Nursing Homes

mummynew

Thanks for advice.
My physio doesn't affect the part of the op.
That part must not do any movement for 4 months

Your immobility (weak legs) is due to you bedridden for too many days and lose your muscles?

If legs weak due to this is easier to recover (than if you have broken leg bones).

BlackWing1977

Btw, I'm female.
Broke my right shoulder. Had a replacement done.
Not supposed to move my shoulder for 4 months.
Then after that probably physio for that part. Someone said he took a year to fully recover when he broke his shoulder
Seriously I always thought you are a bro also as I remember you using dialects... :sick:

mummynew

I only have the quote for the atas Allium (my intended place to stay if bedridden with doc announced I have terminal illness):

Long Term Stay ( minimum 2 months)
31 days monthly rate (estimated)

Single Suite $9,265 - $12,365
Companion Suite (2 bedder) $7,560 - $10,660 per pax
Companion Room ( 2 bedder) - $6,940 - $7,560 per pax

One time admin and assessment fee - $350

One time Doctor review on admission - $385

https://www.alliumhealthcare.com/

BlackWing1977

I learned something when I was in hospital.
There is a Senior Moblity Fund that the hospital, (or even certain shops) can apply for the patient.
Someone i know bought a geriatric chair and a commode from Rehab mart. They did the processing for her. I bought a chair from Rainbow via the hospital. Highly subsidised.
Thank you PAP (didn't think that I would ever say that 🤣)
Yeah, last time my mum wheelchair was bought under the scheme, now they change the scheme from once per lifetime, to something with black out period of 36 months, since the current wheelchair, already lost 1 nut and trust me cannot find a proper nut to fit despite ordering so many bolts and nuts from taobao, wheels are quite worn out until can slip on a moving bus making a hard turn, is almost 12 years, so I went to talk to therapist, Medical Social Worker help to arrange the appointment, to assess and help to apply for a wheelchair under this scheme, for my mum it is heavily subsidized up to 90% and the remaining 10% also dun need to pay due to her having the Medi-fund card. :sick:

mummynew

Btw, I'm female.
Broke my right shoulder. Had a replacement done.
Not supposed to move my shoulder for 4 months.
Then after that probably physio for that part. Someone said he took a year to fully recover when he broke his shoulder

If you still can type well, export your PDF discharge summary to Grok and start asking questions such as 'recovery process', etc etc. It can give quite detailed answers to your questions to quench your worries.

*recently have been using it to get info for the few surgeries around me that I find answers quite useful.

ahnyaahnya

Go to a AIC office to talk to them, I had to send my mum for 2 weeks when I have to go for a surgery. But know in advance when is your date you need to send and for how long.
Problem is that if the need arises , I won't have much notice.
My helper will be staying with me as long as no problem crops up at home ( re : son)

rogze79

There's no one to help. Siblings all old
I not bb , but also fa
I'm guessing that you are post menopausal suffering from sarcopenia and osteoporosis.

While you are seeking info on nursing home and caregiver assistance, perhaps you might want to think about your diet in the past decade. I always go by this mantra, ' you are what you eat'.

If you do not give your body what it needs to build and grow, you might not have an optimistic recovery.

Ps. I hope you are not a vegetarian or vegan.

ahnyaahnya

Yeah, last time my mum wheelchair was bought under the scheme, now they change the scheme from once per lifetime, to something with black out period of 36 months, since the current wheelchair, already lost 1 nut and trust me cannot find a proper nut to fit despite ordering so many bolts and nuts from taobao, wheels are quite worn out until can slip on a moving bus making a hard turn, is almost 12 years, so I went to talk to therapist, Medical Social Worker help to arrange the appointment, to assess and help to apply for a wheelchair under this scheme, for my mum it is heavily subsidized up to 90% and the remaining 10% also dun need to pay due to her having the Medi-fund card. :sick:
Oh yah. Should have asked for wheelchair. I'm now travelling mainly by booking taxi. Only go for hospital appointments since the fall.
Except for once, went to supermarket by bus
Took bus once using wheelchair that i borrowed . Dunno when I need to return it

eq2addict

eh... medifund and those charity funding need means testing rite? usually if got children working , cannot pass 1 :cry:

BlackWing1977

Oh yah. Should have asked for wheelchair. I'm now travelling mainly by booking taxi. Only go for hospital appointments since the fall.
Except for once, went to supermarket by bus
Took bus once using wheelchair that i borrowed . Dunno when I need to return it
I think you can ask for motorized wheelchair since you can ownself control, my mum probably not suitable as she got dementia...

BlackWing1977

eh... medifund and those charity funding need means testing rite? usually if got children working , cannot pass 1 :cry:
They will do means testing and check your bank account balance and people income that are living with you in the same household. Medi-fund is by government under the 3 M policy, Medi-Save, Medi-Shield and Medi-Fund.. nothing to do with charity.

eq2addict

They will do means testing and check your bank account balance and people income that are living with you in the same household. Medi-fund is by government under the 3 M policy, Medi-Save, Medi-Shield and Medi-Fund.. nothing to do with charity.
last time i ask for help for my mum's surgery, the MSW inculde my sister and me income even tho if we not staying together and conculde we all have money to pay and kenna tio gao gao. then she say maybe she help ask charity funding , then no sound black white... pengz.

end up we fork over 30k cash. medisave cannot use they got limit on her account for some reason. like x per year , per surgery or what . i think to prevent docs sucking all the medisave but we stay in b3 + got IP insurance plan.

ahnyaahnya

I'm guessing that you are post menopausal suffering from sarcopenia and osteoporosis.

While you are seeking info on nursing home and caregiver assistance, perhaps you might want to think about your diet in the past decade. I always go by this mantra, ' you are what you eat'.

If you do not give your body what it needs to build and grow, you might not have an optimistic recovery.

Ps. I hope you are not a vegetarian or vegan.
Can't turn back the clock.
I only started in recent years. Supplements and yoghurt and exercise
I think you can ask for motorized wheelchair since you can ownself control, my mum probably not suitable as she got dementia...
I think too late?
Can still apply when discharged already meh?

Balian

They know i have a helper. I did ask if she can't cope ( 24-hour shift) can I be re-admitted or go rehab / community hospital, they said No
i assume its gov hospital? they must be rushing to get you out of the hospital after 1-2 weeks as their KPI is Bed occupancy rate and length of stay.

adding on to what others mentioned, you can look into private nursing care services like active global.

here is a link with information on service providers. https://mylegacy.life.gov.sg/find-a-service/find-home-nursing-care-services/

if you need to apply for subsidies, contact the hospital and request for their social worker to assist you.

take care

BlackWing1977

I think too late?
Can still apply when discharged already meh?
Yes, it is always available but you do need to contact AIC or Medical Social Worker for it.. and I think you might need to go through some level of assessment, they send my mum to Rehabilitative Services to do the assessment... but to be frank not sure what assessment they need, my mum got toes amputated and Diabetic peripheral neuropathy in her leg, but the therapist there indeed can help you apply for it.

Wait you got visit the physiotherapist also right?? But your case is injured shoulder, not sure if they will approved or not though, but no harm asking.

rogze79

Our body is amazing. Nothing short of miraculous. Provided you give it what it needs. It is never too late.

You just have to unlearn what you know for the past decades that leads you into current state.

Most supplements just turned into expensive urine. And hardly one can verify the efficacy. Yoghurt is just a dairy product at best. And most contains other artificial ingredients/sweetener besides milk and the required bacteria strain.

An appropriate nutrients rich food intake does not require supplementation.

BlackWing1977

last time i ask for help for my mum's surgery, the MSW inculde my sister and me income even tho if we not staying together and conculde we all have money to pay and kenna tio gao gao. then she say maybe she help ask charity funding , then no sound black white... pengz.

end up we fork over 30k cash. medisave cannot use they got limit on her account for some reason. like x per year , per surgery or what . i think to prevent docs sucking all the medisave but we stay in b3 + got IP insurance plan.
I think that is because your sister is also liable for your mum too.. for my case super straight forward, I am the only child... I am the only one..

highlander-the.gif

BlackWing1977

Our body is amazing. Nothing short of miraculous. Provided you give it what it needs. It is never too late.

You just have to unlearn what you know for the past decades that leads you into current state.

Most supplements just turned into expensive urine. And hardly one can verify the efficacy. Yoghurt is just a dairy product at best. And most contains other artificial ingredients/sweetener besides milk and the required bacteria strain.

An appropriate nutrients rich food intake does not require supplementation.
Yeah supplement I stick to multivitamins and I dun take everyday just once in every few days.. together with Omega 3, helps to control bad cholesterol.... :sick:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.