NUS B Tech

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

tidalstorm

Any bros here currently studying in B tech (Electronics)?

I got the letter from NUS liao… I would like to find out more about B tech and hopefully bros here can shed some light.

1.) May I know if the semester starts in Aug, when is the special term?
2.) What is the time for study? 6 to 9.30pm? Need to burn Sat?
3.) Is the studying pace very hectic?
4.) Exam weightage high? NTU exam got 80% weightage. Not sure about NUS.

Hopefully, all of us can share info here and make a informed decision.

For those who are going to study in Aug, hope this can be a thread to get know more friends in B tech.

I am still thinking whether to take B tech or EEE in NTU (part time)…. Stressed….

reder29

hi bro. this is wat i hear from my collegues curently in NUS Mech

Its a degree which allows u to plan ur own timetable at ur own pace. Plus the fees r paid by modular basis unlike NTU part time which is paying by semester basis. So u save more in NUS even if u stretch ur degree to the max 8 yrs. Special term would be in the holidays u can check out on the btech website on their academic calendar. I heard lectures r from 6-9pm so working far will be a problem. For me i work in changi so i am also trying to solve this prob. For sure a Local Uni is very stressful and hectic life, esp if your fundamentals r not strong. So be prepared to take the challenge

tidalstorm

hi bro. this is wat i hear from my collegues curently in NUS Mech

Its a degree which allows u to plan ur own timetable at ur own pace. Plus the fees r paid by modular basis unlike NTU part time which is paying by semester basis. So u save more in NUS even if u stretch ur degree to the max 8 yrs. Special term would be in the holidays u can check out on the btech website on their academic calendar. I heard lectures r from 6-9pm so working far will be a problem. For me i work in changi so i am also trying to solve this prob. For sure a Local Uni is very stressful and hectic life, esp if your fundamentals r not strong. So be prepared to take the challenge

my workplace very near to nus as compared to ntu.

My fundamentals not strong leh a 15 yrs bo study liao. So kind of worried. Doesnt't help when I have a young kid as well.

I accpeted NUS offer liao. Now want to look for kakis to suffer with me... :):):)

You worked in changi? Think you gotta to change job liao..... If you study ntu, upzz lorry.... unless you got your own transport. Actually, nus costs more than ntu (if you dun ta-bao). nus got this 250 bucks admin fee per sem. Not sure what kind of admin they provide though.

tidalstorm

NUS have now introduced 2 intakes each year for all its B.Tech Programmes; with Intake I commencing August and Intake II commencing January in each Academic Year. This programme is offered by the Faculty of Engineering, NUS in collaboration with the NSTB. It is part-time undergraduate course in engineering offered by a local university. It provides an avenue for polytechnic graduates to pursue a relevant degree course without having to give up their work or going overseas. For further information you may get reference from here http://www.thedegreeexperts.com/online-degree.aspx

Thanks for the info.

Anyone studying B tech (electronics eng)??? Come and share your suffering with me leh.... :look:

reformat

i accepted the offer for nus btech chem eng for this yr aug batch one, not sure if i can get in successfully

reder29

my workplace very near to nus as compared to ntu.

My fundamentals not strong leh a 15 yrs bo study liao. So kind of worried. Doesnt't help when I have a young kid as well.

I accpeted NUS offer liao. Now want to look for kakis to suffer with me... :):):)

You worked in changi? Think you gotta to change job liao..... If you study ntu, upzz lorry.... unless you got your own transport. Actually, nus costs more than ntu (if you dun ta-bao). nus got this 250 bucks admin fee per sem. Not sure what kind of admin they provide though.

holy cow...now den i saw the 250bucks thing....sian...i plan to stretch my studies longer...compare to ntu tink still cheaper cos ntu pay by semester.

reder29

holy cow...now den i saw the 250bucks thing....sian...i plan to stretch my studies longer...compare to ntu tink still cheaper cos ntu pay by semester.

bro tidal...btw r u taking the foundation course in the coming June??

Inneart

Hi Guys,

I am planning to apply for NUS BTech Chemical Eng.. I have a Water & Environmental Technology Diploma from Ngee Ann Poly. Do you think I will be accepted not taking into account my GPA? If I do get in, will it be difficult for me to cope? I did Chemistry module in my diploma though.

And roughly how long it will take to complete the degree?

Please reply. Thank You!

GPA will most likely be taken into consideration. Afterall, it's a local varsity that you are talking about.

But fret not, part-time degree admission standards are MILES away from full-time ones (NUS/NTU). The part-time degree is catered for working individuals thus the scope of pedagogy is entirely different even for NTU part-time BEng, there ought to be significant contrasts between the part-time and full-time degrees.

So, IMO, work experience and diploma field relevancy are of top priorities :)

nastrix

bro,

I dunno my gpa. durin my time in poly (1993 to 1996). No fancy stuff like gpa. my grades average B though.

Hi Bro,

I was just wondering did you sit for any test before you get an offer from NUS??

I did apply for the course but receive an invitation to take math and electrical test prior to the approval. Unfortunately, i was engage due to work committment so didn't make it. Btw I completed my adv diploma at SP in mid 2010....maybe I will try again on the next opening.

saljiputeh

Hi Guys,

I am planning to apply for NUS BTech Chemical Eng.. I have a Water & Environmental Technology Diploma from Ngee Ann Poly. Do you think I will be accepted not taking into account my GPA? If I do get in, will it be difficult for me to cope? I did Chemistry module in my diploma though.

And roughly how long it will take to complete the degree?

Please reply. Thank You!

chemical engineering has nothing to do with chemistry alone! More of mechanics and scientific applications.

otakboi

Diff b/w B Tech & B Eng

Hi all,

I've just started B Tech Semester I 2011/12 August Intake, Chem Eng. So any admin stuff can ask me..

But i have a ques for all of you: the difference b/w a part-time (B Tech) & a full-time (B Eng) degree..

1) Will the title of the degree be different? will it be indicated that its a part-time degree?

2) starting salary. any diff b/w a part-time and full-time degree?

i know it's abit late to ask, but i still wish to know! And also, i'm looking out for any khakis (classmates) here!

Rvfians

Hi all,

I've just started B Tech Semester I 2011/12 August Intake, Chem Eng. So any admin stuff can ask me..

But i have a ques for all of you: the difference b/w a part-time (B Tech) & a full-time (B Eng) degree..

1) Will the title of the degree be different? will it be indicated that its a part-time degree?

i know it's abit late to ask, but i still wish to know! And also, i'm looking out for any khakis (classmates) here!

From what i understand,BTech is only offered part time.so from there,people know its a part time degree. Pay wise i do not know.But if want to get,i would rather get B.Eng.B.Tech in my opinion like an adv dip to me.

Kyoji83

To be a Prof Engineer in Sg, it only offer to Electrical, Mechanical & Civil Engineering. NUS can only go for BTech (Mech) if one want to become a Prof Engineer.

Some other countries, those who have a BEng can become an Engineer while BTech can only start as/become a Technologist.

From what i understand,BTech is only offered part time.so from there,people know its a part time degree. Pay wise i do not know.But if want to get,i would rather get B.Eng.B.Tech in my opinion like an adv dip to me.

tidalstorm

Hi Bro,

I was just wondering did you sit for any test before you get an offer from NUS??

I did apply for the course but receive an invitation to take math and electrical test prior to the approval. Unfortunately, i was engage due to work committment so didn't make it. Btw I completed my adv diploma at SP in mid 2010....maybe I will try again on the next opening.

not shortlisted to take any test...

if possible, ask yr employer to write a "got dragon, got tiger" letter for you. Might help in your application.

Inneart

Hi all,

Not to disincline you from your pursuit of higher learning out of necessity but BTech is miles away from BEng. Just visualize the huge gap between the competitiveness of both programs should offer you a decent gauge of the quality of BTech education.

But it's still appropriate in providing an apt upgrade for working individuals without any degree.

magixspeed

if Btech is like a advance diploma, i dont think we need to study 4 years :yawn:

Not to disincline you from your pursuit of higher learning out of necessity but BTech is miles away from BEng. Just visualize the huge gap between the competitiveness of both programs should offer you a decent gauge of the quality of BTech education.

But it's still appropriate in providing an apt upgrade for working individuals without any degree.

if so, they would not mentioned it is following full time curriculum closely.and NUS would not even wanna offer this course at all.
this is still competitive as compare with other degree.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.