Ntuc union membership

ramlee

Once upon a time union very power one very solid

I remember in 90s y2k union fought for my basic salary, my increments, my bonus as well

Now I no more member i wonder still the same !
Can ask bro ng Chee Meng :(

Can Or Not

get deals like these :

$0.50 Hot Kopi/Teh
https://www.ntuc.org.sg/uportal/memberships/deals-for-members/Kopitiam_may to jun 2024/

Cathay Cineplexes​

https://www.ntuc.org.sg/uportal/memberships/deals-for-members/Cathay-Cineplexes/

Flash your NTUC Card to enjoy the following deals:

🎉 $9.50 Weekday Movie Tickets
🎉 $12.50 Weekend Movie Tickets

🎉 $3 OFF a Medium Popcorn Combo

🎉 $6 Movie Monday for Youth, All Day

🎉 $3 Nuggets Deal for Movie Monday for Youth
👍 I need this… I didn’t know NtUc got movie discount

NintendoSwitch

I cancel the membership after a while.
Quite useless to me
Actually I dun even know how I got the membership now. I applied for OCBC NTUC VISA last time but OCBC no more offer such credit card for years liao.

tenor.gif

NintendoSwitch

Which benefits is most valued for money?

I am a union member and wonder which NTUC course or training or benefits is best valued?
Claim UTAP for your RES CPD courses. Tiagong next cycle going to be [bleep] 16 hours up from current 6 hours liao. So of course going to pay and pay more from 3 courses fee to is it 8 courses worth of fees?

tenor.gif

overcrash

UTAP is the standout for me, hands down — especially since they added AI tool subscriptions to it this year. Cap's the same either way ($250/yr under 40, $500/yr 40+), but now it covers approved AI tool subs (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini etc) on top of courses. Catch is you need to complete an approved AI course first before you can claim on the subscription — can't just subscribe and claim outright. Do one course plus one subscription in the same year and you can basically wipe out your $117 membership fee in one shot.

FairPrice rebate (up to 4%, LinkPoints + patronage) is decent if you're already shopping there regularly, but it's passive — nowhere near the same bang for buck as actually using UTAP.

NTUC GIFT (free term life insurance, up to $40k) doesn't need any action from you — it's automatic once you hit 6 months of membership, so not really a "pick" since there's nothing to claim, but worth knowing it's there if you didn't already.

I did a full write-up on the UTAP AI claim process — steps, deadlines, a worked example — if useful: https://www.samuelgoh.net/2026/08/16/ntuc-union-membership-review-is-it-worth-117-a-year/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.