you meet the requirement of cut-off points which is 16 pts, you will stand a 100% chance to get hall.

william2804

BTW guys, Im searching for future local roomie. Been staying in singapore for 6 years already. Do PM me. I'm year 4 MAE currently staying in hall14 and have 14 points.

smallJB

i think uni is different. cant do last minute work, must be really consistent. those that do tutorials on weekdays and revise on weekends are those that really can get second uppers and above. dont last minute before quiz then chiong :(

I everyday study, but still don't understand or cant absorb much info.

qce_2013

I everyday study, but still don't understand or cant absorb much info.

I also like that in my first & second year. first & second year easy to score but i keep drifting in and out in my class, cannot focus.. only till quiz come then i start to pia 3 tutorials in 1 day. year 3 i improve but too late liao. don't give up lo, at least u tried ur best :s13:

SecretWish

hello, anyone from NTU econs here?
i'm deciding between NUS FASS and NTU Econs..though many ppl i asked say that its a no-brainer and would choose FASS in a heartbeat.

But i really like NTU alot. the culture, the setting, and most of my JC friends are going NTU.

I just like to ask, how is Econs like in NTU?

smallJB

I also like that in my first & second year. first & second year easy to score but i keep drifting in and out in my class, cannot focus.. only till quiz come then i start to pia 3 tutorials in 1 day. year 3 i improve but too late liao. don't give up lo, at least u tried ur best :s13:

hi, just curious, what course u r studying? Engineering also?

qce_2013

hello, anyone from NTU econs here?
i'm deciding between NUS FASS and NTU Econs..though many ppl i asked say that its a no-brainer and would choose FASS in a heartbeat.

But i really like NTU alot. the culture, the setting, and most of my JC friends are going NTU.

I just like to ask, how is Econs like in NTU?

"most of my JC friends are going NTU." -> my advice is dont make it like a peer thing when u choose ur uni. after graduation, u might need to find a job that u know 0 people in. choose something that u really like. even if u go to nus, u can always go for camps to make new friends..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.