NTUC member worth it??

hyperbole

Does the ocbc plus credit card serve same purpose as the plus card?

Credit card will get you more rebates but i was turned off by the required spend outside NTUC. I have better cards to charge my purchases to

wts2013

OCBC cc are all lousy, with so many conditions to get the rebates, dump it.

NTUC trying to hit membership quota ma, to slowly do lor. Moi got free membership dunno it lasted almost 3 years, from Adam, so recently there shld be many auto terminated liao, hahaha

NTUC union membership is not worth paying lor, if u just want the fairprice rebates/div, hahaha

Trazora

Credit card will get you more rebates but i was turned off by the required spend outside NTUC. I have better cards to charge my purchases to

I have been using the OCBC Plus credit card just to gather linkpoints at NTUC fairprice and top-up the card using cash to use at NTUC foodfair. The actual payment at NTUC fairprice is made using other cards. Was trying to understand if the Plus card serve the same purpose of gathering linkpoints or are there any other uses for it.

derrickgoh

Both the Plus and UPlus cards are dual purpose. Besides using it as an ATM card and a credit/debit card, you can also use it to get Link Points. Depending on your needs lah, most people would use other cards to pay as other cards may have better cash back.

19degC

either ONE of the 3 reasons below will justify

1) spend $244 each mth on ntuc

2) claim utap courses at least 117

3) child studying in myfirstskool

salmonella

After the Frank fiasco, I applied for the 365 card and the NTUC Plus! Visa Credit card. I have now received the cards and am wondering what the NTUC Plus! is good for as I already have the Maybank F&F, and have no intention of spending any amount on the NTUC Plus! outside of NTUC.

Just to be clear on the TNCs at http://www.ocbc.com/personal-banking/Cards/cpa/plus/pdf/plus_promo_tnc.pdf, if I do not spend $400 on the NTUC Plus! outside NTUC, and I do not credit salary to NTUC-OCBC Starter Savers account,

- shopping at NTUC will only get me (i) 4% annual Fairprice cash rebate and (ii) 2 Linkpoints per $1 spent or equivalent to 1.3% rebate

- As the above is what I would get anyway as an NTUC member, I might as well pay with another card such as Maybank F&F and use the NTUC Plus! Visa credit card to collect linkpoints

- I can still use the NTUC Plus! card as proof of NTUC membership and at NTUC foodfare. And the supplementary cards can be used for the same purpose

- the linkpoints go into the same pool as my existing NTUC membership card?

Are the above correct? ie, I just use the card as another proof of NTUC membership and I might as well use other cards for payment? Tia.

henrylbh

On 30 Jan 2015, I redeemed 65k linkpoints. Today my balance linkpoints 48,957. Song bo.

19degC

After the Frank fiasco, I applied for the 365 card and the NTUC Plus! Visa Credit card. I have now received the cards and am wondering what the NTUC Plus! is good for as I already have the Maybank F&F, and have no intention of spending any amount on the NTUC Plus! outside of NTUC.

Just to be clear on the TNCs at http://www.ocbc.com/personal-banking/Cards/cpa/plus/pdf/plus_promo_tnc.pdf, if I do not spend $400 on the NTUC Plus! outside NTUC, and I do not credit salary to NTUC-OCBC Starter Savers account,

- shopping at NTUC will only get me (i) 4% annual Fairprice cash rebate and (ii) 2 Linkpoints per $1 spent or equivalent to 1.3% rebate

- As the above is what I would get anyway as an NTUC member, I might as well pay with another card such as Maybank F&F and use the NTUC Plus! Visa credit card to collect linkpoints

- I can still use the NTUC Plus! card as proof of NTUC membership and at NTUC foodfare. And the supplementary cards can be used for the same purpose

- the linkpoints go into the same pool as my existing NTUC membership card?

Are the above correct? ie, I just use the card as another proof of NTUC membership and I might as well use other cards for payment? Tia.

the black and yellow Plus! card only got linkpts

only the silver card have 4% & linkpts, member & foodfare benefits. thats wat $9/mth is for

salmonella

only the silver card have 4% & linkpts, member & foodfare benefits. thats wat $9/mth is for
Right, I have the silver card. So it really is just a proof-of-membership :-/

Trazora

Hi. For the OCBC plus! Visa credit card, can I still use it to collect link points if I cancel the credit card?

Trazora

Hi. For the OCBC plus! Visa credit card, can I still use it to collect link points if I cancel the credit card?

"YES"

Answering my own qn. Found this in the TnC.

Cessation of Plus! Visa facility
Cardholders who have terminated the Plus! Visa facility of their Plus! Cards will continue to be enrolled in the Plus! Programme unless they have notified NTUC Link of their intention to resign from the Plus! Programme.

curo

I have been holding on to the NTUC plus visa cc for the longest time. I have not been using that card to charge any payment. Just collect points and use it to pay for my $9/mth membership.

Y i do that? I get dividend every year. The dividend will cover my membership fee and I still earn a bit. My $9/mth also earn me ntuc points. So I don't think you lose out on that.

Unless you hardly go NTUC and shop. Like your house near by is cold storage or seng song then i guess it doesn't make sense to get this card and also pay for the membership

winguy

I have been holding on to the NTUC plus visa cc for the longest time. I have not been using that card to charge any payment. Just collect points and use it to pay for my $9/mth membership.

Y i do that? I get dividend every year. The dividend will cover my membership fee and I still earn a bit. My $9/mth also earn me ntuc points. So I don't think you lose out on that.

Unless you hardly go NTUC and shop. Like your house near by is cold storage or seng song then i guess it doesn't make sense to get this card and also pay for the membership
Dividend (not rebate) depends on spending?

lewissac

i eat daily at foodfare. worth to sign up membership $100+?

Maybe try to ask yourself, why you want to sign-up for this membership? What you intend to get back from this membership? If you don't have the answers, then no point signing up for the membership.

battledome64

I think it's more worth to sign for Netflix than NTUC

Every young teen would do that. Also it's western media influence

jovialger

Don't find it worthwhile to use this card to make any payments, as the cash rebate is not competitive. The monthly member rate is also high. Better off just getting the life-time card with a one-time fee, if it is just to collect linkpoints.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.