NTU vs Unisim

arcanum00

So you were the one who changed it? Looks like I've got to apologise for suspecting someone else. In any case. I've asked SMU directly to clear things up once and for all to put an end to the debate. Although if they are now autonomus public, their website still states private.
No, no, no. Not me. Anyway, what's so bad being private? Thought many renowned universities are private?

Havok_ex

No, no, no. Not me. Anyway, what's so bad being private? Thought many renowned universities are private?

EXACTLY. There's nothing wrong with a university being private or public or whatever. A university is good based on its current standards and its potential to improve. I have no qualms about going to a private university, as long as its a good one.

The reason why I asked SMU for clarification is to end the matter once and for all. And what better way than to ask the university directly.

Havok_ex

If not you then I wonder who it could have been. I just found it extremely weird and coincidental. When I looked up the wiki this morning, it stated one thing, then tonight, it changed to something else right after my post.

arcanum00

If not you then I wonder who it could have been. I just found it extremely weird and coincidental. When I looked up the wiki this morning, it stated one thing, then tonight, it changed to something else right after my post.
I posted here after reading your post. Moreover, I don't care whether SMU is public or private. At least not now. Unlikely in future too.

Looking at the information, Nosferato may be right. Don't know whether Nosferato was the person editing the Wikipedia, though.

Havok_ex

I posted here after reading your post. Moreover, I don't care whether SMU is public or private. At least not now. Unlikely in future too.

Looking at the information, Nosferato may be right. Don't know whether Nosferato was the person editing the Wikipedia, though.

He may be right, because differing sources are saying different things. I'll wait for SMU's reply so I'll suspend my judgement till then.

However changing the source, said wikipedia page, in order to prove a point is something no one should have done. Can at least just say that the wikipedia page is mistaken instead of changing it and then using it to prove a point.

Although I concede that it might be purely purely coincidental that I quoted the page at the time before it was edited by some third, unknown party and nosferato checked it after it was edited and quoted it back to me.

arcanum00

He may be right, because differing sources are saying different things. I'll wait for SMU's reply so I'll suspend my judgement till then..
Ya. Let's wait.

However changing the source, said wikipedia page, in order to prove a point is something no one should have done. Can at least just say that the wikipedia page is mistaken instead of changing it and then using it to prove a point.
Agree.

Although I concede that it might be purely purely coincidental that I quoted the page at the time before it was edited by some third, unknown party and nosferato checked it after it was edited and quoted it back to me.

I see.

SgJae08

my route is ITE --> NS --> Ngee Ann poly --> NTU

I went Poly at the age of 22
I went NTU at the age of 25

I never intend to go uni when I was in year 1 of NP, I was thinking to save money as I am quite "old". Somehow my result is good, a lot of people advise me to pursue a degree, especially my parent.

my intial plan of working and find gf was delay

I dun have gf, so marriage is not a problem for me

Oh I see. Have you regret going this route? As in like, could have work and study at the same times rather than joining the society at the age of 29?

See if he can afford to study full time. If cannot bo pian.....

Thanks for the replied. I would need to check with him on this.

I would like to point out that UNISIM is still a private university.

They used the term 'local' to indicate that UNISIM is created and established originally in Singapore.

This is why emphasizing on the correct title of universities are important- people might confuse unisim; a private comprehensive university with Local, public mainstream Autonomous Universities.

Proof: http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/post-secondary/

Maybe can summarize so that it wont be confused.

Local or foreign, public or private. Private and Local are not mutually exclusive.

NUS NTU SMU are local and public.
SIT is foreign and public.

UniSIM is local and private.
SIM GE, MDIS, PSB, Kaplan, EASB, etc are foreign and private.

Actually does it matter if it's local or private because NTU and Unisim are both locally recongised? No?

He was comparing between no experience at the age of 29 with NTU certificate and entry level working experience with Unisim certificate at the age of 29.

if your friend want a short and recognise uni. try SIT. I think is both fast and public uni.

but too new

He do not have any offer from SIT. so he is only comparing between NTU and Unisim.

Takimaru

Renowned private universities are found overseas, particularly the western countries. Certainly not in sinapore. I'm sure most of people will have figured that out.

arcanum00

Renowned private universities are found overseas, particularly the western countries. Certainly not in sinapore. I'm sure most of people will have figured that out.

Er... what's your point? My point was private or public means little on whether a university is reputed or not.

TAYTAYTAY

I disagree.. In other countries' context, your point makes sense. But in Singapore, unfortunately no. NUS/NTU/SMU grads vs SIM grads, who get the priority?

No offence to anyone.

Er... what's your point? My point was private or public means little on whether a university is reputed or not.

intime

Oh I see. Have you regret going this route? As in like, could have work and study at the same times rather than joining the society at the age of 29?

Actually does it matter if it's local or private because NTU and Unisim are both locally recongised? No?

He was comparing between no experience at the age of 29 with NTU certificate and entry level working experience with Unisim certificate at the age of 29.

He do not have any offer from SIT. so he is only comparing between NTU and Unisim.

What UniSIM part time degree was he offered? Not all UniSIM part time have honours option. Only a handful has it.
What company and job will he be taking up if he study UniSIM part time?
Is he confident that the job will add value and allow him to learn more than a full time student in NTU?

Whether the job experience is valuable is debatable, for instance I feel that a repetitive job with little to no responsibilities have very little value.

Taking up both work and part time studies are going to be very challenging, your friend have to ensure he learn much from the company, ensure his employer is happy enough to write a good recommendation in the future, ensure he scores sufficiently in his studies. Not to mention girlfriend and family commitment.

NTU has potentially more opportunities ranging from relevant public seminars, representing NTU for conferences, quality internships, overseas immersion, meeting top industry leaders for networking.
UniSIM will definitely have these opportunities as well, but will a working person with many commitment be able to make use of these opportunities?

In my opinion age is not an issue, the amount of salaries loss can be earned back many times over in the future if he is capable.

And girlfriend cannot wait? Is she the right one? There is still a long journey for your friend, many more potentially capable and supportive girls can be met in university and future working life. :s12:

arcanum00

I disagree.. In other countries' context, your point makes sense. But in Singapore, unfortunately no. NUS/NTU/SMU grads vs SIM grads, who get the priority?

No offence to anyone.
I get what you mean.

So, if SMU is a private university, it won't be what it is today?

Did you read the posts further up?

Evil Bunny

What industry did your friend worked in before?
What course was he offered in NTU?

Regardless, I still think your friend should go and study in NTU. Age is just a number after all.

Nosferato4

HAHAHA. OMG. ARE YOU AN SMU FANBOY OR STH? You edited the wikipedia page today after I posted that SMU is a 'Publicly-funded private university'.

It was edited today and changed to "public, autonomous". You know people can check wikipedia edit histories right? In any case, I've emailed SMU to ask them directly and notified them of the change you (or someone) made. You can take a look at the version of the page before it was misleadingly edited. It states clearly "publicly-funded private Singaporean university".

Why must you do such a thing? Private university very shameful meh? Or must you just prove you are right no matter what? I guess this is what they teach at SMU. If you're wrong, just change the evidence!:s22::s22:

In any case, according to SMU's own website:

"Being the first private university in Singapore, SMU is committed to attracting and retaining top quality faculty and staff. "

Source: http://www.smu.edu.sg/smu/about/careers/career-opportunities/hr-policies

The comparison between the old page and the misleadingly edited page can also be seen here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php...&type=revision&diff=666302775&oldid=666299254

Let me turn the tables and ask you: private Universities very shameful Meh? Why are you reacting so strongly to a fact which is proven?

No one said being from a private university is shameful. SIM has got its strengths which makes them unique as well.

What gives you the right to criticize others for proving a point for the sake of clarity for other uses?

I like the way you overreact and start pointing fingers. :s13:

By the way, in case you didn't already know:

Wikipedia is an open online source created by the community; and can be created by groups or individuals that help contribute correct, and accurate information. It does not matter who edits it, as long as they help make information for others clear and accurate with proper, legit references and citings that can be proven in real life. This is what makes Wikipedia a credible source for obtaining information.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Who_writes_Wikipedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Help:Editing

^To put it simply, it means anyone has the power to provide edit and update information to Wikipedia so long as, they provide proper references and cites to credible sources.

The edit will than be verified by a moderator, and should there be any disputes in the information displayed, the moderator will step in to revert the changes.

He may be right, because differing sources are saying different things. I'll wait for SMU's reply so I'll suspend my judgement till then.

Oh, I am right. I believe you have your reply from SMU. It is a Public, Autonomous University.

You would also be right about SMU being a Publicly-funded private university, IF you had mentioned about it being that in the past or gave proper citings for it.

Also, yes. I love my University, the same way you love SIM. Do you have a problem with that?

To answer your queries:

Yes. I did check my sources before posting on this forum to inform the OP that UniSIm is a comprehensive university that has the support of the local government in terms ob subsidies/loans/bursaries and what not.

Did you actually think I pluck my sources out of thin air and say it for fun to stir? :| Even other users here are agreeing with the facts that are found online.

With regards to your post about "no one has right to change Wikipedia to prove a point", I would humbly beg to differ:

Anyone can edit Wikipedia as long as their intention is pure, and one that seeks to provide more clarity to others where knowledge is concerned, and can provide substantial evidence to justify their work

If you are so upset about other people editing your university's Wikipedia's page, shouldn't you as an alumni or a current freshman be its ambassador do something and step in ? Yes that's right-I'm referring to that. why don't you go and edit Uni SIM's Wikipedia page and update it based on proper references and citing's? (Right now I'm looking at UNISIM's page and there seems to be an error with regards to one of the label of "the type of university".

You are an ambassador of SIM, you fix it. You are empowered to do so. I really couldn't care less editing something that is not related to me in anyway.

All I am interested in is hanging here in HWZ chilling giving/seeking advice from others.

If you are correct, no one will fault you and the moderator/ other uses will not undo your edit. if you do a good job you can even receive a +rep and commendation by the community for being a reputable user or even become an admin.

(Something like the commend system in Dota 2-> same same but different)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:FAQ/Administration#How_can_I_become_an_administrator.3F

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Requests_for_adminship/Nominate

They are both recognized, but what they offer are two completely different packages and open up different doors, which is why posters come here and advice them on

agenda

Guys, public and autonomous university merely means that it's funded by the government and they conduct research and whatever at their own discretion. Private and comprehensive means private and whatever comprehensive means.

You cannot compare overseas pte uni and local ones but dynamics are different.

Govt pumps a lot of money into the 4 uni (plus sutd) so they have the most resources to attract talented faculty and conduct relevant research and pass knowledge to their students.

Whatever the case is, uniSIM will not beat a degree from the 3 unis for the next 2 to 4 years, they will need time to develop a reputation - that was the case for SMU, the model was so good that the govt came in, i think at one point they were part pte and govt but its a publicly funded one and autonomous now.

But either way, it can be a pte university for all it matters - fact is, the school graduates very employable grads across the board

soulblader_86

No la, 29 or 28 go work is still ok for guys, trying to gain as much experience as possible

Am i older than my peer in sch? Yes, but doesn't really matter

For me the priority is to save money, so going a cheaper degree is a good choice for me

Sent from SMU using GAGT

SgJae08

What UniSIM part time degree was he offered? Not all UniSIM part time have honours option. Only a handful has it.
What company and job will he be taking up if he study UniSIM part time?
Is he confident that the job will add value and allow him to learn more than a full time student in NTU?

Whether the job experience is valuable is debatable, for instance I feel that a repetitive job with little to no responsibilities have very little value.

Taking up both work and part time studies are going to be very challenging, your friend have to ensure he learn much from the company, ensure his employer is happy enough to write a good recommendation in the future, ensure he scores sufficiently in his studies. Not to mention girlfriend and family commitment.

NTU has potentially more opportunities ranging from relevant public seminars, representing NTU for conferences, quality internships, overseas immersion, meeting top industry leaders for networking.
UniSIM will definitely have these opportunities as well, but will a working person with many commitment be able to make use of these opportunities?

In my opinion age is not an issue, the amount of salaries loss can be earned back many times over in the future if he is capable.

And girlfriend cannot wait? Is she the right one? There is still a long journey for your friend, many more potentially capable and supportive girls can be met in university and future working life. :s12:

He was offered accountancy program which has honors. As for his current education background, probably only as accounts assistant. His thinking was that, accounting would need to accumulate experience beside education knowledge and with the fact that, Unisim part time degree allow him to go for professional level if he were to get Chartered Accountant of Singapore.

Yes, he is aware of the opportunities from both school. Due to both have its pros and cons therefore, he could not make up his mind.

Example,
NTU - oversea exchange, quality internship, networking.
lose out - working experience, opportunities cost, working salary.

Unisim - working experience (probably entry level job due to education background), salary, networking (not so much as most adult are there to study only), portfolio.
lose out - discriminate by hiring manager to ease their job when looking for candidate. No oversea exchange, no quality internship which may have a bigger opportunities.

Girlfriend wise, I cannot comment much because it's up to their own to solve it.

What industry did your friend worked in before?
What course was he offered in NTU?

Regardless, I still think your friend should go and study in NTU. Age is just a number after all.

For NTU wise, he was offered Computer Science.

No la, 29 or 28 go work is still ok for guys, trying to gain as much experience as possible

Am i older than my peer in sch? Yes, but doesn't really matter

For me the priority is to save money, so going a cheaper degree is a good choice for me

Sent from SMU using GAGT

Do you find any disadvantage due to your age ? In fact, Unisim degree is also much cheaper compare to NTU.

SgJae08

They are both recognized, but what they offer are two completely different packages and open up different doors, which is why posters come here and advice them on

Yes, I understand you point.
I was wondering if one with working experience and local degree could be on par with NTU degree?

soulblader_86

Do you find any disadvantage due to your age ? In fact, Unisim degree is also much cheaper compare to NTU.

actually my age is of my reason I choose my current course,com science.
Because Com science is the only course I can grad in 3 years, rest of the course, my GPA cmi.

I dun want to study for another 4 years because I will be too old by then.

My batch mate is around 23-22, so I am like 2/3 year older only (for guys)

as for my female batchmate, I am mucccccch older than them :(

well I guess that is the price I have to pay for not studying hard when I am younger

SgJae08

actually my age is of my reason I choose my current course,com science.
Because Com science is the only course I can grad in 3 years, rest of the course, my GPA cmi.

I dun want to study for another 4 years because I will be too old by then.

My batch mate is around 23-22, so I am like 2/3 year older only (for guys)

as for my female batchmate, I am mucccccch older than them :(

well I guess that is the price I have to pay for not studying hard when I am younger

Thanks for sharing. I will show it to my friend. I thought NTU com. sci. is 4 years? are you on fast forward program?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.