NTU vs Unisim

SgJae08

Hi all,

Asking on behalf of my friend for more advice.

He was offered NTU full time and Unisim Part time program. He is in dilemma on which school to choose because,

1) He is 25 years old this year and by the time he graduated from either school, he will be 29 years old.

2) He has been in the workforce for almost 2 years and decided to go back school, but he thinks that it may not be worth to study full time without income taking into consideration of future planning of marriage and etc.

He knows that there are more opportunities in NTU because of oversea exchange program and etc. Unisim is for working adult seeking to update themselves.

In addition, if any of your HR friend could answer the following question.
He was thinking if employer favor someone from reputable local uni (full time program) or someone from local uni (part time program) with entry level working experience?

Thanks for reading and answering.

soulblader_86

Hi all,

He was offered NTU full time and Unisim Part time program. He is in dilemma on which school to choose because,

1) He is 25 years old this year and by the time he graduated from either school, he will be 29 years old.

2) He has been in the workforce for almost 2 years and decided to go back school, but he thinks that it may not be worth to study full time without income taking into consideration of future planning of marriage and etc.

He knows that there are more opportunities in NTU because of oversea exchange program and etc. Unisim is for working adult seeking to update themselves.

He was thinking if employer favor someone from reputable local uni (full time program) or someone from local uni (part time program) with entry level working experience?

I am currently 25 going 26, I am from ITE

let me try to answer your question

1) I 26 will be in year 2, so not much different la

2) He got gf? so fast think abt marriage liao :s22: study hard first la

NTU will have some significant advantage when he look for job or apply for MBA in the future.

The pay is also higher, most importantly, he can join camp and know new friend

Evil Bunny

I know many guys in NTU whose age is above 25 and still studying, there's even a guy over 30 still doing his bachelor. one whom I am close with will only be graduating at only 29yo.

Though majority of the guys graduate at 25/26years old in singapore.
Hope he don't feel discouraged just because of his age to pursue full-time studies.

TAYTAYTAY

I have a number of friends who have graduated from universities (knew them thru work) and below are some of the common stories I've heard from them:

1. Most Singapore employers are narrow-minded; in the sense that as long as you came from the 3 'best' local universities namely NUS, NTU and SMU, you're most likely granted at least an interview.

2. What if you came from a irrelevant degree then? This applies too. Eg. My friend took up an SIM Business degree, graduated with a second-upper and looked for jobs in the business sector but he found himself losing out to graduates from NUS, NTU and SMU with irrelevant degrees such as engineering, social sciences. He was not even granted a chance for interview. Sadly but ya. Priorities are always, if not often, given to the 3 universities.

3. Last point - it's definitely not easy to land a spot in the 3 recognized universities. And employers know that; so my advice to your friend is - take up NTU offer. It will definitely be worth it. As for finance issues, just take up a bank loan and repay it slowly after graduation (eg. $500 per month, I don't think is too much)

All the best.

Hi all,

SgJae08

I would like to thanks all for your replies. Maybe we can discuss further based on my replies. I am trying to show him the conversation we had. Once again, thanks all!

I am currently 25 going 26, I am from ITE

let me try to answer your question

1) I 26 will be in year 2, so not much different la

2) He got gf? so fast think abt marriage liao :s22: study hard first la

NTU will have some significant advantage when he look for job or apply for MBA in the future.

The pay is also higher, most importantly, he can join camp and know new friend

Oh. You would be around 28 by the time you graduated. Do you feel you are losing out due to age?

Yes, he is thinking of the future because guys can wait but not the lady. Therefore, he was not able to make up his mind.

Do you go to Uni straight after NS?

I know many guys in NTU whose age is above 25 and still studying, there's even a guy over 30 still doing his bachelor. one whom I am close with will only be graduating at only 29yo.

Though majority of the guys graduate at 25/26years old in singapore.
Hope he don't feel discouraged just because of his age to pursue full-time studies.

This was what he most concerned about. From the way he told me, I felt that he do not know whether is it worth the value to take up full time course at NTU or Unisim because Unisim are considered local University but not as reputable as NTU.

And he would be considered as fresh graduate though he had 2 years of working experience.

age should never be a issue for education

tell your friend to go NTU.

Somehow in Singapore, we always put age into consideration due to the fact males in Singapore start working later than females and foreign friends. What he said is that, for instance, US could have completed their University before the age of 20 or before 23 which is so much faster than us and by the age of 30 they could have more than 5 years of experience. Half way, if they find that the course may not be what they want, they are still young to make changes unlike us.

I have a number of friends who have graduated from universities (knew them thru work) and below are some of the common stories I've heard from them:

1. Most Singapore employers are narrow-minded; in the sense that as long as you came from the 3 'best' local universities namely NUS, NTU and SMU, you're most likely granted at least an interview.

2. What if you came from a irrelevant degree then? This applies too. Eg. My friend took up an SIM Business degree, graduated with a second-upper and looked for jobs in the business sector but he found himself losing out to graduates from NUS, NTU and SMU with irrelevant degrees such as engineering, social sciences. He was not even granted a chance for interview. Sadly but ya. Priorities are always, if not often, given to the 3 universities.

3. Last point - it's definitely not easy to land a spot in the 3 recognized universities. And employers know that; so my advice to your friend is - take up NTU offer. It will definitely be worth it. As for finance issues, just take up a bank loan and repay it slowly after graduation (eg. $500 per month, I don't think is too much)

All the best.

Thank you for the information given above, I think it is something he have never thought of.

For myself, I thought employer would think otherwise because Unisim student would have working experience and degree which make them more employable. And the fact that Unisim also consider local Uni.

I am curious, those that you mentioned, are they working in private sector or public? Because I always feel that private would not really think of which Uni you come from instead of your relevant degree and working experience?(correct me if I am wrong).

soulblader_86

I would like to thanks all for your replies. Maybe we can discuss further based on my replies. I am trying to show him the conversation we had. Once again, thanks all!

Oh. You would be around 28 by the time you graduated. Do you feel you are losing out due to age?

Yes, he is thinking of the future because guys can wait but not the lady. Therefore, he was not able to make up his mind.

Do you go to Uni straight after NS?

my route is ITE --> NS --> Ngee Ann poly --> NTU

I went Poly at the age of 22
I went NTU at the age of 25

I never intend to go uni when I was in year 1 of NP, I was thinking to save money as I am quite "old". Somehow my result is good, a lot of people advise me to pursue a degree, especially my parent.

my intial plan of working and find gf was delay

I dun have gf, so marriage is not a problem for me

Nosferato4

This was what he most concerned about. From the way he told me, I felt that he do not know whether is it worth the value to take up full time course at NTU or Unisim because Unisim are considered local University but not as reputable as NTU.

For myself, I thought employer would think otherwise because Unisim student would have working experience and degree which make them more employable. And the fact that Unisim also consider local Uni.

I am curious, those that you mentioned, are they working in private sector or public? Because I always feel that private would not really think of which Uni you come from instead of your relevant degree and working experience?(correct me if I am wrong).

I would like to point out that UNISIM is still a private university.

They used the term 'local' to indicate that UNISIM is created and established originally in Singapore.

This is why emphasizing on the correct title of universities are important- people might confuse unisim; a private comprehensive university with Local, public mainstream Autonomous Universities.

Proof: http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/post-secondary/

a&w_rootbeerz

They used the term 'local' to indicate that UNISIM is created and established originally in Singapore.

This is why emphasizing on the correct title of universities are important- people might confuse unisim; a private comprehensive university with Local, public mainstream Autonomous Universities.

Maybe can summarize so that it wont be confused.

Local or foreign, public or private. Private and Local are not mutually exclusive.

NUS NTU SMU are local and public.
SIT is foreign and public.

UniSIM is local and private.
SIM GE, MDIS, PSB, Kaplan, EASB, etc are foreign and private.

soulblader_86

if your friend want a short and recognise uni. try SIT. I think is both fast and public uni.

but too new

Havok_ex

Yup. UNIsim and SMU are similar in that both are 'private but publicly funded' as listed by their wiki pages. Only NUS and NTU are public autonomous.

Source:
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/SIM_University
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Management_University
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_University_of_Singapore

Nosferato4

Yup. UNIsim and SMU are similar in that both are 'private but publicly funded' as listed by their wiki pages. Only NUS and NTU are public autonomous.

Source:
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/SIM_University
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Management_University
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_University_of_Singapore

Wrong. NTU, NUS, SMU are Public Autonomous Universities. Check MOE's website.

Only UNISIM is private and Publically funded.
http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/press/2005/pr20050412.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_universities_and_colleges_in_Singapore#Local_Universities

The Wikipedia pages proves my point too.

Maybe can summarize so that it wont be confused.

Local or foreign, public or private. Private and Local are not mutually exclusive.

NUS NTU SMU are local and public.
SIT is foreign and public.

UniSIM is local and private.
SIM GE, MDIS, PSB, Kaplan, EASB, etc are foreign and private.

While it is not mutually exclusive, the term Local & Private is very misleading and is wrong on many levels, unless someone defines the term "local".

We should follow MOE's description of:

NTU, NUS, SMU as Public, Autonomous Universities

&

UNISIM as a Private Comprehensive University that provides university education to (mainly) working professionals and adult learners by adopting a flexible learning approach to enable its learners to balance their career, family and studies.

This will confuse less people.

Mighty_Orange

my take on this is simple:

No related working experiences to the course attending - NTU.

Possesses related working experiences to the course attending - UNSIM.

Havok_ex

Wrong. NTU, NUS, SMU are Public Autonomous Universities. Check MOE's website.

Only UNISIM is private and Publically funded.
http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/press/2005/pr20050412.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_universities_and_colleges_in_Singapore#Local_Universities

The Wikipedia pages proves my point too.

HAHAHA. OMG. ARE YOU AN SMU FANBOY OR STH? You edited the wikipedia page today after I posted that SMU is a 'Publicly-funded private university'.

It was edited today and changed to "public, autonomous". You know people can check wikipedia edit histories right? In any case, I've emailed SMU to ask them directly and notified them of the change you (or someone) made. You can take a look at the version of the page before it was misleadingly edited. It states clearly "publicly-funded private Singaporean university".

Why must you do such a thing? Private university very shameful meh? Or must you just prove you are right no matter what? I guess this is what they teach at SMU. If you're wrong, just change the evidence!:s22::s22:

In any case, according to SMU's own website:

"Being the first private university in Singapore, SMU is committed to attracting and retaining top quality faculty and staff. "

Source: http://www.smu.edu.sg/smu/about/careers/career-opportunities/hr-policies

The comparison between the old page and the misleadingly edited page can also be seen here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php...&type=revision&diff=666302775&oldid=666299254

Havok_ex

By the way, the same person who edited SMU's page also took the liberty to edit Unisim's page. I mean, what the hell @Nosferto4 (or whoever). You don't have to sink that low to mess other university's pages as well.

a&w_rootbeerz

By the way, the same person who edited SMU's page also took the liberty to edit Unisim's page by adding this line "However, several people have accepted UNISIM's future alter ego as the sixth Local University" among several others. I mean, what the hell @Nosferto4. You don't have to sink that low to mess other university's pages as well. This is what they teach at SMU?

Nosferato edit the wiki page? He went until that far? :s13:

arcanum00

HAHAHA. OMG. ARE YOU AN SMU FANBOY OR STH? You edited the wikipedia page today after I posted that SMU is a 'Publicly-funded private university'.

It was edited today and changed to "public, autonomous". You know people can check wikipedia edit histories right? In any case, I've emailed SMU to ask them directly and notified them of the change you (or someone) made. You can take a look at the version of the page before it was misleadingly edited. It states clearly "publicly-funded private Singaporean university".

Why must you do such a thing? Private university very shameful meh? Or must you just prove you are right no matter what? I guess this is what they teach at SMU. If you're wrong, just change the evidence!:s22::s22:

In any case, according to SMU's own website:

"Being the first private university in Singapore, SMU is committed to attracting and retaining top quality faculty and staff. "

Source: http://www.smu.edu.sg/smu/about/careers/career-opportunities/hr-policies

The comparison between the old page and the misleadingly edited page can also be seen here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php...&type=revision&diff=666302775&oldid=666299254
Oh, I see.

I didn't amend anything on Wikipedia, but I was told these:

"Being the first private university". They were the first private university, but they have successfully transitioned to become a public-Autonomous university

Singapore Management University - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Ministry of Education, Singapore: Education System, Post-Secondary

^SIM is the only one being indicated of being a private-comprehensive university.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/90285171-post239.html

I didn't go further than, but I found these later:

Straits Times wrote:
With six public universities, students now have a diverse range of degrees to choose from. - See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...ersities-differ-20150303#sthash.jiXi4e2X.dpuf
http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...pores-six-public-universities-differ-20150303

SIM University wrote (bottom left corner):
SIM University is Singapore's only private university and our mission is to create excellence in lifelong education through a uniquely-designed learning experience that equips learners for a better future.
http://www.unisim.edu.sg/Pages/UniSIM.aspx

MOE wrote:
http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/post-secondary/

Havok_ex

Oh, I see. I was told:

"Being the first private university". They were the first private university, but they have successfully transitioned to become a public-Autonomous university

Singapore Management University - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Ministry of Education, Singapore: Education System, Post-Secondary

^SIM is the only one being indicated of being a private-comprehensive university.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/90285171-post239.html

So you were the one who changed it? Looks like I've got to apologise for suspecting someone else. In any case. I've asked SMU directly to clear things up once and for all to put an end to the debate. Although if they are now autonomus public, their website still states private.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.